[SOLVED] Dropbox from repositories does not contain dropbox?

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
lecterror
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:12 pm
Location: Split, Croatia
Contact:

[SOLVED] Dropbox from repositories does not contain dropbox?

Postby lecterror » Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:51 pm

I've installed dropbox from the repo ("apt install dropbox") and..I can't seem to start it. There is no dropbox on the menu. When I do a "which dropbox" I get nothing..which means there is no executable? When I try to install .deb from the dropbox website, it warns me I should install the one from the repo..

So what's the wisest course of action here? My /home folder is a separate partition, and I already have a version of dropbox installed there from my previous OS (Mint vulgaris). Can I simply add that to my startup apps?

I'm on LMDE 64bit / Cinnamon / UP6 (even though the update manager still says UP5?)
Last edited by lecterror on Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Orbmiser
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:16 pm
Location: Portland,Oregon
Contact:

Re: Dropbox from repositories does not contain dropbox?

Postby Orbmiser » Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:08 pm

Not familar with LMDE do you use nautilus? Nemo? Caja?

As repo's show three versions to install. So seems dependent on file manager used? Just guessing and no expert.

nautilus-dropbox
nemo-dropbox
caja-dropbox

Since I use nemo installed that and have a icon in Internet menu.
.

lecterror
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:12 pm
Location: Split, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Dropbox from repositories does not contain dropbox?

Postby lecterror » Sat Dec 29, 2012 8:37 pm

Hm...actually, none of those..? I usually just use Krusader for file management (or the command line), due to severe lack of Total Commander on linux.

In my repos I see:

dropbox (installed)
nautilus-dropbox
caja-dropbox (installed)
libnet-dropbox-api-perl
nemo-dropbox

But, shouldn't these be only for integration with the file manager? I was expecting dropbox package to simply install dropbox, without integration?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6516
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Dropbox from repositories does not contain dropbox?

Postby zerozero » Sat Dec 29, 2012 9:13 pm

try with

Code: Select all

apt install nemo-dropbox

Code: Select all

zerozero@deb-kde ~/Documents $ apt show nemo-dropbox
Package: nemo-dropbox
New: yes
State: not installed
Version: 1.0.1+lmde
Priority: optional
Section: non-free/gnome
Maintainer: Clement Lefebvre <root@linuxmint.com>
Architecture: amd64
Uncompressed Size: 373 k
Depends: nemo, procps, python-gtk2 (>= 2.12), python-gpgme, policykit-1,
         libatk1.0-0 (>= 1.12.4), libc6 (>= 2.3), libcairo-gobject2 (>= 1.10.0),
         libcairo2 (>= 1.2.4), libgdk-pixbuf2.0-0 (>= 2.22.0), libglib2.0-0 (>=
         2.31.8), libgtk-3-0 (>= 3.0.0), libnemo-extension1, libpango1.0-0 (>=
         1.14.0), python
Conflicts: caja-dropbox, caja-dropbox, dropbox, dropbox, nautilus-dropbox,
           nautilus-dropbox, nemo-dropbox
Replaces: dropbox, dropbox
Provides: dropbox
Description: Dropbox integration for Nemo
 Nemo Dropbox is an extension that integrates the Dropbox web service with your
 Cinnamon Desktop.
 
 Installing this package will download the proprietary dropbox binary from
 dropbox.com.
Homepage: http://www.dropbox.com/

Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

lecterror
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:12 pm
Location: Split, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Dropbox from repositories does not contain dropbox?

Postby lecterror » Sun Dec 30, 2012 7:51 am

Code: Select all

$ apt install nemo-dropbox

Amazingly, that seems to have done it! It is now available on the menu and the startup apps list. Also:

Code: Select all

$ which dropbox
/usr/bin/dropbox

Thanks zerozero!

suslovsky
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 3:55 am

Re: [SOLVED] Dropbox from repositories does not contain drop

Postby suslovsky » Sat May 18, 2013 4:01 am

after all I use command "/usr/bin/dropbox start -i" in terminal and NOW it start and begin to be usable (make folder, systray icon etc.)


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests