Installation Failure. Errno 5 Input/Output error. Help?

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Calistoo
Level 1
Level 1

Installation Failure. Errno 5 Input/Output error. Help?

Postby Calistoo » Sat Aug 01, 2015 10:24 pm

Hi all.

I've been interested in using Linux for a few years and finally decided to pull the trigger to try out Linux Mint.
I'm planning to dual boot Linux Mint 17.2 Cinnamon 64bit alongside Windows 8.1.
Since I'm a bit of a noob, I decided to follow [this guide][/http://linux.about.com/od/howtos/ss/How-To-Dual-Boot-Windows-81-And-Linux-Mint.htm].

Some background:
I am booting from a USB made from Universal USB installer 1.9.6.1.
I have followed the linked guide exactly including the partition sizes they suggested.
I have verified that the MD5 of the iso I downloaded matches the one on the linux mint website.
I have 1 TB of space on this laptop so I am assuming that space is not an issue. Again, my partitions are all the sizes that the guide recommended.

I've looked around on different forums and most of the problems have been fixed by moving from a DVD install to a USB install, but I am already booting from a USB. My laptop also does not have a CD Drive.
I read about appending a boot command of apic=off, but I am unsure how to do this.

Does anyone know of a solution? Thank you!

administrollaattori
Level 12
Level 12

Re: Installation Failure. Errno 5 Input/Output error. Help?

Postby administrollaattori » Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:12 am

I have met some unstable computers which do the input/output error if using ext4 filesystem. With ext3, the installations have worked.

richyrich
Level 18
Level 18

Postby richyrich » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:55 am

Try this next time from the terminal just before you start the installer, it will remove the slideshow that runs during the install. It has helped others.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove ubiquity-slideshow-mint

JOPETA
Level 11