[SOLVED] Apt-get broken?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
DC80
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:37 am

[SOLVED] Apt-get broken?

Post by DC80 »

Hi all,

I would not know how to describe this but the following isn't working. Also the software center isn't working. Can this be solved? I had not had this previously...

Thank you in advance :)
Attachments
aptbroken.png
Last edited by DC80 on Sat May 14, 2016 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
"The future is predeterment by those who shape it"
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14097
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Apt-get broken?

Post by karlchen »

Hello, DC80.

Hm. The piece of information which you provide is not really sufficient to tell
(a) what happens
(b) why it happens.

Could you post the screen output of the following terminal commands, please:
  • Exact Mint version:

    Code: Select all

    inxi -Sr
    Note: capital S, lowercase r
    Mark the inxi screen ouput, copy it to the clipboard and paste the text into your next reply.
  • Any problem with the software list?

    Code: Select all

    sudo apt-get check
    Mark the apt-get screen ouput, copy it to the clipboard and paste the text into your next reply.
  • Virtual box installed correctly?

    Code: Select all

    dpkg --list virtualbox*
    Mark the dpkg screen ouput, copy it to the clipboard and paste the text into your next reply.
  • About the Software Center not starting: What happens if you type mintinstall in the terminal and press enter? The interesting details will be the messages which will be displayed inside the terminal window. Mark these messages, copy them to the clipboard and paste the test into your next reply.
Best regards,
Karl
Last edited by karlchen on Sat May 14, 2016 8:49 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: KDB: correction in the first command. Sorry karl :) <== Guess I had typed "inix" instead of "inxi" once again. Should create an alias "inix" that will launch "inxi". ;-) Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
Spread Your Wings
DC80
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:37 am

Re: Apt-get broken?

Post by DC80 »

Hi Karlchen,

Virtualbox was running fine. However I had to reboot and forgot the running machines. They won't start normal, they are stuck at creating a session. I was troubleshooting it when the cli thing happend :(.

Anyway back to the current problem:

I have executed the mintinstall command with sudo and without sudo and got this as a result:

Code: Select all

anon@anon-desktop ~ $ mintinstall
Vector smash protection is enabled.
add_categories took 38.251 ms
build_matched_packages took 0.164 ms
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.6.6) (7u101-2.6.6-0ubuntu0.14.04.1)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.95-b01, mixed mode)
Segmentation fault
anon@anon-desktop ~ $ sudo mintinstall
[sudo] password for anon: 
Vector smash protection is enabled.
add_categories took 1.769 ms
build_matched_packages took 0.262 ms
java version "1.7.0_101"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.6.6) (7u101-2.6.6-0ubuntu0.14.04.1)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.95-b01, mixed mode)
Segmentation fault
anon@anon-desktop ~ $ clear
I also ran "sudo apt-get check" which gave me the same answer as the initial problem.

The last command shows my repos which only are official but two:

Code: Select all

anon@anon-desktop ~ $ inxi -Sr
System:    Host: anon-desktop Kernel: 3.19.0-32-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.8  Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/maarten-baert-simplescreenrecorder-trusty.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/maarten-baert/simplescreenrecorder/ubuntu trusty main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/maarten-baert/simplescreenrecorder/ubuntu trusty main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/linuxmint/packages rosa main upstream import
           deb http://extra.linuxmint.com rosa main
           deb http://mirror.1000mbps.com/ubuntu trusty main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://mirror.1000mbps.com/ubuntu trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ trusty partner
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/owncloud-client.list
           deb http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/isv:/ownCloud:/desktop/Ubuntu_14.04/ /
anon@anon-desktop ~ $ 
The "http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/linuxmint/packages" and "http://mirror.1000mbps.com/ubuntu" are Mint mirrors but you probably know that.

I think it's not the apt system but rather the gnome terminal? (just thinking out loud here)

Thanks for helping me! :)
Attachments
mintinstall
mintinstall
sudo apt-get check
sudo apt-get check
"The future is predeterment by those who shape it"
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14097
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Apt-get broken?

Post by karlchen »

Hello, DC80.

Here is what sudo apt-get check displays to me. Yours gets stuck at step 2, building up dependency tree.

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get check
[sudo] password for karl: 
Paketlisten werden gelesen... Fertig
Abhängigkeitsbaum wird aufgebaut       
Statusinformationen werden eingelesen... Fertig
karl@voyager ~ $ 
aufgebaut (de) = opgebouwd (nl) = built-up (en)

I would be rather amazed if this were a problem related to the terminal which you use. It will be a problem inside the local apt software cache.
So it might be resolvable by:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get check
where it makes sense to proceed to the next command only in case the previous command has terminated successfully. The suggested steps would
+ clean the apt software cache
+ reload the software list from the repos and rebuild the cache
+ check again.

HTH,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
Spread Your Wings
DC80
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:37 am

Re: Apt-get broken?

Post by DC80 »

Thank you! It is solved.

But how does this work? I assumed it was apt but the interface is not perfect. And more important, why is it happening?

Many thanks again! :)
"The future is predeterment by those who shape it"
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14097
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: [SOLVED] Apt-get broken?

Post by karlchen »

Hello, DC80.

Great to know that apt-get is playing nicely again. :)

How the local cache can get corrupted thus preventing apt-get from doing its job?
Hm. I cannot tell for sure how it happens. "apt-get update" receives the updated software lists from the internet. There is always the chance that a file is not transmitted correctly. I suspect that there are rare cases where the sanity checks done by apt-get may fail to realize that a received file is not ok. Trying to use the cached files later on reveals there is a problem.
So there might be two ways to prevent such things from happening: improve sanity checks on incoming data. Improve error handling when detecting faulty data later on (do not just hang, because data are incorrect).
Without having run apt-get inside a debugger and verfied my assumptions, however, they are just that, assumptions.

Cheers,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
Spread Your Wings
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”