[SOLVED] How to change dimension of Whisker Menu

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Spartathlon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:57 pm

[SOLVED] How to change dimension of Whisker Menu

Post by Spartathlon »

I am in Mint since the last four weeks. I tried Cinnamon and MATE, and I enjoy XFCE best :D .

In the beginning, I could change the dimensions of the menu.
Now I added one more subject (Education) and would like the topic System to be seen.
But when I hit the triangle with the mouse, it doesn't resize.

I'm sure it is something I do wrong... but what might it be? Any idea?
Last edited by Spartathlon on Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Spartathlon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: How to change dimension of Whisker Menu

Post by Spartathlon »

This is a picture of my whisker:
Whisker.png
When I click on the arrow (see red circle), nothing happens. I can't resize the whisker... :(

Spartathlon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: How to change dimension of Whisker Menu

Post by Spartathlon »

Thanks very much, ByeByeXP.
...Whisker's popup window is WAITING for resizing by way of your mouse's left-click-on-arrow-then-hold-and-drag-2-resize-letgo movement. Not quite intuitive...
For me it is intuitive, but doesn't work. I tried left-click, right-click... I tried right-click on the menu button/properties but I could not find anything to redimension it.

It seems as it has been blocked...

Hmmm... Could it be that I had blocked it unconsciously before?
If so, what could it be? Should I change something in the configuration?
I'm using Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa XFCE and Compiz.

Joan

Spartathlon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: How to change dimension of Whisker Menu

Post by Spartathlon »

All right!

Could I try re-installing?
(Using Synaptic, eliminate xfce4-whiskermenu-plugin, and re-installing again?)

If you think that'll help, I'll do it. Otherwise, I'll post this on xfce's forum.

And thanks very much for your help, ByeByeXP,

Joan

Spartathlon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: How to change dimension of Whisker Menu

Post by Spartathlon »

Ok! Reinstalling didn't fix my problem.

I finally bumped into the solution (In a way I couldn't suspect).

The question is that I was using compiz. :?:
If I change my window manager to xfwm4+composition, then I can re-dimension the menu. :o

After that, I have compiz as a window manager, again, and that's solved. :D

Thanks for your answers ByeByeXP, anyway. :) :) :) I was really happy to receive them.

Post Reply

Return to “Xfce”