Gaming Pc Build... Windows or Linux?

Chat about just about anything else
AkaiGuy
Level 1
Level 1

Gaming Pc Build... Windows or Linux?

Post by AkaiGuy » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:03 pm

Hi! I'm hoping to build a new gaming pc in the next couple days (when my parts arrive) and I haven't decided on an OS yet. Like a lot of people, I've used Windows all my life but I am looking for something cheaper and more secure then windows 10. I also heard linux is easier to install also, which is good for me because I'm not experienced in installing this stuff. (Though I'm sure I could install either, it's probably not rocket science. Lol)

My question is, which OS would be better for steam gaming? Do all games on steam work for linux? Would you recommend one or the other based on your experience?

JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Gaming Pc Build... Windows or Linux?

Post by JeremyB » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:11 pm

Not a support request, moved to open chat. It might help if you told us about the parts as some may not be fully supported yet in Linux Mint

English Invader
Level 4
Level 4

Post by English Invader » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:39 pm

I'm happy enough with Linux for gaming but that's because I tend to stick to older games and use a no frills PC with a £20 HD 5450 plugged in. If you're spending a significant amount of money on a Gaming PC, you would be throwing your money away with a Linux OS because the amount of games available to you would be greatly reduced and you may also incur compatibility problems with your expensive AMD or Nvidia graphics card.

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Post by xenopeek » Tue Mar 21, 2017 10:08 pm