Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
danielson
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:19 pm
Location: AR

Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by danielson » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:22 pm

Just curious!

Haven't tried it in a while and if some faithful user can corroborate this or not, it would be appreciated.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22623
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by xenopeek » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:34 pm

Flatpak can be installed from the Jessie backports repository. See Debian howto: https://wiki.debian.org/FlatpakHowto. That would be command-line only as Software Manager on LMDE 2 does not support Flatpak, like Software Manager does on Linux Mint 18.3.

Snap does not appear to be available on LMDE 2 through the Debian repositories.

Both Flatpak and Snap will be easily installable on LMDE 3. Whether Software Manager on LMDE 3 will also support Flatpak like it will do on Linux Mint 19 I don't know yet.
Image

danielson
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:19 pm
Location: AR

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by danielson » Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:47 pm

Thank you the tip Xenopeek.
If i need help with the command line, i'll make a post here.
Seems like Flatpak is the way to go and it can only be a huge plus for LMDE.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22623
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by xenopeek » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:16 am

It looks like LMDE 3's Software Manager will indeed support Flatpak out of the box.
Image

danielson
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:19 pm
Location: AR

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by danielson » Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:43 pm

Yay! :D

Snap maybe too?
Surprised there is no mention of either in Clem's monthly letter.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22623
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by xenopeek » Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:10 am

Doesn't look like snap support is in the cards.
Image

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by sdibaja » Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:20 am

xenopeek wrote:
Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:10 am
Doesn't look like snap support is in the cards.
Not a snap user, but very curious. (snapd is in the stretch repos "Tool to interact with Ubuntu Core Snappy.")

is this relevant?
"Unity is even discontinued by Canonical... though now there's a project to make indicators available on other distros, without dependencies on Unity stuff.
https://ayatanaindicators.github.io/about/
https://github.com/AyatanaIndicators"
(source https://github.com/mate-desktop/mate-pa ... -406802398)

thanks

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22623
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Does LMDE support Flatpak and Snap?

Post by xenopeek » Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:16 pm

Sorry, to clarify, I mean as in it's unlikely to be supported in Software Manager on LMDE 3. What you can do on command line to possibly installs snaps that way is something other.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”