Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:27 pm

I booted to a live session from USB of Mint 16 (dvd would only boot to Grub) clicked on install
only options I got was to erase Ubuntu 12.10 (on its own HDD) or erase everything 12.10 and Mint 14 (both on seperate HDD's)
no options for installing along side (I want to install alongside Mint 14)

other did seem to give me anything but partitioning option which I would be unsure of what being correct to do

-R

User avatar
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Suffolk UK

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by Fornhamfred » Sun Dec 01, 2013 1:13 pm

Install gparted from software manager and check the drive on which you have Mint 14 installed. Do you have it setup with a separate home partiton or all on one?

User avatar
Reorx
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3931
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by Reorx » Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:14 pm

I think that the install routine looks at your system and then, based on what it sees, will offer you some choices... I believe, in order to be offered an "along side" choice, you have to have unallocated space sufficient for the installation.

Gparted is included in every Mint Live iso... boot your live Mint 16 USB and start Gparted. Take a screenshot and post it here. You should be able to shrink a partition or 2 to make room for the Mint 16 installation... :)
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:30 pm

Plenty of room for Alongside install 377 gigs free, not sure how to up an image here, thinking about trying with other drives unplugged?
[img]file:///home/rj/Desktop/Screenshot%20from%202013-12-01%2011:24:13.png[/img]

User avatar
Reorx
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3931
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by Reorx » Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:03 pm

Unplugging drives definitely a good idea.

To post photos, look below the window that you're typing in... you will see something that looks like this >>>
AddPhoto2Post.png
To add a photo;
1) Click "Upload Attachment"
2) Click "Browse" and browse to the photo and double click it.
3) Click "Add the file"
Done! The uploaded image will appear at the end of your post unless you "place" it "inline" (button). If you click the "place inline" button, the system will place the image code at the very beginning of the post - you can move it wherever you like... :mrgreen:
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Mon Dec 02, 2013 9:59 am

Thanks didn't notice that before, I finely got mint 16 installed to a resized drive, updated grub2 and it won't boot, will try again after I wake up and post what it says, just happy I didn't overwrite my main drive...
Attachments
Screenshot3.png

User avatar
Reorx
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3931
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by Reorx » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:52 am

The Gparted image that you posted looks like a default install on the "whole drive". There isn't anything along side of anything else there...
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Mon Dec 02, 2013 11:20 pm

That was prior to the Mint 16 install, here is a new pic
Attachments
screen2.png

User avatar
Reorx
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3931
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: SE Florida, USA

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by Reorx » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:05 am

OK, that's a side by side installation... but I don't see a swap partition... So I am assuming that the installation spans multiple drives. That is beyond my experience level... your question has changed... it might be an idea to post a new topic with a more approptiate title...
Full time Linux Mint user since 2011 - Currently running LM19 Cinnamon.

Image Image

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13383
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by WharfRat » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:05 am

RodneyLee,

Do either of those installations boot :?:

Is sdc an internal or external drive :?:

Are you going to keep Mint 14 :?:
ImageImage

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:42 am

I would like to keep M14 until I know M16 works with software I use now, the installer didn't make a swap drive during installation, no idea why not
its an internal drive, 14 boots fine (is on differant drive) other drive shown only hold VMware image, I have 3 internal HDD's and 1 external

-R

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13383
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by WharfRat » Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:01 am

RodneyLee,

The installer probably didn't create a swap because it's using Mint 14's swap partition. I'm assuming that the installer installed grub to sdc, it should default to the drive you're installing to.

If you're going to remove Mint 14 in the near future then you probably want to get Mint 16's grub menu working. What you'll have to try is chrooting to 16 from 14 and install and update grub.

Boot Mint 14 then in the term:

Code: Select all

sudo -i

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sdc2 /mnt 

Code: Select all

mount -t proc none /mnt/proc

Code: Select all

mount --rbind /sys /mnt/sys

Code: Select all

mount --rbind /dev /mnt/dev

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/chroot /mnt /bin/bash

Code: Select all

source /etc/profile

Code: Select all

export PS1="\[\033[1;33m\]chroot to ->\[\033[1;31m\](system) #\[\e[0m\] "
Now you should be in the Mint 16 system and be able to install grub.

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/grub-install /dev/sda

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/update-grub

Code: Select all

exit

Code: Select all

reboot
Good luck :wink:
ImageImage

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:31 am

well almost got there

rj-M68MT-S2P ~ # mount /dev/sdc2 /mnt
rj-M68MT-S2P ~ # mount -t proc none /mnt/proc
rj-M68MT-S2P ~ # mount --rbind /sys /mnt/sys
rj-M68MT-S2P ~ # mount --rbind /dev /mnt/dev
rj-M68MT-S2P ~ # /usr/sbin/chroot /mnt /bin/bash
rj-M68MT-S2P / # source /etc/profile
rj-M68MT-S2P / # export PS1="\[\033[1;33m\]chroot to ->\[\033[1;31m\](system) #\[\e[0m\] "
chroot to ->(system) # /usr/sbin/grub-install /dev/sda
source_dir doesn't exist. Please specify --target or --directory

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13383
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by WharfRat » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:56 pm

RodneyLee,

I've never encountered that error before :? What does this return

Code: Select all

which grub-install
ImageImage

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:27 pm

rj@rj-M68MT-S2P ~ $ which grub-install
/usr/sbin/grub-install
rj@rj-M68MT-S2P ~ $


I believe Gurb2 is on my ubuntu 12.04 drive, least that is where I last updated it from, to get Mint 16 to show up

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13383
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by WharfRat » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:33 pm

One more check - paste back the output of

Code: Select all

dpkg -S $(which grub-install)
ImageImage

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:37 pm

rj@rj-M68MT-S2P ~ $ dpkg -S $(which grub-install)
diversion by lupin-support from: /usr/sbin/grub-install
diversion by lupin-support to: /usr/sbin/grub-install.real
grub2-common, lupin-support: /usr/sbin/grub-install

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13383
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by WharfRat » Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:00 pm

RodneyLee,

Everything looks fine so I can't explain the source_dir doesn't exist message.

Try exiting the chroot and reinstall grub from Mint 14 - if unsure just reboot to 14.

Code: Select all

sudo /usr/sbin/grub-install /dev/sda

Code: Select all

sudo /usr/sbin/update-grub
ImageImage

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:12 pm

rj@rj-M68MT-S2P ~ $ sudo /usr/sbin/update-grub
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.7.0-7-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.7.0-7-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found Ubuntu 12.10 (12.10) on /dev/sdb1
Found Linux Mint 16 Petra (16) on /dev/sdc2
done

rebooting now to try it

RodneyLee
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:58 am

Re: Install Mint 16 alongside Mint 14

Post by RodneyLee » Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:19 pm

No difference..., I run mint 14 most the time, lost compatibility with VMwarePlayer for some reason so have to use Ubuntu 12.04 just for that
Grub Menu didn't change makes me wonder if it needs to be uninstalled from U12.04 first (grub that is)

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”