Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
RDoberman
Level 1
Level 1

Dual-boot Mint 18 and windows on GPT/UEFI

Post by RDoberman »

Hello,
I am an IT pro but a novice at linux. I've setup dual-boot in the past with no problems at all. However, I have an HP Envy I5 laptop that I want to dual-boot Mint 18 (by default) and Windows 10 and probably Windows server 2016 Tech Preview 5. I've read MS made some changes to windows 10 in the November update that seems to lock down UEFI changes more or something like that. I want to run Mint 18 by default and run windows 10 on VMware onlhy when necessary so I force myself to learn linux better. This has turned out to be WAY more difficult than I would have thought.

I have tired MANY variations in the installations. Currently, it defaults to boot Windows server 2016 TP 5 but I can hit the ESC key and choose bootup options and select Ubuntu and Mint 18 loads fine. I did the Mint install as custom and chose to install GRUB into the windows boot manager partition.

When I use the ESC sequence above, Grub does show linux mint 18 and also windows so I can boot either. If windows boots up and I run msconfig the boot tab ONLY shows windows like it doesn't even see linux as a bootable OS.

In my BIOS, I had turned off secure boot and also tried "legacy support" when doing the various installations. When installing windows 10 and wiping the drive to start, I then went into recovery and advanced startup to use a USB to install Mint thinking the advanced startup would "unlock" (guessing here) UEFI and allow grub to update the partition. It is using GPT rather than MBR and I see an EFI system partition, MS reserved partition, NTFS (basic data), another NTFS (450 MB), then ext4 for / and linux-swap.

How can I configure my system to boot up to Grub by default? Thanks in advance for any help and I will post more info if necessary.

Thanks

deepakdeshp
Level 17
Level 17

Re: Dual-boot Mint 18 and windows on GPT/UEFI