How To Have Latest KDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:36 am

Hi Everyone,

I am new to linux world and loving KDE and mint so far. Can i have have the latest kde using some repo or any other way. I am using Serena 18.1 KDE. I have tried to following but no success. I already have kubuntu backports (But They dont offer latest one i guess)

$ sudo apt-add-repository http://archive.neon.kde.org/user
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install neon-desktop

User avatar
phd21
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by phd21 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:04 pm

Hi "samihassan",

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Mint and its excellent forum !

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

I would have a good backup before trying to force a major desktop upgrade into your current Linux Mint system. When the Linux Mint / Kubuntu people have this newer KDE Plasma update available, then anyone can update to it through your Mint Update Manager...

Upgrade/Install Latest KDE Plasma 5.x in Kubuntu 16.10/16.04/Ubuntu 16.10 Yakkety/16.04 Xenial
http://www.noobslab.com/2017/02/upgrade ... 5x-in.html

KDE Plasma 5.10 Released, This Is What’s New, May 30, 2017
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2017/05/kde- ... 0-features

KDE Plasma 5.10 Puts Folders on Linux Desktop, Improves Search, June 02, 2017
http://www.eweek.com/enterprise-apps/kd ... ves-search

KDE - Release Announcements - Plasma 5.10.0
https://www.kde.org/announcements/plasma-5.10.0.php

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2755
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by MintBean » Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:18 pm

Why not use the distro focussed on providing the most up-to-date KDE experience out of the box?
https://neon.kde.org/

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1316
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by mr_raider » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:12 pm

Here are all the kubuntu PPAs:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Repositories/Kubuntu


Now go break your desktop environment!
Image

Hoser Rob
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:20 pm

mr_raider wrote:... Now go break your desktop environment!
That's about it ... one of the things about Linux is that you're always trying to strike a balance between stability and having new verisons of software. And to be honest, this is because backwards and forwards compatibility don't work very well.

Mint (and other LTS distros) are made for stability. But you don't get the newest versions of most software. If you install a rolling release distro like Arch you will get the newest versions of everything but you can expect updates to break things, and since these distros are aimed at the more expert, you won't get that much help to fix it.

So I'd say IF you have a spare computer you don't need, go for it.

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:58 am

Thank you very much for your kind replies. Attached is the result for the command. If i move to NEON distro i have to reinstall everything which obviously i dont want. Just curious whether is it possible to add neon repo. At the moment i cannot do that as it says this repo doesn't support Xenial

Code: Select all

System:    Host: sami-H67M-D2-B3 Kernel: 4.4.0-79-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 (Qt 5.6.1) Distro: Linux Mint 18.1 Serena
Machine:   Mobo: Gigabyte model: H67M-D2-B3 v: x.x Bios: Award v: F5 date: 10/24/2011
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-2500 (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 26339
           clock speeds: max: 3700 MHz 1: 1657 MHz 2: 1697 MHz 3: 1606 MHz 4: 1695 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF114 [GeForce GTX 560] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1280x1024@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVCE GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA GF114 HDMI Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-79-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: ee00 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (28.9% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST1000DM003 size: 1000.2GB
           Optical: /dev/sr0 model: HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NS70 rev: GN01 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
           Features: speed: 48x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition: ID-1: / size: 184G used: 22G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 725G used: 239G (35%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 10.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 202 Uptime: 3:50 Memory: 4196.7/7966.6MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
Last edited by Moem on Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Adding code tags [</>]. They retain some formatting that makes your output easier to read.

User avatar
phd21
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by phd21 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:18 am

Hi "samihassan",

As I and others have already stated, forcing the newer KDE Plasma 5 into your current Linux Mint system is not a good idea, and may not give you the most current version right away. According to the links I already gave you, if you still want to try this, it requires installing the "kubuntu-desktop" not "Neon".

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop
From the results of the "inxi -Fxzd" terminal command, it looks like you are not using the Nvidia video drivers which would work better in most instances, see below.
samihassan wrote: Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF114 [GeForce GTX 560] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1280x1024@60.02hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVCE GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 12.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
NVIDIA: how to install the latest video card drivers
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/12

To install the Nvidia driver for your video card using this PPA method, open a console terminal, type in, or copy & paste, each line below one by one, then restart your computer:

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:graphics-drivers/ppa

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install nvidia-375

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:29 am

Thanks all for the answers but thats not what i am looking for..... Latest KDE how can i have that in Linux Mint is the question ......

User avatar
phd21
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by phd21 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:42 am

Hi "samihassan",

You are welcome, and I already answered that in my last post first paragraph; install "kubuntu-desktop" is what the link said to do.
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.3, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:41 am

Thanks , I will stick to stability then :)...

mr_raider
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1316
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:50 am
Location: Montreal, QC

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by mr_raider » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:17 am

samihassan wrote:Thanks , I will stick to stability then :)...
Try out KDE NEON in a virtualbox machine if you like. KDE 5.10 is pretty slick. I doubt we will see in the Mint 18 series, since KDE 5.8.x is the LTS support KDE version. Note that Mint KDE already has the kubuntu backports PPA enabled by default, so you are still getting a newer version of KDE than when 16.04 shipped originally.
Image

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:52 am

mr_raider wrote:
samihassan wrote:Thanks , I will stick to stability then :)...
Try out KDE NEON in a virtualbox machine if you like. KDE 5.10 is pretty slick. I doubt we will see in the Mint 18 series, since KDE 5.8.x is the LTS support KDE version. Note that Mint KDE already has the kubuntu backports PPA enabled by default, so you are still getting a newer version of KDE than when 16.04 shipped originally.
Yes thats what i was thinking. I will try kde neon for sure thats exactly what i am looking for.

cipricus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:23 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by cipricus » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:50 am

So, there is no way of upgrading Plasma 5 to latest or 5.12 LTS on a 16.04-based system like Mint 18?

https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... t-18-3-kde

Mint 18.3 has already the kubuntu-ppa/backports PPA enabled but this doesn't go above 5.8. Neon PPA brings the very latest Plasma - but I cannot add that repository:

Code: Select all

~ $ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:project-neon/ppa
[sudo] password for cip: 
'This PPA does not support xenial'
Cannot add PPA: ''This PPA does not support xenial''.
That's odd, as Neon is based on Xenial, just like Mint 18.

The same with kubuntu/beta:

Code: Select all

~ $ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kubuntu-ppa/beta
'This PPA does not support xenial'
Cannot add PPA: ''This PPA does not support xenial''.
What worked was ppa:kubuntu-ppa/staging-plasma, but it has provided only an upgrade from 5.8.8 to Plasma 5.8.9.
Last edited by cipricus on Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:52 am

cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:50 am
So, there is no way of upgrading Plasma 5 to latest or 5.12 LTS on a 16.04-based system like Mint 18?
Nopes :)

cipricus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:23 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by cipricus » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:06 am

samihassan wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:52 am
cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:50 am
So, there is no way of upgrading Plasma 5 to latest or 5.12 LTS on a 16.04-based system like Mint 18?
Nopes :)
Could you elaborate on "why" a bit here or under my stackexchange question?

That Xenial is stuck to 5.8 is very odd given that Neon itself is based on Xenial.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4905
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by catweazel » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:08 am

cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:06 am
samihassan wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:52 am
cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:50 am
So, there is no way of upgrading Plasma 5 to latest or 5.12 LTS on a 16.04-based system like Mint 18?
Nopes :)
Could you elaborate on "why" a bit here or under my stackexchange question?

That Xenial is stuck to 5.8 is very odd given that Neon itself is based on Xenial.
It isn't odd, and the reasons are clearly described above.
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

cipricus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:23 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by cipricus » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:22 am

catweazel wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:08 am
cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:06 am
samihassan wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 3:52 am


Nopes :)
Could you elaborate on "why" a bit here or under my stackexchange question?

That Xenial is stuck to 5.8 is very odd given that Neon itself is based on Xenial.
It isn't odd, and the reasons are clearly described above.
Do you mean stability reasons? I am ready to take those risks, Neon itself does that, and I do not find any technical reasons posted above on why Neon works on Xenial with latest Plasma but other Xenial-based systems cannot. Or they can, but simply there is no ppa for them? As far as I know Neon does not change anything in the ubuntu base, but makes latest Plasma available on a Xenial base (https://neon.kde.org/faq). Why then cannot I add that ppa in Xenial-based Mint 18.3?

I simply find odd that the neon ppa says ''This PPA does not support xenial''.

In fact what I want is to go from one LTS version of Plasma to the next (5.12). I know 5.12 is present on Ubuntu with later versions than Xenial, but Neon makes me think that is not a must.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4905
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by catweazel » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:38 am

cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:22 am
I know 5.12 is present on Ubuntu with later versions than Xenial

Code: Select all

boot@AX370:~$ plasmashell -v
plasmashell 5.10.5
boot@AX370:~$ neofetch
            .-/+oossssoo+/-.               boot@AX370
        `:+ssssssssssssssssss+:`           ----------
      -+ssssssssssssssssssyyssss+-         OS: Ubuntu 17.10 x86_64
...
I simply find odd that the neon ppa says ''This PPA does not support xenial''.
While Neon is based on Ubuntu LTS, it is almost completely stripped out so that it no longer resembles LTS proper. If you added the Neon PPA I have no doubt that you will wind up with unresolvable dependency issues hence that is more than likely why...

Code: Select all

the neon ppa says ''This PPA does not support xenial''.[/quote]
See this. Enjoy your b0rked installation.
Last edited by catweazel on Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:47 am, edited 5 times in total.
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

samihassan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:27 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by samihassan » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:40 am

I was unable to add that ppa as well. Ultimately had to switch to kde Neon.

cipricus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:23 am

Re: How To Have Latest KDE

Post by cipricus » Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:53 am

catweazel wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:38 am
cipricus wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:22 am
I know 5.12 is present on Ubuntu with later versions than Xenial

Code: Select all

boot@AX370:~$ plasmashell -v
plasmashell 5.10.5
boot@AX370:~$ neofetch
            .-/+oossssoo+/-.               boot@AX370
        `:+ssssssssssssssssss+:`           ----------
      -+ssssssssssssssssssyyssss+-         OS: Ubuntu 17.10 x86_64
...
I don't get exactly what the above means beside re-stating the risks of bugs and failures in using a latest release.

Does that mean that 5.12 requires a later ubuntu-base than Xenial? No. Neon proves that is not the case.

Does it mean that Neon is not Xenial in fact? -- But Neon is presented only as a repository, not even as a separate system. It comes without a lot of programs compared to Mint KDE or Kubuntu but those are not part of the Xenial base anyway. It is meant to use only LTS-ubuntu-base - https://neon.kde.org/faq#non-lts-releases - and it will go to 18.04 as soon as that is released I guess, but for a long time it was and still is Xenial-based. - In what way has Neon modified the Xenial base itself?

Does it mean Artful (17.10) cannot support Plasma 12? No. http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... ntu-17-10/.

If you have an answer to my question please post also under https://unix.stackexchange.com/q/428618/32012
Last edited by cipricus on Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:09 am, edited 5 times in total.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”