SOLVED: Anyone using PIA?

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
rick gen
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 12:29 pm

SOLVED: Anyone using PIA?

Post by rick gen » Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:56 am

Private Internet Access, it's one of Linux Mint's main sponsors.
https://linuxmint.com/

You download their latest driver in their site, you install it as instructed, but it's not connecting.
Why?
Last edited by rick gen on Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

rick gen
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 12:29 pm

Re: Anyone using PIA?

Post by rick gen » Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:51 am

Seems this problem needs coding assistance from the Mint team developers in coordination with the PIA folks.

rick gen
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 12:29 pm

Re: Anyone using PIA?

Post by rick gen » Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:05 pm

So no available help or solution for this problem at all.
They're advertising a service that doesn't work.
Time to find a better alternative.

ugly
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: Anyone using PIA?

Post by ugly » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:04 am

I have PIA and it's working fine.

I had some trouble with it connecting at first. For me, the problem was I downloaded the installer to an NTFS drive. When I ran the installer from my /home directory, I had no more connection issues.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6930
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Anyone using PIA?

Post by catweazel » Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:47 am

rick gen wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:51 am
Seems this problem needs coding assistance from the Mint team developers in coordination with the PIA folks.
If they provide .ovpn files then download those an import them. You don't need their dedicated VPN client.
Caution: Dancing Wu Li Master and Official curmudgeon-in-chief

rick gen
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 12:29 pm

Re: Anyone using PIA?

Post by rick gen » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:56 am

ugly wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:04 am
I have PIA and it's working fine.

I had some trouble with it connecting at first. For me, the problem was I downloaded the installer to an NTFS drive. When I ran the installer from my /home directory, I had no more connection issues.
I really don't think a file on a drive with NTFS file system has any relevance at all.
Linux reads files as they are regardless of whether they're NTFS or ext4.
My system is actually partitioned as: one for the Windows (NTFS), one for Linux (ext4), which is generated from the installation, and another is a NTFS partition for storage, which serves as a bridge between Linux and Windows. Which means when I'm on Windows or Linux, I save files there. (Linux reads NTFS drives normally, but not Windows on ext3, ext4, etc. My external drives are all formatted on NTFS file system.

I haven't checked thoroughly, but to my surprised it worked when I copied the file from an external drive to my Linux home directory and installed it from there. The downloaded file is just a small script file with a mere 115.1 MiB size.

But like I said, I have to re-checked because I used to run the file successfuly from an external drive with no problem beginning from v69, then v70,v71 to v75.
The problem began from v76 to the latest v81.

Thanks!

ugly
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 9:17 pm

Re: SOLVED: Anyone using PIA?

Post by ugly » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:14 pm

Yeah, I used to do the same thing with a similar setup. It worked fine until about v76.

It took me a long time to figure that one out. The only reason I managed to figure it out was because I decided to run the v81 installer from a live Mint environment to see if it was a problem with my setup or with the PIA installer. It installed fine from the live disk. So then I ran the installer from my ~/ folder on my installed version of Mint and it worked.

I'm kind of just talking out of my ass here, but I'm assuming there is some issue with permissions that gets messed up when you try to run the installer from an NTFS drive. I know there were a few games that didn't work properly on Steam if you run them from an NTFS drive.

Post Reply

Return to “Other networking topics”