Optiplex GX270 Very Slow - SOLVED

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby JoeFootball » Fri May 19, 2017 11:19 am

DarkReader wrote:... vs. price of a new box.

Or how about a used box? I've liberated five year old PCs for next to nothing, or even nothing, from unknowing people who have suffered with Windows rot to the point where their solution was to buy a new PC because the old one was "broken".

So I take it off their hands, wipe the drive, install Linux, and a speedy PC is revealed. I'll bet you can find the same.

Joe

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Fri May 19, 2017 6:39 pm

JoeFootball wrote:
Arch_Enemy wrote:Hmmm....nothing about memory...
DarkReader wrote:Memory: 906.3/2012.2MB


Oops.

OK Thanks. I think we found the biggest problem with the box! ;)
$0.02+a grain of salt...

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Fri May 19, 2017 6:48 pm

DarkReader wrote:
Arch_Enemy wrote:This is the 'best' CPU you can install
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Pentium-4 ... SwCQZZC2Db

We'll definitely take a look at this and the RAM upgrade, as well as your other recommendations for the BIOS, etc. If it all comes to less than a new box, we can have some fun replacing hardware. I really appreciate the extra steps you've taken to sort this out for me. Thanks.



NP. I was a Dell Factory Tech for 12 years, and I like Dell boxes. Especially the older ones. This was a good computer, made to last. The only real issues was it was a Chinese capacitor manufacturer that mislabelled capaicotrs for a long while and it hit the computer industry hard, especially Dell and HP. If it hadn't been for that this model would have been nearly flawless. I still see a lot of these in use in applications that do not require a great deal of computing power, like running remote apps from a server or "mainframe", including hotel reservation desks, auto parts stores, hospitals, etc. Once you get past the capacitors, it just keeps going and going.

I'm a firm believer in, if it works for you, use it as long as you can. When I worked for a computer service company that also had a storefront (it started as a software retailer, then service provider, but kept the store) a woman came in and wanted a computer to write letters, balance her checkbook and do email (the "Internet" was still a glimmer to the public and reserved for geeks and techies...) and he sjowed her the latest Pentium clone with a separate video card, etc etc, for $3200.

She came back in and I was in the front of the store, she told me what she wanted and I sold her a slightly used Leading Edge 386 for ~$600...she walked out happy. She also gave us a lot of referrals, since we didn't try to "take her in".
$0.02+a grain of salt...

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Fri May 19, 2017 6:53 pm

JoeFootball wrote:
DarkReader wrote:... vs. price of a new box.

Or how about a used box? I've liberated five year old PCs for next to nothing, or even nothing, from unknowing people who have suffered with Windows rot to the point where their solution was to buy a new PC because the old one was "broken".

So I take it off their hands, wipe the drive, install Linux, and a speedy PC is revealed. I'll bet you can find the same.

Joe



I have a hard time charging people. Most computer repair is so mickey mouse I feel guilty charging people. That's why I worked for Dell for so long. Let them pay me, and I don't have to bill anybody.
I mostly do side work for friends and friends of friends, and we are ALL poor, so I either take a few bucks for vaping supplies, or take it out in trade. I fix my friend's daughter's laptop, he installs the new shocks in my car. :D
I always keep a few old machines on hand (mostly Dells, for obvious reasons...) so if I have to keep their box for diagnosis/waiting for parts they have something they can use while waiting. Some of them are approaching 20 years old, although those are more for just playing iwth. :D
$0.02+a grain of salt...

benali72
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 11:49 am

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby benali72 » Fri May 19, 2017 7:09 pm

Run System Monitor while you perform your normal workload to determine which resource is causing your slowdown.

Most likely it is memory, given this -- Memory: 906.3/2012.2MB

But only System Monitor will tell you for sure. You might be out of CPU as well.

I work with a lot of old boxes. IMHO a P-4 w/ 1G ram is often still adequate for tasks requiring low-ball resources (eg, office work, light duty email, etc) but inadequate for video, heavy graphics, games, and the like.

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Fri May 19, 2017 11:30 pm

Oh...

Also, look in the BIOS for a setting called "Hyperthreading". (May not be available on BIOS Rev A03). If it's on, turn it off...if it's off, turn it on.

What you do depends on whether you should turn it on or off. It may not be there, or may be greyed out.

At any rate, update the BIOS to A07 before doing anything else hardware wise.
$0.02+a grain of salt...

DarkReader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby DarkReader » Sat May 20, 2017 1:59 pm

JoeFootball wrote:
DarkReader wrote:... vs. price of a new box.

Or how about a used box? Joe

New to us means "newer than our current old one." We always buy used, refurbished. It just makes sense. Thanks.

DarkReader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby DarkReader » Sat May 20, 2017 2:06 pm

Arch_Enemy wrote:Oh...

Also, look in the BIOS for a setting called "Hyperthreading". (May not be available on BIOS Rev A03). If it's on, turn it off...if it's off, turn it on.

What you do depends on whether you should turn it on or off. It may not be there, or may be greyed out.

At any rate, update the BIOS to A07 before doing anything else hardware wise.

Yeah, about that. :oops: I searched, I read (horror stories), I downloaded the update. I know I need to have a back up of the original BIOS, JIC, but this may be beyond me. Or at least I'll need to do some further studying.

1) Can I upgrade to 2x2gb RAM without the BIOS upgrade?
2) Ditto re: CPU you recommended?

I'm not lazy, just not comfortable with the upgrade, unless you write back to say, pffft, way too easy, don't worry.

DarkReader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby DarkReader » Sat May 20, 2017 2:07 pm

benali72 wrote:Run System Monitor while you perform your normal workload to determine which resource is causing your slowdown.

Excellent, I'll do that now. Thanks.

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Sat May 20, 2017 10:13 pm

DarkReader wrote:
Arch_Enemy wrote:Oh...

Also, look in the BIOS for a setting called "Hyperthreading". (May not be available on BIOS Rev A03). If it's on, turn it off...if it's off, turn it on.

What you do depends on whether you should turn it on or off. It may not be there, or may be greyed out.

At any rate, update the BIOS to A07 before doing anything else hardware wise.

Yeah, about that. :oops: I searched, I read (horror stories), I downloaded the update. I know I need to have a back up of the original BIOS, JIC, but this may be beyond me. Or at least I'll need to do some further studying.

1) Can I upgrade to 2x2gb RAM without the BIOS upgrade?
2) Ditto re: CPU you recommended?

I'm not lazy, just not comfortable with the upgrade, unless you write back to say, pffft, way too easy, don't worry.


Well, here's the deal:

I've never really had to back up a BIOS. I do get a copy of the previous one to reinstall in case the new BIOS either doesn't solve a problem, or creates a new one.

I have 2 GX270, an SX270 (Ultra Small Form Factor...the power supply in an external one from a large Alienware model) and an SX280 (ditto). All have been updated to A07 for CPU updates.

But, don't worry...if the BIOS upgrade does go bad, you have nothing to worry about! Because then there is no question it's time for a different computer! ;)

Seriously, though, I've done all 4 of them, no issue. They all have the fastest processor I could install and the most memory as well. The CPU is one I linked in an earlier post, and the memory is 2 2G DDR400 sticks.

Just make sure the power cord is plugged in securely at both ends, the dog is outside, and there isn't a thunderstorm or windstorm that could knock the power out. If it seems like it's taking too long, be patient. Mix a batch of martinis or something. And if it fails, the machine will tell you it failed and reload the original BIOS.
$0.02+a grain of salt...

DarkReader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby DarkReader » Sun May 21, 2017 2:06 pm

I've never really had to back up a BIOS. I do get a copy of the previous one to reinstall in case the new BIOS either doesn't solve a problem, or creates a new one.

Yes, not a back up, but a copy to rollback to, in case. Do I need to upgrade the BIOS before upgrading the RAM and/or CPU? If yes, then of course I will. If not, well, maybe I'm lazier than I originally thought.

Thanks.

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Mon May 22, 2017 1:36 am

DarkReader wrote:
I've never really had to back up a BIOS. I do get a copy of the previous one to reinstall in case the new BIOS either doesn't solve a problem, or creates a new one.

Yes, not a back up, but a copy to rollback to, in case. Do I need to upgrade the BIOS before upgrading the RAM and/or CPU? If yes, then of course I will. If not, well, maybe I'm lazier than I originally thought.

Thanks.


Nice try, but it won't accept the upper-end CPUs or RAM without it! :D
$0.02+a grain of salt...

DarkReader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby DarkReader » Tue May 23, 2017 6:05 pm

Arch_Enemy wrote:Nice try, but it won't accept the upper-end CPUs or RAM without it! :D

Got it. Thanks. My next post about upgrading BIOS coming up in 3, 2, 1 ... :lol:

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Wed May 24, 2017 5:01 am

DarkReader wrote:
Arch_Enemy wrote:Nice try, but it won't accept the upper-end CPUs or RAM without it! :D

Got it. Thanks. My next post about upgrading BIOS coming up in 3, 2, 1 ... :lol:



Uh oh...that was almost 12 hours ago...:(
$0.02+a grain of salt...

DarkReader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby DarkReader » Fri May 26, 2017 3:05 pm

Arch_Enemy wrote:Uh oh...that was almost 12 hours ago...:(

Sorry, out of town guests, life, etc. I've been reading up on the steps to upgrade the BIOS and trying to understand before I start. I'll close this post and, if I run into trouble, will start again with a different question. I really appreciate all your help, Arch_Enemy. With any luck, you won't have to bail me out again.

User avatar
Arch_Enemy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 528
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:28 pm

Re: Optiplex GX270 Very Slow

Postby Arch_Enemy » Fri May 26, 2017 3:35 pm

DarkReader wrote:
Arch_Enemy wrote:Uh oh...that was almost 12 hours ago...:(

Sorry, out of town guests, life, etc. I've been reading up on the steps to upgrade the BIOS and trying to understand before I start. I'll close this post and, if I run into trouble, will start again with a different question. I really appreciate all your help, Arch_Enemy. With any luck, you won't have to bail me out again.



Well, if you do need help, I'll be here. I was beginning to worry! It's rare that a BIOS upgrade fails on a Dell, and often when it does the process senses it and halts the upgrade and reinstalls the original BIOS. There have been failures, however few and far between. Just make sure your power is good!

Good luck!
$0.02+a grain of salt...


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dirkoir, Google Feedfetcher, kmafsar, SeeYou2410 and 14 guests