<Solved (for now...)> "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Locked
User avatar
LamphunLumyai
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:20 am

<Solved (for now...)> "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by LamphunLumyai » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:28 am

Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.8 Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa

Today I noticed a process called "Web Content" that was pegging the CPU cycles and making Firefox dog slow.

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/firefox/plugin-container -greomni /usr/lib/firefox/omni.ja -appomni /usr/lib/firefox/browser/omni.ja -appdir /usr/lib/firefox/browser 2672 true tab
Has anyone encounter this before. It seems to be something new since I've updated Firefox to v49.0. I never noticed it before.
Last edited by LamphunLumyai on Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13240
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by Pjotr » Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:41 am

What are your add-ons?
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... stmas-tree
(item 8, right column)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.2 Tina
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by Cosmo. » Wed Oct 05, 2016 5:29 am

Does this process stay open, if you close Firefox completely?

Click in Firefox the menu (sandwich) icon -> help icon -> restart with deactivated add-ons, then open the same tab(s). Does this process still show in the list?

User avatar
LamphunLumyai
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:20 am

Re: "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by LamphunLumyai » Thu Oct 06, 2016 3:09 am

This is just odd.

I was using System Monitor to look at the properties of the Web Content process. As I was doing this, System Monitor closed down by itself. This was just after posting this topic. Since then the "Web Content" process has not appeared again as I monitor the system with System Monitor continually now.

I've checked my update manager for foreign sources and noticed two. One was related to flash. The options for the command that fired off "Web Content" seem related to flash. Coincidence? Don't know. I've removed both packages which I don't explicitly remember installing.

Code: Select all

mint-flashplugin-steam 11.2.202.460
libcinnamon-desktop0 (2.4.2+rebecca)
After which I've run PPA-Purge.

We'll see...

User avatar
sfrusciante
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:15 am
Location: Italy

Re: <Solved (for now...)> "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by sfrusciante » Wed Jan 18, 2017 9:03 am

You could check if you installed those packages off the cronology of Synaptic.

BTW I had the same problem when installing flashplugin-installer in place of the pre-installed Adobe flash packages. Reverting that change, everything looks solved and the Web Content seems quiet.
I got a crazy number of people to disappoint. -me

privatier
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:56 pm

Re: <Solved (for now...)> "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by privatier » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:00 pm

what worked for me was disabling extensions.
See also this article on what is going on these days:
https://www.electronicproducts.com/Prog ... ow_it.aspx

User avatar
sfrusciante
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:15 am
Location: Italy

Re: <Solved (for now...)> "Web Content" process running from Firefox

Post by sfrusciante » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:44 am

Probably new versions of Quantum will solve this.
I got a crazy number of people to disappoint. -me

Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”