Cannot detect Display

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
omar12aladawy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:35 am

Cannot detect Display

Post by omar12aladawy » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:15 am

My dual monitor setup(LAptop monitor and an HP Monitor) was working fine till one point when it just stopped detecting the HP monitor. I think it miht be soemthing with the graphics card setup or choice how can i detect it again. I am sure that the HDMI cable is working and can connect to the monitor.

Here is the machine Info

Code: Select all

System:    Host: omar-Lenovo-ideapad-310-14ISK Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 80SL v: Lenovo ideapad 310-14ISK
           Mobo: LENOVO model: Toronto 4A2 v: SDK0J40688 WIN
           Bios: LENOVO v: 0XCN20WW date: 02/19/2016
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-6500U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10368
           clock speeds: max: 3100 MHz 1: 500 MHz 2: 499 MHz 3: 500 MHz
           4: 500 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Sky Lake Integrated Graphics bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 134f bus-ID: 03:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau
           Resolution: 1366x768@59.97hz
           GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A Direct Rendering: N/A
Audio:     Card Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3165 Plus Bluetooth
           driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2000.4GB (5.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD10JPCX size: 1000.2GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Elements_25A2 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 115G used: 20G (19%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2
           ID-2: /boot size: 453M used: 68M (16%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
           ID-3: /home size: 275G used: 65G (25%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb4
           ID-4: swap-1 size: 12.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.5C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 235 Uptime: 10 min Memory: 1829.2/7888.0MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
           	
and the log

Code: Select all

grep HDMI /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[    41.044] (II) intel(0): Output HDMI1 has no monitor section
[    41.044] (II) intel(0): Enabled output HDMI1
[    42.480] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=3 (/dev/input/event12)
[    42.481] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=7 (/dev/input/event13)
[    42.481] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=8 (/dev/input/event14)
I would appreciate any help. Thanks

fragargon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:30 pm

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by fragargon » Fri Jan 11, 2019 5:39 pm

omar12aladawy wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:15 am
My dual monitor setup(LAptop monitor and an HP Monitor) was working fine till one point when it just stopped detecting the HP monitor. I think it miht be soemthing with the graphics card setup or choice how can i detect it again. I am sure that the HDMI cable is working and can connect to the monitor.

Here is the machine Info

Code: Select all

Graphics:  
	   Card-1: Intel Sky Lake Integrated Graphics bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 134f bus-ID: 03:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) [b]FAILED: nouveau[/b]
           Resolution: 1366x768@59.97hz
           [b]GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A Direct Rendering: N/A[/b]
[CODE]
grep HDMI /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[    41.044] (II) intel(0): Output HDMI1 has no monitor section
[    41.044] (II) intel(0): Enabled output HDMI1
[    42.480] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=3 (/dev/input/event12)
[    42.481] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=7 (/dev/input/event13)
[    42.481] (II) config/udev: Adding input device HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=8 (/dev/input/event14)
I would appreciate any help. Thanks
Hi Omar, you driver failed to load en then GLX renderer is not loaded.
you are running in a software mode. It seems to me that main reason are your graphic card detected.
Is there any reason why you've got 2 graphic card??? are you using some external dispaly connector??
did you tr the following command ==>
dmesg | grep card*
dmesg | grep drm
dmesg | grep nouveau
(you should see kernel message about you graphic card and how they are handeled

m2c

Kirill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by Kirill » Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:35 pm

Hey all, I've got an issue with a double external monitor setup and I'm not sure how to tackle this...I've got a new samsung curve monitor that has and still is working great and I've got a Panasonic CF-53 laptop that I have two monitors connected; the curve with a HDMI and my new Sceptre E24 LED monitor. Now the issue is with the new LED monitor. When I hooked it up in place of an old vizio tv that was being used as my second (connected with VGA by the way) and went to the display manager it could not detect the type of monitor it was and is only giving me two options for supported resolution and it looks fonky...I'm wondering what I need to get the display manager to recognize what I'm working with and a better resolution. Below is my info and any help is much appreciated.
inxi >>System:
Host: daddyhead-CF-53SJCZYLM Kernel: 4.15.0-43-generic x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: Panasonic product: CF-53SJCZYLM v: 003
serial: <filter>
Mobo: Panasonic model: CF53-3 v: 1 serial: <filter>
BIOS: American Megatrends v: 3.00L12 date: 07/13/2015
Battery:
ID-1: BAT1 charge: 44.4 Wh condition: 45.4/45.4 Wh (100%)
model: Panasonic CF-VZSU72 status: Unknown
Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M215 2nd Gen
charge: 100% status: Discharging
Device-2: hidpp_battery_1 model: Logitech Wireless Keyboard K330
charge: 100% status: Discharging
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-3340M bits: 64 type: MT MCP
arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9 L2 cache: 3072 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 21552
Speed: 3147 MHz min/max: 1200/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3079 2: 3118
3: 3105 4: 3098
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics vendor: Matsushita
driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
resolution: 1024x768~60Hz, 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile v: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.5
direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio
vendor: Matsushita driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-43-generic
Network:
Device-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network vendor: Matsushita driver: e1000e
v: 3.2.6-k port: f080 bus ID: 00:19.0
IF: enp0s25 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Device-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel
port: f040 bus ID: 09:00.0
IF: wlp9s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 3.93 TiB used: 1.71 TiB (43.5%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: HGST (Hitachi) model: HTS545032A7E380
size: 298.09 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Seagate model: BUP Slim BK size: 1.82 TiB
ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Western Digital
model: WD My Passport 25E4 size: 1.82 TiB
Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: MATSHITA model: DVD-RAM UJ8E0 rev: 1.00
dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
Features: speed: 24 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes
rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 292.41 GiB used: 129.07 GiB (44.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 62.8 C mobo: 62.8 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 237 Uptime: 1d 21h 07m Memory: 5.69 GiB used: 2.29 GiB (40.3%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19
inxi: 3.0.27

Something else I think I should mention is that I only have one HDMI port and one VGA, thats why one monitor is hooked up HDMI and the other VGA, tanks a bunch

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3069
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by roblm » Sun Jan 13, 2019 9:44 am

Kirill,

Does the Sceptre monitor give the correct resolution if connected to the laptop’s HDMI port?

Use this command in the Terminal and post the output: xrandr --prop

Hoser Rob
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4905
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by Hoser Rob » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:58 am

Kirill wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 1:35 pm
Hey all, I've got an issue with a double external monitor setup and I'm not sure how to tackle this...I've got a new samsung curve monitor that has and still is working great and I've got a Panasonic CF-53 laptop that I have two monitors connected; the curve with a HDMI and my new Sceptre E24 LED monitor. Now the issue is with the new LED monitor. When I hooked it up in place of an old vizio tv that was being used as my second (connected with VGA by the way) and went to the display manager it could not detect the type of monitor it was and is only giving me two options for supported resolution and it looks fonky...I'm wondering what I need to get the display manager to recognize what I'm working with and a better resolution. Below is my info and any help is much appreciated.
inxi >>System:
Host: daddyhead-CF-53SJCZYLM Kernel: 4.15.0-43-generic x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: Panasonic product: CF-53SJCZYLM v: 003
serial: <filter>
Mobo: Panasonic model: CF53-3 v: 1 serial: <filter>
BIOS: American Megatrends v: 3.00L12 date: 07/13/2015
Battery:
ID-1: BAT1 charge: 44.4 Wh condition: 45.4/45.4 Wh (100%)
model: Panasonic CF-VZSU72 status: Unknown
Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M215 2nd Gen
charge: 100% status: Discharging
Device-2: hidpp_battery_1 model: Logitech Wireless Keyboard K330
charge: 100% status: Discharging
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i5-3340M bits: 64 type: MT MCP
arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9 L2 cache: 3072 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 21552
Speed: 3147 MHz min/max: 1200/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3079 2: 3118
3: 3105 4: 3098
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics vendor: Matsushita
driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
resolution: 1024x768~60Hz, 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile v: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.5
direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio
vendor: Matsushita driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-43-generic
Network:
Device-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network vendor: Matsushita driver: e1000e
v: 3.2.6-k port: f080 bus ID: 00:19.0
IF: enp0s25 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Device-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel
port: f040 bus ID: 09:00.0
IF: wlp9s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 3.93 TiB used: 1.71 TiB (43.5%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: HGST (Hitachi) model: HTS545032A7E380
size: 298.09 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Seagate model: BUP Slim BK size: 1.82 TiB
ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Western Digital
model: WD My Passport 25E4 size: 1.82 TiB
Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: MATSHITA model: DVD-RAM UJ8E0 rev: 1.00
dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
Features: speed: 24 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes
rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 292.41 GiB used: 129.07 GiB (44.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 62.8 C mobo: 62.8 C
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 237 Uptime: 1d 21h 07m Memory: 5.69 GiB used: 2.29 GiB (40.3%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19
inxi: 3.0.27

Something else I think I should mention is that I only have one HDMI port and one VGA, thats why one monitor is hooked up HDMI and the other VGA, tanks a bunch
If there's one thing that any rreasonably knowledgeable and experienced Linux forum user HATES it's idiot thread hijackers. You're going to get equally bad answers. START YOUR OWN DAMN THREAD.

Kirill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by Kirill » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:05 pm

apologies

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3069
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by roblm » Sun Jan 13, 2019 8:10 pm

Did you see my post? You can either start a new topic or post here, since the OP hasn't responded.

Kirill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: Cannot detect Display

Post by Kirill » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:39 pm

Yes, sorry Rob, I tried what you suggested and it worked like a charm. I swapped the VGA and HDMI and it picked up the Sceptre monitor and gave me 1920 res on both of them thanks a million man...sorry again for hijacking or typing over or whatever, appreciate your help

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”