What's the difference? Linux mint vs Debian with cinnamon?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
mxmaniac
Level 1
Level 1

What's the difference? Linux mint vs Debian with cinnamon?

Post by mxmaniac »

I'm pretty new to linux, but have put in many hours of reading, but there is one thing I can't quite find the answer to.

What exactly is the difference between installing Linux Mint. And installing Debian, then cinnamon, then ubuntu software manager, and whatever other extras you want?

By the time you choose whatever software you want from the repository on either system. Will there still be major fundamental differences between mint and Debian with cinnamon installed, or will they basically be the same system at that point?

I guess another way to ask the question is, is mint basically debian with a few extras pre installed, saving you the time of running some of those apt-get commands, or are there many other very fundamental changes and differences?
passerby
Level 6
Level 6

Re: What's the difference? Linux mint vs Debian with cinnam

Post by passerby »

First, you should take a look at the difference between Debian and Ubuntu.
Ubuntu is based off the Debian unstable (or experimental? I don't recall) branch. It's essentially an "unstable" version of Debian.
It has much more up to date software than Debian stable, and there's other software built specifically for Ubuntu that won't work on plain Debian without pulling in a lot of outside packages.

Then, look at the differences between Mint and Ubuntu.