SOLVED: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

SOLVED: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by Pepi »

I've got an Atomic Amplifire guitar effects unit that the editor will run in Linux via WINE. Problem is ... The unit will not attach via the USB port :(

When plugged in the device will create a file in the /dev folder called hidraw6 with only ROOT permissions. I did a Chmod on the file and opened it all the way up ...didn't work. Once you unplug the device this file is GONE.

I tried starting up the WINE usb buss with the below error. I also messed about with the WINE configuration and it appear to make no difference? I tried adding a drive mounted to /dev/hidraw6 also. I know this device will work because there are others using them in Linux. I've followed all there advice and mine will not connect. In a VM window the device uses OHCI to communicate.

pepi@pepi-HP-Z600-Workstation ~ $ wine net start winebus
The Platform Bus Kernel service is starting.
The Platform Bus Kernel service was started successfully.
err:winedevice:ServiceMain driver L"WineBus" failed to load


pepi@pepi-HP-Z600-Workstation ~ $ dmesg | grep -i atomic
[ 40.405253] usb 6-1: Manufacturer: Atomic Amps
[ 40.413585] hid-generic 0003:04D8:003F.0009: hiddev0,hidraw6: USB HID v1.11 Device [Atomic Amps AmpliFire] on usb-0000:00:1d.0-1/input0
Last edited by Pepi on Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by phd21 »

Hi "Pepi",

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt with the device plugged in, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information. Need ot know if Linux recognizes the device.

You can install Virtualbox with a version of MS Windows in that to use this while still in Linux , if you cannot get it working in Linux without using VB.

Read this:
http://atomicamps.com/forum/index.php?t ... ditor.259/

planet.linuxaudio.org
http://planet.linuxaudio.org/

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Xfce) & KDE Neon 64-bit Awesome OS's, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, 256gb SDD, only Intel 4 Graphics. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
CaptainKirksChair
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 423
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by CaptainKirksChair »

Pepi wrote:When plugged in the device will create a file in the /dev folder called hidraw6 with only ROOT permissions.
You can search for hidraw6 under the following folder: /sys/devices/ -- The device information is stored there.

This tells me you have 7 Human Interface Devices on your computer. I only have the one, hidraw0. I do not know much more about it but you can check what other people have in their /sys/devices/ folder for their amplifier device. See if yours matches.

You can also try this link.

User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by Pepi »

phd21 wrote:Hi "Pepi",

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt with the device plugged in, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information. Need ot know if Linux recognizes the device.

You can install Virtualbox with a version of MS Windows in that to use this while still in Linux , if you cannot get it working in Linux without using VB.

Read this:
http://atomicamps.com/forum/index.php?t ... ditor.259/

planet.linuxaudio.org
http://planet.linuxaudio.org/

Hope this helps ...
Sorry :oops: I forgot that LOL

Code: Select all

pepi@pepi-HP-Z600-Workstation ~ $ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 002: ID 049f:0051 Compaq Computer Corp. KU-0133 Easy Access Interner Keyboard
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 002: ID 046d:c517 Logitech, Inc. LX710 Cordless Desktop Laser
Bus 006 Device 004: ID 04d8:003f Microchip Technology, Inc. 
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bc2:2101 Seagate RSS LLC 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

Code: Select all

pepi@pepi-HP-Z600-Workstation ~ $ inxi -Fxzd
System:    Host: pepi-HP-Z600-Workstation Kernel: 4.10.0-40-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3) Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Z600 Workstation
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 0AE8h v: C
           Bios: Hewlett-Packard v: 786G4 v03.21 date: 08/24/2011
CPU:       Quad core Intel Xeon E5540 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 20215
           clock speeds: max: 2528 MHz 1: 1862 MHz 2: 1596 MHz 3: 1596 MHz 4: 1596 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G94GL [Quadro FX 1800] bus-ID: 0f:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1680x1050@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV94 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-40-generic
Network:   Card: Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5764M Gigabit Ethernet PCIe
           driver: tg3 v: 3.137 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2262.5GB (3.9% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST500DM002 size: 500.1GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST3500418AS size: 500.1GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: Samsung_SSD_840 size: 256.1GB
           ID-4: /dev/sdd model: Samsung_SSD_850 size: 256.1GB
           ID-5: USB /dev/sde model: FreeAgent_Go size: 750.2GB
           Optical: /dev/sr0 model: hp CDDVDW TS-H653R rev: 0E00 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
           Features: speed: 40x multisession: yes
           audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition: ID-1: / size: 229G used: 48G (22%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdd1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 6.42GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdd5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 38.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 50.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 211 Uptime: 1:50 Memory: 953.6/5945.4MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0 Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by Pepi »

CaptainKirksChair wrote:
Pepi wrote:When plugged in the device will create a file in the /dev folder called hidraw6 with only ROOT permissions.
You can search for hidraw6 under the following folder: /sys/devices/ -- The device information is stored there.

This tells me you have 7 Human Interface Devices on your computer. I only have the one, hidraw0. I do not know much more about it but you can check what other people have in their /sys/devices/ folder for their amplifier device. See if yours matches.

You can also try this link.
YEP it does appear in this area ...

DRIVER=hid-generic
HID_ID=0003:000004D8:0000003F
HID_NAME=Atomic Amps AmpliFire
HID_PHYS=usb-0000:00:1d.0-1/input0
HID_UNIQ=
MODALIAS=hid:b0003g0001v000004D8p0000003F

User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by Pepi »

phd21 wrote:Hi "Pepi",

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt with the device plugged in, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information. Need ot know if Linux recognizes the device.

You can install Virtualbox with a version of MS Windows in that to use this while still in Linux , if you cannot get it working in Linux without using VB.

Read this:
http://atomicamps.com/forum/index.php?t ... ditor.259/

planet.linuxaudio.org
http://planet.linuxaudio.org/

Hope this helps ...
Your link to atomicamps.com is the one I was using and I still don't have any luck. I also have the device running in a VirtualBox and it run fine. Just hate going back and forth LOL

User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by Pepi »

Worked with this a couple hours last night ... I give up. Looks like VirtualBox is my only choice :(

User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 932
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by Pepi »

Doing this fixed the problem. I had to update the WINE registry so WINBUS would start up. My device now works in LINUX 18.3 :mrgreen:

System\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\WineBus] "Start"=dword:00000002

User avatar
phd21
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by phd21 »

Hi "Pepi",

That's good news, nicely done ...

FYI: You can create a desktop shortcut to a Virtualbox MS Windows machine and still run that while still in Linux Mint which is basically like switching between applications.
Phd21: Mint 19.2 Cinnamon & xKDE (Xfce) & KDE Neon 64-bit Awesome OS's, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram, 256gb SDD, only Intel 4 Graphics. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

pacharanero
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: SOLVED: Anyone good at getting USB device to work (non-storage)

Post by pacharanero »

Hi, I'm struggling with the same issue here, on Mint 19 (fresh install). I had also been trying to do same thing with Mint 18.3 a few weeks ago, with transient success.

I even posted to the Atomic Amps thread mentioned above http://atomicamps.com/forum/index.php?t ... ditor.259/ to say I'd been successful, but haven't been able to make it work for some weeks. None of the udev rules worked for me.

my setup:

Code: Select all

╰─$ inxi -Fxzd
System:    Host: marcus-xps15 Kernel: 4.15.0-24-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.7 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Dell product: XPS 15 9560 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Dell model: 05FFDN v: A00 serial: N/A UEFI: Dell v: 1.9.4 date: 04/23/2018
Battery    BAT0: charge: 53.4 Wh 63.8% condition: 83.6/97.0 Wh (86%) model: SMP DELL GPM0365 status: Charging
           hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
           model: Logitech Wireless Mouse MX Anywhere 2 status: Discharging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-MT-MCP-) arch: Skylake rev.9 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22464
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 3488 MHz 2: 3498 MHz 3: 3409 MHz 4: 3544 MHz 5: 3715 MHz 6: 3572 MHz
           7: 3533 MHz 8: 3555 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Mobile] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting,nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@59.93hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 630 (Kaby Lake GT2)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.0-rc5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel CM238 HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-24-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath10k_pci bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Atheros usb-ID: 001-003
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1024.2GB (31.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: SAMSUNG_MZVKW1T0HMLH size: 1024.2GB
           Optical: No optical drives detected.
Partition: ID-1: / size: 885G used: 267G (32%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1
           ID-2: /boot size: 705M used: 148M (23%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 34.20GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 59.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 345 Uptime: 2:09 Memory: 10002.9/32017.2MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (zsh 5.4.2) inxi: 2.3.56 
The Amplifire is the "Microchip Technology Inc" device.

Code: Select all

╰─$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0cf3:e300 Atheros Communications, Inc. 
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 04d8:003f Microchip Technology, Inc. 
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0c45:6713 Microdia 
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
it's on hidraw4:

Code: Select all

╰─$ dmesg | grep -i atomic                                                                                        1 ↵
[ 7982.094909] usb 1-2: Manufacturer: Atomic Amps
[ 7982.133138] hid-generic 0003:04D8:003F.0007: hiddev1,hidraw4: USB HID v1.11 Device [Atomic Amps AmpliFire] on usb-0000:00:14.0-2/input0
[ 8237.238706] usb 1-2: Manufacturer: Atomic Amps
[ 8237.241515] hid-generic 0003:04D8:003F.0008: hiddev1,hidraw4: USB HID v1.11 Device [Atomic Amps AmpliFire] on usb-0000:00:14.0-2/input0
[ 8751.660716] hid-generic 0003:04D8:003F.0009: hiddev1,hidraw4: USB HID v1.11 Device [Atomic Amps AmpliFire] on usb-0000:00:14.0-2/input0
initially the hidraw4 device is not readable/writable by my user

Code: Select all

╰─$ ll /dev/hidraw*
crw------- 1 root root 244, 0 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw0
crw------- 1 root root 244, 1 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw1
crw------- 1 root root 244, 2 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw2
crw------- 1 root root 244, 3 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw3
crw------- 1 root root 244, 4 Jul  9 10:16 /dev/hidraw4
After running sudo chmod 666 /dev/hidraw4 is it now read/writable by all users

Code: Select all

╰─$ ll /dev/hidraw*            
crw------- 1 root root 244, 0 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw0
crw------- 1 root root 244, 1 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw1
crw------- 1 root root 244, 2 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw2
crw------- 1 root root 244, 3 Jul  9 07:51 /dev/hidraw3
crw-rw-rw- 1 root root 244, 4 Jul  9 10:16 /dev/hidraw4
In Wine I have checked the Registry setting and the Wine Bus is set to run automatically. Using the commands I found on https://wiki.winehq.org/Hid I can check that the Wine Bus is running, and it is.

Ensuring the wine bus is running, I am using Wine staging although have tried with Wine stable as well and get same problem.

Code: Select all

╰─$ wine cmd
000b:fixme:winediag:start_process Wine Staging 3.11 is a testing version containing experimental patches.
000b:fixme:winediag:start_process Please mention your exact version when filing bug reports on winehq.org.
Microsoft Windows 6.1.7601 (3.11)

Z:\home\marcus>net start winebus
The Platform Bus Kernel service is starting.
Service already running.
listing running processes grepping for wine:

Code: Select all

╰─$  ps -aux | grep wine                                                                                          1 ↵
marcus   13404  0.9  0.0  33456 16240 ?        Ss   10:45   0:01 /opt/wine-staging/bin/wineserver
marcus   13427  0.0  0.0 2124408 8316 ?        Sl   10:45   0:00 C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe
marcus   13443  0.2  0.0 2204328 13816 ?       Sl   10:45   0:00 C:\windows\system32\winedevice.exe
So Wine is running as my user, and that user should be able to see the Amplifire device

Weirdly, I *did* get it working briefly on Mint 18.3 by changing the access restrictions on hidraw4 using chmod 666 hidraw4, but now I just can't get it running again. I did update the firmware on the Amplifire sometime around the time it stopped working, but I can communicate with the pedal fine using a Win 10 VM. I re-updated the device just in case there was some kind of firmware update error the last time.

So, in summary:
The device clearly registers itself as a USB device in Linux and I can set the permissions to something that Wine (running as user marcus) should be able to see. The AmplifireEditor.exe package appears to run fine in Wine stable or staging, but cannot connect to the Amplifire device, although clearly some people have managed it so it must be possible. It's almost certain there's a simple solution, probably to do woth permissions or something.

I'm not sure what's the next step in debugging the connection here. Feels like it is close though. Any suggestions welcome.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”