Huh? What?!!!!!

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
hapibeli
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:32 pm

Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by hapibeli » Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:43 pm

I just got a sweet Lenovo T500 on BC Auction for $113. Came home, took the sdd out of an Aspire V5-531 laptop, plopped it in the used T500, and it is running as if it is the Aspire!!! confused!!! No reinstall of Mint 18.3!
Someone please explain how it is possible to transfer a Linux SDD from one machine to a totally different machine it it runs????!

rene
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by rene » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:09 am

With a near sole exception for graphics hardware Linux systems don't "specialize" upon install; drivers in Linux are supplied by and along with the kernel as modules; it's only which of them get in fact loaded at boot that differs. Somewhat; generic hardware is in fact generally supported by one driver in the first place.

That is; being able to use an existing install with different hardware is the expectation; not being able to the exception, tied to explicitly having installed e.g. Nvidia graphic drivers on the former system whereas the newer one has no Nvidia hardware.

all41
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by all41 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:44 am

I discovered this to be true quite by accident. I removed an hd from a Compaq laptop and connected it
internally to a desktop--and before I realized what was happening the tower booted to it, like---NO WAY!
I remember feeling the same shock and awe.
Linux is definitely not Windows
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1674
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by lsemmens » Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:46 am

It is one of the beauties of Linux. Did the same for me on one of my machines too. :D Last time an OS did that for me was DOS 2.11
Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
Pepi
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 805
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by Pepi » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:26 am

I've never had a drive swap that failed to boot without any problems 8) Heck of an OS

gm10
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5986
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by gm10 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:51 am

all41 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:44 am
Linux is definitely not Windows
Did you ever try? I've done the same thing with Windows several times, works without a hitch as long as it's got all the critical drivers, i.e. same as Linux.

DAMIEN1307
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:48 am

i have also swapped HDs in windows machines as well with no problems...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1674
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by lsemmens » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:11 am

The only time Windwoes would swap over is if the new computer was almost identical. If, say a video card were different or you had a little bit more RAM Windwoes would chuck a wobbly.
Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

all41
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by all41 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:20 pm

gm10 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:51 am
all41 wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 12:44 am
Linux is definitely not Windows
Did you ever try? I've done the same thing with Windows several times, works without a hitch as long as it's got all the critical drivers, i.e. same as Linux.
It always came down to 'this windows is not genuine' and windows activation issues.
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

gm10
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5986
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by gm10 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:13 am

Oh, naturally, Windows activation doesn't survive a switch to a different computer, that's the whole point of it. But the system itself usually does by installing needed drivers automatically.

rene
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2824
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by rene » Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:16 am

If I'd have been the type I would've been tempted to condense your comment for you a bit:
gm10 wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:13 am
Oh, naturally, Windows [ ... ] doesn't survive [ ... ], that's the whole point of it.
Fortunately though, I'm not.

gm10
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5986
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by gm10 » Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:17 am

:D

User avatar
Pierre
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8159
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by Pierre » Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:19 am

whilst this expectation is standard in most Linux Systems,,
- you should boot your Windows System in Safe Mode - for the First Boot,, At Least.
:roll:
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
V1T4MiN_
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:41 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by V1T4MiN_ » Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:24 pm

Yeah, I love that about linux, I got a whole new computer and I just moved the hard drive over and it kept going like nothing ever changed! :D
Image

jondoe
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:52 am

Re: Huh? What?!!!!!

Post by jondoe » Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:49 pm

lsemmens wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:11 am
The only time Windwoes would swap over is if the new computer was almost identical. If, say a video card were different or you had a little bit more RAM Windwoes would chuck a wobbly.
True
And Most cases would ask for a windows cd key for windows

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”