[SOLVED]After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
mccfrank
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Montreal

[SOLVED]After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by mccfrank » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:12 pm

Just upgrading Mint to 18.3 on my 64 bit 4 core Thinkcentre computer.
Now the cpu load on all 4 cores is 25-30% !!!

Code: Select all

frank@ThinkCentre ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: ThinkCentre Kernel: 4.8.0-58-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9) Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   Device: desktop System: LENOVO product: 5536E2F v: ThinkCentre M90p
           Mobo: LENOVO model: N/A BIOS: LENOVO v: 5JKT47AUS date: 07/13/2010
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5 660 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 13300
           clock speeds: max: 3326 MHz 1: 2394 MHz 2: 2394 MHz 3: 2527 MHz 4: 2394 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Desktop GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 17.2.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.8.0-58-generic
Network:   Card: Intel 82578DM Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f040 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (2.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HITACHI_HUA72105 size: 500.1GB temp: 51C
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: 8AS size: 500.1GB temp: 0C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 113G used: 6.8G (7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 3.95GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 76.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 187 Uptime: 36 min Memory: 880.0/3625.8MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.3.8 
frank@ThinkCentre ~ $ 
Anybody have any suggestions?? My cpus are running at 165 degrees!!!
Last edited by mccfrank on Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by absque fenestris » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:31 pm

Something is quite wrong with your machine. My weak Atom needs about 15% CPU with Vivaldi running on Mate and the temperature is 48° C.

Maybe try Kernel 4.13.xx or 4.4.xx?
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)

mccfrank
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by mccfrank » Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:54 pm

absque fenestris wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:31 pm
the temperature is 48° C.

Maybe try Kernel 4.13.xx or 4.4.xx?
I will give it a shot although I suspect something bigger isat work here. Previous Mint was maxing out all cores at 1% with temps running 38-40 Celsius.

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by absque fenestris » Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:23 pm

Which was your previous Mint?
Very, very carefully asked: Did you happen to load one or more flatpak or snap programs - maybe you could run funny updates or something in the background?
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)

mccfrank
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by mccfrank » Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:38 pm

absque fenestris wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:23 pm
Which was your previous Mint?
Very, very carefully asked: Did you happen to load one or more flatpak or snap programs - maybe you could run funny updates or something in the background?
Previous Mint? The one before 18.3
No flatpak or snap programs, nothing unusual at all.

I may go back to the previous version ( reinstall). At least that worked
without problems. Or maybe I will install 18.3 from scratch.

User avatar
Moem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5894
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by Moem » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:40 am

mccfrank wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:38 pm
Previous Mint? The one before 18.3
So, 18.2?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4969
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by administrollaattori » Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:56 am

Command top tells the reason.

mccfrank
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by mccfrank » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:13 am

Moem wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:40 am
mccfrank wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:38 pm
Previous Mint? The one before 18.3
So, 18.2?
Yes I guess, not big on version numbers :)

mccfrank
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Montreal

[SOLVED] Re: After upgrade to 18.3, cpu load is heavy

Post by mccfrank » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:20 am

administrollaattori wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:56 am
Command top tells the reason.
You put me on the right track with this comment.

I ran HTOP this morning, but besides telling me a lot of prpcesses
were taking up a lot of cpu time there was nothing there.

But then I took a look at the startup applications and discovered
that for some reason the window manager Marco was listed in
there. I assume that should be part of the session start, so I removed
it. Bingo! CPU usage down to normal. Can't understand why Marco
was there but it may be related to a problem I had with Mate 6-8 months ago
when the window manager wasn't starting.
Anyway I will mark this SOLVED. Thanks for all input.

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”