(Solved) Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
SocksChaser
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:43 pm

(Solved) Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by SocksChaser »

Well... hi?

Today I bought my first graphic tablet, Wacom Intuos S. Wacom drivers were installed from the start. Sadly, my tablet doesn't work. When I plug-in the tablet nothing happens, only small white light on the tablet starts to shine. Pen won't work, the cursor is not moving. I tried some commands in terminal and it shows that my computer sees it (dmesg | grep -i wacom), but the tablet is just not working.

I really don't know what to do. I'm not an advanced Linux user so I can't do much. I searched for informations and no one have problems with this model, people have Draw, Comic, but not Intuos S. futhermore, I can't see lot's of information about this model. I mean... it's original Wacom tablet. It just looks like it's some kind of new model. There is year 2018 on the box, I found some online shop and there was 2018 too. So, I think I just have to wait but... how long? There was once a list of tablets that The Linux Wacom Project is going to support, but now I can't find it.

So... it's my problem. Is there any solution? Do I have to wait? If yes, how long? Is there some list of tablets that are waiting for support? Can I do something about it? I'm still a beginner in some things. I prefer to install things using Software Manager, I use terminal only when I have to, so I don't know how to do more "serious" things using Linux. It really pissed me off, I just feel like I threw my money away...
Last edited by SocksChaser on Sat Jun 30, 2018 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pdc_2
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2424
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 am

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by pdc_2 »

sorry to hear of your problems; we have a Wacom Intuos CTH-680 with Mint 18 and it just sort of has always worked when plugged in;

Mate as a DE does not have a graphics tablet config icon; Cinnamon does;

whilst I have a look over the next little while; have a hunt down on Wacom posts in the last couple of weeks: I made some comments to someone there; I seem to remember there was a github forum for wacom;

so this is usb-connected? What does

Code: Select all

lsusb
give please in a terminal; and have a look at the digimed website as they list what is compatible; but I don't wacom is listed at all there but maybe I didn't read it right;

also google on
ubuntu wacom intuos s
and
arch wacom intuos s
and see if you get anything useful; I will attempt to follow up in a couple of days
>>>>>>>>>>

here is the arch wiki https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/wacom_tablet

and if you add SOLVED to the search you get things like this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=218445

>>>>>>>>>..
can you better identify the model eg would this be it? https://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker ... ing-tablet
SocksChaser
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:43 pm

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by SocksChaser »

pdc_2 wrote:
Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:08 pm
sorry to hear of your problems; we have a Wacom Intuos CTH-680 with Mint 18 and it just sort of has always worked when plugged in;

Mate as a DE does not have a graphics tablet config icon; Cinnamon does;

whilst I have a look over the next little while; have a hunt down on Wacom posts in the last couple of weeks: I made some comments to someone there; I seem to remember there was a github forum for wacom;

so this is usb-connected? What does

Code: Select all

lsusb
give please in a terminal; and have a look at the digimed website as they list what is compatible; but I don't wacom is listed at all there but maybe I didn't read it right;

also google on
ubuntu wacom intuos s
and
arch wacom intuos s
and see if you get anything useful; I will attempt to follow up in a couple of days
>>>>>>>>>>

here is the arch wiki https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/wacom_tablet

and if you add SOLVED to the search you get things like this https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=218445

>>>>>>>>>..
can you better identify the model eg would this be it? https://www.theverge.com/circuitbreaker ... ing-tablet
Thanks for the reply.

Well, I have MATE. At first I thought there is just some cosmetic differences between MATE and, for example, Cinnamon, but now I think... maybe Cinnamon would be better? But I really don't like changes.

So... lsusb shows me connected devices like optical mouse. Wacom is here as "Bus 001 Device 008: ID 056a:0374 Wacom Co., Ltd". As I said, I think my computer "knows" the tablet is plugged, but just... well, doesn't know what to do with it, so nothing happens.

Also, I searched a little. Unfortunately, there is no information about this tablet. I can find people who have problems with Intuos Comic, Intuos Draw, but never Intuos S. I think I can say that I'm the first person who raised the Intuos S subject.

I have this model: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-ZYte_UOVM

It's model from 2018, so I think there is no drivers at this time. I found one topic where someone had problems with Intuos Draw. The only solution was time. The Linux Wacom Project just did not maked drivers for Intuos Draw, and it was in schedule. At this time Linux Wacom Project had other website or something, link to the list of supported tablets and tablets in schedule doesn't work now and it says "Linux Wacom Project moved" or something like this. I can wait, but how long?

I think it's the most likely reason why my tablet won't work. I think I can try installing xf86-input-wacom, but... well, I'm still someone new in all this, and I'm a little scared that I will broke something. What do you think? It can be a problem? I have Wacom drivers installed in Software Manager so I think there should be no problem here, because... I have everything I need, so...?

And well... I think it would be better to just try other tablet. I can buy Wacom One. I don't really like the look of it, I was focused on Intuos S, and it's a little sad when I think about it. But many people say that Wacom One just... works. You just plug-in the tablet and it works. But still, I would like Intuos S more. It's hard decision.
User avatar
thx-1138
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by thx-1138 »

...your tablet => 0.39 minimum required...

On Xenial / Mint 18 => 0.32...
On Xenial HWE => 0.34...
On Bionic / Mint 19 => 0.36...

...is at least Bionic first HWE revision (if & when it gets released) gonna come with 0.39? No idea.

All in all, your best bet to get that tablet working in a reasonable timeframe, would be to compile & install input-wacom:
Running ./configure, then make, built the modules cleanly here. However:
Upgrading both the kernel driver and the X driver to the same version is recommended.
Please see the instructions for updating the xf86-input-wacom driver.
Messing around with Xorg unless being very experienced is generally a pretty bad idea, so i didn't test that.
Plus, I don't even have a Wacom tablet myself to actually test such...
Theoritically though, most likely such won't be needed for basic support / recognition.

I've included the input-wacom modules in the attachment below for the sake of easiness (they're built for kernels 4.5>).
insmod, rmmod & modprobe are your friends from here on.
Still, i'd recommend building them in your own system for maximum compatibility, then make install.

If for some reason you find out that you further need to built xorg-input-wacom as well though,
i'd certainly recommend doing so such under a VirtualBox machine to have your peace of mind (ie. that X won't break etc.)

Good luck.
input-wacom-0.39.zip
(46.27 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
SocksChaser
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:43 pm

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by SocksChaser »

thx-1138 wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:01 am
...your tablet => 0.39 minimum required...

On Xenial / Mint 18 => 0.32...
On Xenial HWE => 0.34...
On Bionic / Mint 19 => 0.36...

...is at least Bionic first HWE revision (if & when it gets released) gonna come with 0.39? No idea.

All in all, your best bet to get that tablet working in a reasonable timeframe, would be to compile & install input-wacom:
Running ./configure, then make, built the modules cleanly here. However:
Upgrading both the kernel driver and the X driver to the same version is recommended.
Please see the instructions for updating the xf86-input-wacom driver.
Messing around with Xorg unless being very experienced is generally a pretty bad idea, so i didn't test that.
Plus, I don't even have a Wacom tablet myself to actually test such...
Theoritically though, most likely such won't be needed for basic support / recognition.

I've included the input-wacom modules in the attachment below for the sake of easiness (they're built for kernels 4.5>).
insmod, rmmod & modprobe are your friends from here on.
Still, i'd recommend building them in your own system for maximum compatibility, then make install.

If for some reason you find out that you further need to built xorg-input-wacom as well though,
i'd certainly recommend doing so such under a VirtualBox machine to have your peace of mind (ie. that X won't break etc.)

Good luck.
input-wacom-0.39.zip
So... if I understand correctly, my tablet requires 0.39, while on Linux Mint 18 (My version) the "default" version is 0.32? So, the 0.39 version will be for my OS in the future in, let's say, Linux Mint 20 or something?

And Im not so sure about compiling this... I'm really new in such things.

I was searching on Youtube for some informations and I found this movie: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3C6OwjOJxI

Will it help? This guy has exacly the same model that I have. What do you think? Is there can be some problems?
User avatar
thx-1138
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by thx-1138 »

...the guy in the video tutorial first adds the following PPA, but then manually compiles & installs the input-wacom driver.
That PPA is not meant for Xenial / Mint 18, but for older releases like Trusty etc (Latest updates: 135 weeks ago), so why he did so, no idea...

Step-by-step:
1) Back up your data & make a Timeshift snapshot in any case...
2) Download input-wacom 0.39.
3) Select it, right-click, 'Extract Here'.
4) Select the 'input-wacom-input-wacom-0.39.0' folder, right-click, 'Open In Terminal'.
5) Type ./configure, press enter. After this finishes (few secs more or less), type make, press enter again.
6) Assuming no built errors occured, type make install. To keep things simple, a reboot before trying it out is recommended.
SocksChaser
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2018 4:43 pm

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by SocksChaser »

thx-1138 wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 11:25 am
...the guy in the video tutorial first adds the following PPA, but then manually compiles & installs the input-wacom driver.
That PPA is not meant for Xenial / Mint 18, but for older releases like Trusty etc (Latest updates: 135 weeks ago), so why he did so, no idea...

Step-by-step:
1) Back up your data & make a Timeshift snapshot in any case...
2) Download input-wacom 0.39.
3) Select it, right-click, 'Extract Here'.
4) Select the 'input-wacom-input-wacom-0.39.0' folder, right-click, 'Open In Terminal'.
5) Type ./configure, press enter. After this finishes (few secs more or less), type make, press enter again.
6) Assuming no built errors occured, type make install. To keep things simple, a reboot before trying it out is recommended.
It worked!

Thanks a lot. I think it's ok now. I can draw, I can use pen and all. Thanks! My friend helped me with some issues - I had to type /autogen.sh instead of ./configure and add sudo before "make install".

So... thanks again. I really lost faith that I will ever be able to use this tablet. Now I think the only thing to do is practice. I'm used to traditional drawing and it's a little hard to draw without looking at the "paper"...
User avatar
thx-1138
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by thx-1138 »

...glad to have been of help - have fun :)
pdc_2
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2424
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:21 am

Re: (Solved) Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by pdc_2 »

well done thx; and well done to Sockschaser to follow the commands and get it all working; I must study all this in detail later! well done; I wonder how hard it would be for Clem to put input-wacom 0.39 into Mint 19; or an update
cowwarrior
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: (Solved) Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by cowwarrior »

im using intuos pro s, not sure if its same one. but works out of the box (mint 19)
only one thing im wish for,,

can i disable touch feature? (board only sensible to Pen but not hand)
i did this in windows but cant find it in mint..

ty,
User avatar
thx-1138
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2114
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:15 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: (Solved) Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by thx-1138 »

cowwarrior wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:46 pm
.......................
can i disable touch feature? (board only sensible to Pen but not hand)
...i assume:
xsetwacom --list
Then: xsetwacom --set touchpad-id touch off

Else, a more 'drastic' way, xinput list, then xinput disable touchpad-id...

You might wanna have a look at a program called touchpad-indicator as well:
https://itsfoss.com/disable-touchpad-when-mouse-used/
Never used it myself (as said above, i don't even own a Wacom tablet),
but i've seen people making positive reviews of such.

On another note, you'd likely get more responses if you started a new thread instead of resurrecting older ones.
cowwarrior
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: (Solved) Wacom Intuos S doesn't work on Linux Mint

Post by cowwarrior »

perfect man.
just set the touchpad-ID off did it.

thank you so much 1138
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”