Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
mwshook
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:44 pm

Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by mwshook » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:03 pm

I had a conky config that made the window completely transparent and appear as part of the desktop. I saved my .conkyrc when I did a fresh install of Mint 19 Tara and dropped the file back into my home directory.

Things work great, but there is now a gray border/shadow to the left of the conky window. I'm assuming something minor must have changed with the conky program when I upgraded. It's admittedly a minor issue but I would be greatful if anybody has an easy fix. I've attached my screenshot to show the left border and my .conkyrc
Thanks.

Image

alignment tr
double_buffer yes
gap_x 40
gap_y 80
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_hints undecorated,skip_taskbar
own_window_transparent yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Sans-8
text_buffer_size 1024

TEXT

${color F00000}${font Sawasdee:style=Bold:size=20}Zombiebox $hr${color F0F0F1}${font Andale Mono:size=8}

Distro: $alignr${execi 3600 lsb_release -d -s}
Kernel: $alignr$kernel
Uptime: $alignr$uptime

CPU $hr
${freq_g}GHz ${alignc}Load: ${loadavg} ${alignr}$cpu%
${cpugraph 476D76 ffffff}
Temperature: ${alignr}${hwmon temp 1}°C

Memory $hr
RAM ${alignr}$mem/$memmax
${membar 6, 200}
Swap ${alignr}$swap/$swapmax
${swapbar 6, 200}

Disks $hr
/ ${alignr}${fs_free /} ${fs_free_perc /}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /}
/home ${alignr}${fs_free /home} ${fs_free_perc /home}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /home}
2TB Media ${alignr}${fs_free /mnt/sda2} ${fs_free_perc /mnt/sda2}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /mnt/sda2}
3TB Media ${alignr}${fs_free /media/matt/FantomHD} ${fs_free_perc /media/matt/FantomHD}%
${fs_bar 6, 200 /media/matt/FantomHD}


Top Processes $hr
${top name 1}${alignr}${top cpu 1}%
${top name 2}${alignr}${top cpu 2}%
${top name 3}${alignr}${top cpu 3}%
${top name 4}${alignr}${top cpu 4}%
${top name 5}${alignr}${top cpu 5}%
${top name 6}${alignr}${top cpu 6}%
${top name 7}${alignr}${top cpu 7}%

Memory Usage $hr
${top_mem name 1}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 1} ${top_mem mem 1}%
${top_mem name 2}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 2} ${top_mem mem 2}%
${top_mem name 3}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 3} ${top_mem mem 3}%
${top_mem name 4}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 4} ${top_mem mem 4}%
${top_mem name 5}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 5} ${top_mem mem 5}%
${top_mem name 6}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 6} ${top_mem mem 6}%
${top_mem name 7}${alignr} ${top_mem mem_res 7} ${top_mem mem 7}%

Network ________________________ ${addr enp4s0}
Down ${downspeed enp4s0} /s ${alignr}Up ${upspeed enp4s0} k/s
${downspeedgraph enp4s0 16,107 476D76 ffffff -l} ${alignr}${upspeedgraph enp4s0 16,107 476D76 ffffff -l }
Total ${totaldown enp4s0} ${alignr}Total ${totalup enp4s0}
OpenVPN: ${if_up tun0}${color 00FF00}UP${else}${color F00000}Down$endif ${color F0F0F1}
${execi 60 curl https://ipleak.net/json/ | jq -r '.type, .city_name, .country_name, .ip'}

User avatar
trytip
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1681
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by trytip » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:12 pm

#all options for own_window_type are: normal, desktop, dock, panel or override

try desktop
Last edited by trytip on Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

zcot
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by zcot » Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:25 pm

trytip, teejee didn't provide packages for Artful or Bionic since they weren't out at the time, and he's stopped development of that program. I don't think that ppa will pull against Mint 19.

However tomtomtom did take that same package and add build recipes for Artful and Bionic: https://launchpad.net/~tomtomtom/+archi ... ky-manager

And, a cool feature on the newer system is that the source cache is updated when a ppa source is added(add-apt-repository feature). So you just add and install. ;)

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tomtomtom/conky-manager
apt install conky-manager
ps. here's an updated version that will also work with the newer 1.10 version configs too: https://github.com/zcot/conky-manager


But mwshook for this transparency thing, it could be some variety of things.

One solution is to change the config like this:

Code: Select all

own_window_type desktop
#own_window_hints undecorated,skip_taskbar
another would be like this:

Code: Select all

own_window_type override
override now ignores own_window_hints

it's the various "own_window_*" variables..

Check this out, specifically, "Configuration Settings":
https://github.com/brndnmtthws/conky/wiki

User avatar
trytip
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1681
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by trytip » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:42 am

thanx @zcot i forget which packages i got and from where, i had to hunt for conky_1.9.0-4 and conky manager debs i installed them separate and pinned them to synaptic. i still use the old conky, the new version is too much code to learn

transparency is always different for me in arch i use override with nvidia, but doesn't work in mint 19 cinmon which does work in mint 17.3 mate.
now i have to figure oput if these two packages have any diff
conky-manager_2.4~136~ubuntu14.04.1_amd64.deb
or
the one in the above post conky-manager_2.4-1_136_ppa_bionic_amd64.deb i believe they are the same unless the new developer changed something.

ps: @ mwshook conky-manager_2.4-1~136~ppa~bionic_amd64.deb <<< i pulled the conky-manager for you so you don't have to install the ppa, it's the only thing in that repo
Image

mwshook
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by mwshook » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:57 am

Thanks everybody for the help.
I changed own_window_type to "desktop" and that did get rid of the border. But I like the behavior of "normal" better. I like being able to click on Conky and bring it to the front. "override" still had the border.

I googled around some more and realized that all my windows have a fuzzy shadowed border around them. Maybe this shadow wasn't present in Mint 18. I tried changing themes, downloading some different themes, but it didn't help. Apparently Cinnamon has an XML file that can be edited to remove the shadow. I don't really feel like messing with all that.

I'm just going to live with the border for now. It's an annoyance, but a minor one.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 436
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by AndyMH » Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:00 am

Relevant lines from my conky below, have you tried "draw_borders no"

Code: Select all

own_window yes
own_window_class Conky
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 200 200
maximum_width 240
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
Thinkpad T430 i7-3632 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T420 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T410 Cinnamon 17.3, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

zcot
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Conky transparency error with upgrade to 19 Tara

Post by zcot » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:54 pm

mwshook, What is the sidebar on the right in that image?

Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”