[Solved] New KDE user: restore my panel back to default?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
octathlon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:14 pm

[Solved] New KDE user: restore my panel back to default?

Post by octathlon »

I'm new to KDE but not to linux. I just installed Mint 17 KDE on my secondary laptop (it took about 3x as long to do as Cinnamon and updating took another 1.5 hours, so please don't tell me to reinstall :) -- I don't want to create a new user account either as I like to always use the same login name on all my systems).

:arrow: Anyway, after finally getting the post-install updates done, I immediately foobarred my panel and need help to get it back to the default state!

What happend: I right-clicked the Firefox icon in the menu and selected Add to panel. Fine, but it appeared over on the right side next to the system tray and clock/calendar, instead of on the left next to the other launchers (why?!#@).

So now I want to move it over to the left side. Right-clicking the panel, I chose panel settings and it went into an edit mode allowing me to click and move the FF icon over. Fine. But now the system tray and clock are over on the left, too! So I tried to move them back to the right side, but they immediately sprang back to the left side as soon as I released the mouse button. Then in attempting to drag the clock/calendar again, somehow I moved up too high and it was removed from the panel altogether!!! :evil:

At that point I stopped and came here for help, before I do any further damage! :oops:
Last edited by octathlon on Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Full-time Linux user since 2007, Mint since 2014
User avatar
EmpireITtech
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 409
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:45 am

Re: New KDE user: How do I restore my panel back to default?

Post by EmpireITtech »

Code: Select all

kquitapp plasma
rm ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-appletsrc
plasma &
Linux: Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64-Bit

Box 1: Intel Core 2 Quad | 8gb RAM | 500gb WD 7200rpm | nVidia Geforce GTS250
Box 2: Intel Core i3-3240 | 4gb RAM | 1tb WD 7200rpm | AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4550

Pants: 32x30
octathlon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:14 pm

Re: New KDE user: How do I restore my panel back to default?

Post by octathlon »

Thanks, I saw that on the KDE forums, but:
- The kquitapp plasma command doesn't work. I just logged out of kde and logged in to a terminal session instead.

- There is no such file as ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-appletsrc
However there is one named ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc
I will try deleting that file, but I thought I would wait a while and see if Mint people have Mint-specific knowledge as to whether that is the right file before I do that.
Full-time Linux user since 2007, Mint since 2014
octathlon
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 3:14 pm

New KDE user:How to restore my panel back to default?

Post by octathlon »

Here is what worked for me:

Log out of KDE. At the login screen, ctrl-Alt-F1 for a console

$ rm .kde/share/config/plasma-desktop-appletsrc
$ exit

ctrl-alt-F8 to go back to login screen and log in

------
note: path is .kde/..., not .kde4/....
note: use F8, not F7 for login screen
Full-time Linux user since 2007, Mint since 2014
User avatar
EmpireITtech
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 409
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:45 am

Re: [Solved] New KDE user: restore my panel back to default?

Post by EmpireITtech »

Ahh, my bad, I missed the plasma-desktop-appletsrc part :?

Glad you got it!! :D
Linux: Mint 19 Tara Cinnamon 64-Bit

Box 1: Intel Core 2 Quad | 8gb RAM | 500gb WD 7200rpm | nVidia Geforce GTS250
Box 2: Intel Core i3-3240 | 4gb RAM | 1tb WD 7200rpm | AMD/ATI Radeon HD 4550

Pants: 32x30
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”