mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
skychap94
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:01 pm

mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by skychap94 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:12 pm

Hello everyone. I am a newbie in using linux mint in my laptop but hands down linux mint seems so much better than windows. So today I was trying to mount a toshiba 2tb external hard drive to my laptop but it doesnt mount at all. Could anyone please help me with this issue please?
Thank you.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11689
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:11 pm

Hello skychap94 Image

Welcome to Linux Mint and the Linux Mint forum :)

With the toshiba 2tb external hard drive plugged in, open the terminal and paste back the results of sudo blkid
ImageImage

skychap94
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:01 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by skychap94 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:58 pm

Hey WharfRat :)
thanks for welcoming me to the forum :D
these are the results to sudo blkid

Code: Select all

amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ sudo blkid
[sudo] password for amd: 
/dev/sda1: UUID="dec69e7b-8ec6-4278-b304-1033b100c8bd" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="c1da7768-01"
/dev/loop0: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop1: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop2: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop3: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop4: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/loop5: TYPE="squashfs"
/dev/sdb1: LABEL="Sky Chaplin" UUID="C2E085DBE085D5D7" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="678030bb-01"
Last edited by WharfRat on Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11689
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:30 pm

Try sudo mount -t ntfs-3g -o uid=1000,gid=1000,dmask=002,fmask=111 /dev/sdb1 /mnt

That will mount /dev/sdb1 to /mnt so your files will be available there.
ImageImage

skychap94
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:01 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by skychap94 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:47 pm

thanks WharfRat i tried it and this is what it shows

Code: Select all

amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ sudo mount -t ntfs-3g -o uid=1000,gid=1000,dmask=002,fmask=111 /dev/sdb1 /mnt
[sudo] password for amd: 
$MFTMirr does not match $MFT (record 0).
Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Input/output error
NTFS is either inconsistent, or there is a hardware fault, or it's a
SoftRAID/FakeRAID hardware. In the first case run chkdsk /f on Windows
then reboot into Windows twice. The usage of the /f parameter is very
important! If the device is a SoftRAID/FakeRAID then first activate
it and mount a different device under the /dev/mapper/ directory, (e.g.
/dev/mapper/nvidia_eahaabcc1). Please see the 'dmraid' documentation
for more details.
Last edited by WharfRat on Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11689
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:08 pm

It looks like there's a problem with that partition/disk or it was a former raid member.

What does sudo wipefs /dev/sdb and ls -lh /dev/mapper return.

If possible you should attach it to a windows machine and run chkdsk /f
ImageImage

skychap94
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2018 1:01 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by skychap94 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:39 pm

so this is what it shows,

amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ sudo wipefs /dev/sdb
[sudo] password for amd:
DEVICE OFFSET TYPE UUID LABEL
sdb 0x1fe dos
amd@amd-HP-EliteBook-840-G2:~$ ls -lh /dev/mapper
total 0
crw------- 1 root root 10, 236 Nov 7 14:53 control

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1131
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by lsemmens » Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:33 pm

Hi, and welcome to Mint forums. I'll leave you in the capable hands of Warfrat.

My suggestion would also to be try mounting the drive on another machine or in a "live" environment. (By live: I mean booting from your Linux install medium where you could "try before you buy", i.e. install) and seeing if you can mount from there. Otherwise, it could well be that the device is toast, but we'll worry about that after all other avenues are explored.
Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11689
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by WharfRat » Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:37 pm

Well it's not a raid member, just a plain old ordinary dos signature.

There is a ntfsfix program (see man ntfsfix), but it's very limited as to what can repair.

Again the best thing to try is running chkdsk on a win machine.
ImageImage

User avatar
BG405
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1537
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: mounting a toshiba 2tb extenal hard drive

Post by BG405 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:22 pm

If you don't have a windows machine to do the repairs with, there's likely the option of using a live environment like BartPE, if this is any help.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

Post Reply

Return to “Mounting Partitions”