Password everytime i do something i

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
africanlion
Level 3
Level 3

Password everytime i do something i

Post by africanlion » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:03 pm

Hey there guys. Newbie here. I had never even heard of Linux Mint till 3 days ago when i installed Ubuntu which i was advised was too heavy formy system and a techy friend recommended i try Linux Mint insteead. Seems was a great recommendation as so far i like how it is though i am only 1 hour into the experience 8)

First off is there a way to turn off the password prompt whenever i try to do anything like update (its annoying me) :D

Secondly any recommendations so i get the best out of this OS. My computer is mainly used for surfing news, emails, forum concerning my beloved south africa, youtube music and films and games for my kids though i am yet to familiarise myself with the games on it. Nothing heavy really

Third, the update/download manager is a little confusing for me. Is there a way of controlling where it saves or installs stuff to? Its confusing for me that it doesnt seem to run as windows install manager

Thanks in adavance for your response and hats off to the developers of this suite 8)

Reorx
Level 11
Level 11

Re: Password everytime i do something i

Post by Reorx » Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:03 am

A_L;

1) See "Password" sticky above >>> http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=74851