[partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem 3D

Anything related to gaming on Linux Mint including game discussion or questions concerning Steam or Wine.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Patrol1985
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:51 am

[partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem 3D

Post by Patrol1985 » Sun May 04, 2014 4:20 pm

I tried two different ways of playing Duke Nukem 3D on Linux Mint: via the official Steam version ("Megaton Edition"), which supports Linux, and by using a 3rd party source port (EDuke32)

In neither of those can I adjust brightness. Using the slider in options menu gives no results. In EDuke32 there is a whole sub-menu called "color correction" and no option of this menu works. Regarding EDuke32, I tried running it both in fullscreen and windowed modes. I also tried switching the renderer in-game (either 32-bit OpenGL or Software). None of those actions helped.

The computer has two operating system and everything works fine in Windows 7. It's just LM that causes problems.

Additional info:

OS version: Linux Mint 16
GPU: Intel GMA 3150
EDuke32 version: the newest one (built it from source a couple of days ago)

If you're familiar with Duke Nukem 3D and can identify the cause of the problem I would appreciate your help. If you need further info, feel free to ask.

Edit: a substitute solution

One can use a program called xgamma to override other settings and set the gamma globally for the whole system. Xgamma is already be present within your linux distribution.

From within terminal type:

xgamma -gamma x

where "x" is your desired value (with default being "1"). I set it to 1.5 and it was ok for me. Bear in mind it's a global setting so, for instance, the screenshots will remain true to the game's gamma settings.

Despite the solution, I still welcome a "proper" one if you happen to know it.

User avatar
Booman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem

Post by Booman » Tue May 06, 2014 6:18 pm

Whoa, strange problem. So is the game way too bright or way too dark?
Booman
Mint 19 64-bit
PlayOnLinux 4.3.4
PlayOnLinux GuidesTested Games List

Patrol1985
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:51 am

Re: [partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem

Post by Patrol1985 » Wed May 07, 2014 11:35 am

I find the game a little bit too dark on default settings for my taste.

User avatar
Booman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem

Post by Booman » Wed May 07, 2014 1:05 pm

I did a search and found your other post on the Eduke forums.
Um, there may be a config file that has text-based settings.
I've never tried the Linux version of Eduke32 because the windows Eduke32 runs perfectly in PlayOnLinux.
But go to the installation folder and poke around. Usually there will be some editable file where you can change the settings manually.
Of course you can break the game as well.
Booman
Mint 19 64-bit
PlayOnLinux 4.3.4
PlayOnLinux GuidesTested Games List

Patrol1985
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:51 am

Re: [partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem

Post by Patrol1985 » Fri May 16, 2014 3:18 am

Booman wrote:I did a search and found your other post on the Eduke forums.
Yes, I posted about the problem there and on Steam forums as well. Sadly, nobody was able to help me.
Booman wrote:Um, there may be a config file that has text-based settings.
I've never tried the Linux version of Eduke32 because the windows Eduke32 runs perfectly in PlayOnLinux.
But go to the installation folder and poke around. Usually there will be some editable file where you can change the settings manually.
Of course you can break the game as well.
Thank you for the suggestion. I found the config file (/$HOME/.eduke32/settings.cfg), but manually changing its values gives no effect.

For the time being I will stick with the "partial solution" I figured out. Thanks for your input!

User avatar
Booman
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [partially solved] Can't adjust brightness in Duke Nukem

Post by Booman » Mon May 19, 2014 8:23 am

No problem. I can only imagine that its related to video drivers.
Let us know if you ever find a permanent solution
Booman
Mint 19 64-bit
PlayOnLinux 4.3.4
PlayOnLinux GuidesTested Games List

Post Reply

Return to “Gaming on Linux Mint”