Hiding some windows partitions.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
glore2002
Level 1
Level 1

Hiding some windows partitions.

Post by glore2002 »

Hello!

I am a computing teacher who tries to make computers at school dual boot (windows and Linux mint). For security reasons, I don't want students to be able to access that partition from Linux to avoid modifications and possible problems.

How can I decide which partitions can be seen and access from Linux and which not or which can be seen and use to copy files from but not modified by users?

Thanks in advance for your valuable help!

WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21

Re: Hiding some windows partitions.

Post by WharfRat »

glore2002,

You won't be able to hide them, but you can prevent them from being mounted by not including any student in the 'sudo' group.

As for administrating the system, setup a password for the root account and 'su -' in a terminal for performing administrative tasks.

If you want the partition mounted read only use an fstab entry with the 'ro' option for those partitions you want to be able to access, but not modify.
ImageImage

kukamuumuka
Level 16
Level 16

Post by kukamuumuka »

Edit the /etc/fstab file, make a mount points to the partitions and set the permissions. An example: Windows partition sda1

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir -p /CorDorE/windows
sudo chown root:root -R /CorDorE/windows
sudo chmod 600 /CorDorE/windows
Edit the /etc/fstab

sudo nano /etc/fstab
## add the line
/dev/sda1 /CorDorE/windows ntfs root,ro 0 0
http://wiki.centos.org/TipsAndTricks/NTFS

DataMan
Level 6
Level 6

Post by DataMan »