Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
stuff4me
Level 1
Level 1

Max OSX and Mint Cinnamon Shares Not Working

Post by stuff4me » Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:36 pm

I am new to the (pure) Linux world with Linux Mint being my first to start using and learning. I am running into a bit of a problem with a few shares that I have setup on my Linux Mint Cinnamon. I have install samba from the Software Manager and rebooted. I see the share(s) on my MacOSX (High Sierra), but when I try to access them on my Mac, I get the following error:

"The operation can't be completed because the original item for "test" can't be found."

The above happens when the computer is connecting as "guest" user.

When I try to connect as a real user that is on the Linux computer, the login screen on the Mac just shakes as if I got the password or username wrong. At first I tried using the username and password I have setup for the main user I setup from the installation of Linux Mint on the computer. I then created another user on the computer and put them in the sambashare and tried using that user/password on the Mac and the same thing happened.

Other then installing samba from the software manager, is there anything else I need to install? I saw there was also a SAMBA CONFIGURATION program, does this need to be installed as well?

I can ping, vnc, and ssh to the linux computer. I am just scratching my head over this one, as it does seem pretty straight forward from what I have read, but it is not working. Both computers has been rebooted several times.

Any help/guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Josh

altair4
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Max OSX and Mint Cinnamon Shares Not Working

Post by altair4 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:29 am

"The operation can't be completed because the original item for "test" can't be found."
The above happens when the computer is connecting as "guest" user.