Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:41 am

Hi guys, I've been having a weird problem since two weeks or so, whereby, some of the yahoo.com's pages are not loading. There are a couple of other websites that aren't loading infrequently but not being able to log into yahoo mail using my PC is really annoying, & hence, my core problem. I've been using Linux Mint for years but have never run into any such issue & I can't find any similar instances on the Internet. I went on Hexchat & several guys suggested a bunch of things but the issue hasn't been resolved yet, & that's why, I'm posting here.

On Hexchat, a lot of people asked me what the "error" looks like, & what comes up on the screen when I click on yahoo's login page, so posting the screen-shot of the same in case someone wants to see it - https://ibb.co/dLKCKp

Again, most websites are loading fine, even yahoo.com's front page loads perfectly fine for me but when I click on Sign In or Mail link at the right-hand corner to log into the mail (or even if I try to enter the login page from google search-results), or click on any of the News stories on the yahoo front page, then they fail to load, like the screen-shot linked above.

Initially, I thought it must be a problem with my internet, so I called up my internet-provider but to my surprise, when he connected his laptop to the same wired connection that I use, yahoo mail login page loaded instantaneously on his laptop. I've also tried using different browsers - Firefox, Opera, Chromium, Chrome & Midori - to no avail. Tried using different User Accounts. Disabled the firewall. Disabled the add-ons in browsers. And, probably other things suggested by people on Hexchat, that I can't remember right now.

This is the output for "inxi -Fxz" as suggested in the 'How to get help' thread:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: sublime-H81M-S Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.2)
           Desktop: MATE 1.8.1 (Gtk 3.10.8~8+qiana)
           Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine:   Mobo: Gigabyte model: H81M-S v: x.x
           Bios: American Megatrends v: F1 date: 06/11/2014
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-4130 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 13569
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 800 MHz
           4: 3400 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 4th Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.15.1 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0
           Card-3 Logitech Webcam C270 driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 003-002
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.13.0-37-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (84.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD5000AZRX size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 48G used: 21G (46%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4
           ID-2: /home size: 395G used: 358G (96%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 16.78GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 183 Uptime: 6:45 Memory: 7725.8/11886.6MB
           Init: Upstart runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.111) inxi: 2.2.28 
Please move the thread to the appropriate location if this isn't the forum where it's supposed to go; I wasn't sure where to put it, so went with what seemed the closest option to me.

rene
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by rene » Fri Sep 14, 2018 7:16 am

Between you and your ISP it seems your home modem/router would be the prime suspect and here's someone with the same issue: https://forums.yahoo.net/t5/Password-an ... d-p/147231

Have you tried looking through your router options and/or resetting and/or updating it?

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:50 am

That's what some people on Hexchat said but I kept telling them that I'm in India, & there's no router in my apartment, & the internet-wire goes straight into the LAN port of the CPU (so, if there's a router somewhere outside my apartment, then it's not under my control); moreover, as I've mentioned, the internet-provider came to my house with his laptop & directly connected the same wire into the LAN port of his laptop, & yahoo login page loaded instantaneously on his laptop. So in short, even though that person seemed to having a very similar problem, I've no idea how & what to update; nonetheless, someone on Hexchat had suggested taking out the internet-wire from the LAN port & shutting down the PC for a while, & then reconnecting to sort of reset the connection but even that hasn't worked. So, it SEEMS like the issue could be something local, whether Linux or something else about my machine but not sure what it could be.

EDIT: Looks like I am able to access yahoo login page through proxies found on google-search.

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Pippin » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:13 pm

In a terminal, can you post output of:

Code: Select all

ifconfig
and

Code: Select all

dig google.com +trace
?
If ifconfig shows a public IP you can obfuscate it.
"One good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain.”
B.M.

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:34 pm

Pippin wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:13 pm
In a terminal, can you post output of:

Code: Select all

ifconfig
and

Code: Select all

dig google.com +trace
?
If ifconfig shows a public IP you can obfuscate it.
Output of ifconfig

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr fc:aa:14:1a:d5:08  
          inet6 addr: fe80::feaa:14ff:fe1a:d508/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:516549 errors:0 dropped:13426 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:327693 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:488032292 (488.0 MB)  TX bytes:43298133 (43.2 MB)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:55978 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:55978 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:30999853 (30.9 MB)  TX bytes:30999853 (30.9 MB)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
          inet addr:172.21.33.24  P-t-P:5.5.5.225  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
          RX packets:487080 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:326748 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
          RX bytes:475308762 (475.3 MB)  TX bytes:36074262 (36.0 MB)

Output of dig google.com +trace

Code: Select all

; <<>> DiG 9.9.5-3ubuntu0.17-Ubuntu <<>> google.com +trace
;; global options: +cmd
.			518400	IN	NS	b.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	c.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	d.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	e.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	f.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	g.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	h.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	i.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	j.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	k.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	l.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	m.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	NS	a.root-servers.net.
.			518400	IN	RRSIG	NS 8 0 518400 20180928050000 20180915040000 41656 . 24s78yEg9VnF/vCGz09oTAGGEd8tep2oAlxr0vHhB+o1/0DEXf7ewmcD RBJoxct4VFkvvezeZAP5yt6aog766sDNYt71N6eIfNZACIC1hfB/B84i z8SNB3M5lw/v4Lvj4ABHmrzRvBUpYBhxAnx7+obeKAY09UyBcnMLrtg+ 3qPjUK4i9LeJ+efjWpMA6mMA+dqAPpEDw6tkWBhikXZiR/LuvO6k/A+u HM/lxyjwUBFQ+AHdSGIp4M4X8ngXiSZVGnhyOlUwwwR1PuZESv1FAAei yZB05K/D1RncqDtrTP1ELwNOrM5uWLWvxhpCNxHOyJB+MJawD6KjgA9y 3Uznug==
;; Received 653 bytes from 127.0.1.1#53(127.0.1.1) in 1163 ms

com.			172800	IN	NS	b.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	d.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	a.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	f.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	l.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	i.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	e.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	j.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	c.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	m.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	g.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	h.gtld-servers.net.
com.			172800	IN	NS	k.gtld-servers.net.
com.			86400	IN	DS	30909 8 2 E2D3C916F6DEEAC73294E8268FB5885044A833FC5459588F4A9184CF C41A5766
com.			86400	IN	RRSIG	DS 8 1 86400 20180928050000 20180915040000 41656 . 5nTjpeCtVy6CsiWQnauQ3Pj8dA4EjIRBa1GTLairPVns9lDPSLBm8vmT p+FqBWudPQwjt+YRJpEGLSw1QFegnYlhXKSOaVokim5Arr8FVO2IGb5b 3BQ82HmiG8QpESMYDUEHgdFspyFjFXcAGAkrwqgeyNLLPrc4yvws176b OHuxhycW48S/q4NwkUBgjSs6JDybsg9OXIehmP1p85cGz712ujoYK7CX 4l2dikcMYfsGwXgDxnbj3euUg6PmmWeM+hmg8pR9p3u0JGH8sXXWNZm8 SCRdAK9RdIWEgFOOy2Cib7QfC/7dbOM9x7lfxZqTqEtkqH6kjMRp9PLg mwEszA==
;; Received 1170 bytes from 192.36.148.17#53(i.root-servers.net) in 2019 ms

google.com.		172800	IN	NS	ns2.google.com.
google.com.		172800	IN	NS	ns1.google.com.
google.com.		172800	IN	NS	ns3.google.com.
google.com.		172800	IN	NS	ns4.google.com.
CK0POJMG874LJREF7EFN8430QVIT8BSM.com. 86400 IN NSEC3 1 1 0 - CK0Q1GIN43N1ARRC9OSM6QPQR81H5M9A NS SOA RRSIG DNSKEY NSEC3PARAM
CK0POJMG874LJREF7EFN8430QVIT8BSM.com. 86400 IN RRSIG NSEC3 8 2 86400 20180921044256 20180914033256 46475 com. rNWBjUzenbidAjM6+75HaFVrZwfM6r08St8nMwhJFCrREuVQvUBdx1On NhiDApqQ202rAQRSMAb2zhyYzzu9PJf0+2WHJ9rvSWne7TB4ILLyoMAS OJ5uSePt2Ovzmz3upLo4RiiKbw1lYdsLD9oV+uxQKcXNy14tmc4yktPr TLE=
S849LHDDSVU9A9N2FIRO5NKMQB321BEP.com. 86400 IN NSEC3 1 1 0 - S84CEFMDU6ABFSN4V0L2VLLOASCD5IV2 NS DS RRSIG
S849LHDDSVU9A9N2FIRO5NKMQB321BEP.com. 86400 IN RRSIG NSEC3 8 2 86400 20180922050059 20180915035059 46475 com. pGNJz7VaB9pyHzHkkQ9n33Bt7OCcrZDNO8xe0yLP01/vn9Z92b0NfE7a G64ujuXVx0UEKxPb2RBmRIgVLjWeEGEG5OemQ9VX0nigDc5m4VielPAK C0QRUbarpFQgNh1cgPgrY4NwlbbLbKPAOst3XY9dwOJM4bQfOdCVZGDR iBw=
;; Received 772 bytes from 192.12.94.30#53(e.gtld-servers.net) in 342 ms

google.com.		300	IN	A	172.217.27.206
;; Received 44 bytes from 216.239.32.10#53(ns1.google.com) in 62 ms
How do I determine whether it's showing a public IP or not? I'm sorry, I'm not very tech-savvy.

Recent development being that I just downloaded Tor browser & it seems like I can access yahoo mail & some other websites that I previously couldn't from other browsers. :D (Is Tor & its proxies safe?) Nonetheless, I'd definitely like to be able to resolve this issue, if possible; so that I can access those websites from other browsers as well.

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2050
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by trytip » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:47 pm

sounds like you need a DNS change.

Code: Select all

208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220
Image
Image

DAMIEN1307
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 965
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:50 pm

cloudflare is a good DNS as well...very fast...DAMIEN

Code: Select all

1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1
ORDO AB CHAO

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:29 pm

Image

Tried changing the DNS as suggested but to no avail. I think my internet-provider also had me do something like this when he was at my apartment last week but obviously, it didn't even work.
There was no option for DHCP anything, only "Automatic (PPPoE)","Automatic (PPPoE) addresses only" & "Manual", so I decided to go with the 2nd one since it seemed closest to the suggestion.
Even tried with 1.1.1.1, 1.0.0.1 without any success.

rene
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by rene » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:55 pm

Newbie Day-Trader wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:50 am
moreover, as I've mentioned, the internet-provider came to my house with his laptop & directly connected the same wire into the LAN port of his laptop
You didn't in fact; you said you called them. I assumed he looped back through your modem remotely. But it appears there's no modem/router (under your control) involved at all...

I have no experience with PPPoE but I am finding issues with PPPoE MTU settings and Yahoo here and there. This could moreover be consistent with your added information concerning proxies. I can't talk you through it but you may wish to try and find out how/where to adjust the MTU for your PPPoE link. Note, setting it to "0" may invoke an auto-detect method...

User avatar
kyphi
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2291
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter, Australia

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by kyphi » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:58 pm

The image shown in https://ibb.co/dLKCKp does not show the green padlock to indicate a secure connection with Yahoo, even though it is specified as "https".

If you are trying to access the Yahoo site via a bookmark on your Bookmarks Toolbar without success, one can assume that this shortcut has become corrupted. You can edit the stated Location via a right click on the bookmark and selecting Properties.

When I duplicate the URL shown in the image (https://ibb.co/dLKCKp), I get the yahoo.com page and the green padlock is shown.
Linux Mint 19 Cinnamon - 64bit

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:21 am

rene wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:55 pm
Newbie Day-Trader wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:50 am
moreover, as I've mentioned, the internet-provider came to my house with his laptop & directly connected the same wire into the LAN port of his laptop
You didn't in fact; you said you called them. I assumed he looped back through your modem remotely. But it appears there's no modem/router (under your control) involved at all...

I have no experience with PPPoE but I am finding issues with PPPoE MTU settings and Yahoo here and there. This could moreover be consistent with your added information concerning proxies. I can't talk you through it but you may wish to try and find out how/where to adjust the MTU for your PPPoE link. Note, setting it to "0" may invoke an auto-detect method...
Well, my original post says "he connected his laptop to the same wired connection that I use", & I assumed that I was specific enough to avoid any confusion but maybe I wasn't. That's right, there's isn't.

True, setting it to 0 just causes it to say "Automatic". I tried a few other numbers, like 1, 2, 3 but not sure how many & which numbers I should be trying.

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:34 am

kyphi wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:58 pm
The image shown in https://ibb.co/dLKCKp does not show the green padlock to indicate a secure connection with Yahoo, even though it is specified as "https".

If you are trying to access the Yahoo site via a bookmark on your Bookmarks Toolbar without success, one can assume that this shortcut has become corrupted. You can edit the stated Location via a right click on the bookmark and selecting Properties.

When I duplicate the URL shown in the image (https://ibb.co/dLKCKp), I get the yahoo.com page and the green padlock is shown.
That might have been because my browser was not able to reach/load that page but like I've mentioned in my original post, yahoo's front-page does load for me, if I type in yahoo.com in the address-bar, & as you can see, then it does show the padlock icon -
Image

No, I'm not accessing it from a bookmark. Like I have stated above, if I type in yahoo.com in the address bar (or alternatively, get there from google-search) then I see the yahoo front-page load but if I click on the Sign In or Mail links toward the top right-hand corner of that page, in order to log into the mail, then the login page fails to load, & even if I try to get to the yahoo login page from google search-results, it still fails to load.

rene
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by rene » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:46 am

Newbie Day-Trader wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:21 am
True, setting it to 0 just causes it to say "Automatic". I tried a few other numbers, like 1, 2, 3 but not sure how many & which numbers I should be trying.
I take it then that setting it automatic (and rebooting/reconnecting) does not change anything for the better. I believe 1492 is the standard value for PPPoE but try lower as well; 1400, 1200.

One thing: automatic path MTU discovery needs ICMP: a few weeks ago there was a thread on this forum regarding disabling ICMP Echo. Did you perhaps do anything concerning ICMP?
Last edited by rene on Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:48 am

Just to offer a little more info on the issue, netpnb.com, is another website that is giving me the exact same problem as yahoo.com; that is, like yahoo.com, netpnb.com's home/front-page loads for me but if I try to access the log in page or any other page of the website, then it fails to load.

Image

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:21 am

rene wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:46 am
Newbie Day-Trader wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:21 am
True, setting it to 0 just causes it to say "Automatic". I tried a few other numbers, like 1, 2, 3 but not sure how many & which numbers I should be trying.
I take it then that setting it automatic (and rebooting/reconnecting) does not change anything for the better. I believe 1492 is the standard value for PPPoE but try lower as well; 1400, 1200.

One thing: automatic path MTU discovery needs IMCP: a few weeks ago there was a thread on this forum regarding disabling ICMP Echo. Did you perhaps do anything concerning ICMP?
Right, it was already there by default, & even changing it to 1492, 1400 or 1200, & disconnecting & reconnecting the Internet as well as rebooting the PC didn't solve the issue.

I'm not tech-savvy, so I don't mess with any settings unless there's some problem, & I can't recall having any problems within the past few weeks until this particular problem popped up out of nowhere. I can't even locate ICMP anywhere in my connection's settings within Network Settings, I don't know if that's a problem.

rene
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2068
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by rene » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:27 am

No, it's not a problem you can't find anything about ICMP. Make sure to set the MTU back to Automatic and reboot/reconnect; it seems I was barking up a wrong tree; having no experience with PPPoE I shall further butt out.

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Pippin » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:37 am

Hi,

Can you try to disable IPv6?

Edit the following file as root:

Code: Select all

/etc/default/grub
and add

Code: Select all

ipv6.disable=1
to the line

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 ...   ..."
Then reboot and try again.
"One good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain.”
B.M.

Newbie Day-Trader
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:46 am

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Newbie Day-Trader » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:46 pm

Pippin wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:37 am
Hi,

Can you try to disable IPv6?

Edit the following file as root:

Code: Select all

/etc/default/grub
and add

Code: Select all

ipv6.disable=1
to the line

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 ...   ..."
Then reboot and try again.
I can't see IPv6 through the GUI in Network Connections (https://ibb.co/i6OoUz), & when manually trying to edit the text in the file it says the file is read-only, & I wasn't sure about how to go about editing it through the terminal. So, could you please tell me how to do it?

Pippin
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:14 am
Location: NL/DE/TH

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by Pippin » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:25 pm

Hi,

Open nemo.
Right click white area and Open as Root.
Give your password.
Under File System, browse to

Code: Select all

/etc/default
and open the file

Code: Select all

grub
in the text editor.
Add

Code: Select all

ipv6.disable=1
to the line

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 ...   ..."
Save the file, close the text editor and nemo.
Mine looks like this:

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash"
I think I forgot, you should do this too:
Open Terminal and do

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
When it's finished, close Terminal, then reboot and try.

If it does not help then just remove ipv6.disable=1 again in the same way.
"One good thing about music, when it hits you feel no pain.”
B.M.

DAMIEN1307
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 965
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico

Re: Weird problem, can't access yahoo mail & other websites since two weeks

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:33 pm

ive been using a slightly different way around the barn for disabling ipv6, so here goes nothing...DAMIEN

PS...i think pippins way should work though. either way, use the test code to see if it worked...if it shows no results after running test, you were successful...if it returns :ipv ready, then try my way.

now run this test

Code: Select all

test -f /proc/net/if_inet6 && echo "Running kernel is IPv6 ready"
if the test still says "IPv6 ready", then do the following:

Code: Select all

 gksudo xed /etc/default/grub
Edit the bold face line that starts as "GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT"...by deleting it and putting this one in its place

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash"
X out and "save" when prompted to do so

Then in terminal

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub 
Then: Reboot

Test again: if it returns nothing in return, you were successful.
ORDO AB CHAO

Post Reply

Return to “Ethernet”