[SOLVED] Monitor resolutions

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
AbuDhabi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:21 pm

[SOLVED] Monitor resolutions

Post by AbuDhabi » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:29 pm

My displays don't have the right resolutions listed - I don't think so, anyway.

I have a monitor hooked up to VGA and a TV hooked up via DisplayPort/HDMI. The VGA is called "Unknown" and only has 800 and 1024 resolutions. The highest resolution for the TV that doesn't cut off at the edges is 1360x768; 1960x1080 does cut off at the edges, and looks all blurry.

How can I fix this?

I have been told to reinstall Mint 18 in place of 19, but I'm hoping for less laborious solutions.

Here's my inxi dump:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: abudhabi-HP-Compaq-6000-Pro-SFF-PC Kernel: 4.15.0-43-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
           compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.9 wm: muffin 4.0.6 dm: LightDM 1.26.0 
           Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:   Type: Desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq 6000 Pro SFF PC v: N/A 
           serial: <filter> Chassis: type: 4 serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3048h serial: <filter> BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: 786G2 v01.09 
           date: 08/25/2009 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core2 Quad Q8400 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Penryn rev: A 
           L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 21280 
           Speed: 1995 MHz min/max: 1998/2667 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1995 2: 1995 3: 1995 4: 1995 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: i915 v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:2e12 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1024x768~60Hz, 1360x768~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Q45/Q43 v: 2.1 Mesa 18.0.5 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 82801JD/DO HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:1b.0 chip ID: 8086:3a6e 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-43-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Intel 82567LM-3 Gigabit Network vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k 
           port: 1100 bus ID: 00:19.0 chip ID: 8086:10de 
           IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8187 Wireless Adapter type: USB driver: rtl8187 bus ID: 2-6:5 
           chip ID: 0bda:8187 serial: <filter> 
           IF: wlx00c0ca540582 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 223.57 GiB used: 36.56 GiB (16.4%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: SPCC Solid State Disk size: 223.57 GiB speed: 3.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> 
           rev: 61.2 scheme: MBR 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 210.60 GiB used: 36.41 GiB (17.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1 
           ID-2: /boot size: 703.5 MiB used: 148.0 MiB (21.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 7.87 GiB used: 256 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-2 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 39.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:     No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/megasync.list 
           1: deb https://mega.nz/linux/MEGAsync/xUbuntu_18.04/ ./
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
           1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com tessa main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
           2: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic main restricted universe multiverse
           3: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           4: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
           6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
Info:      Processes: 269 Uptime: 2d 2h 12m Memory: 7.66 GiB used: 4.86 GiB (63.5%) Init: systemd v: 237 
           runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 alt: 7 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 running in: gnome-terminal 
           inxi: 3.0.27 
And here's xrandr:

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2384 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-1 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00* 
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   848x480       60.00  
   640x480       59.94  
HDMI-1 connected 1360x768+1024+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 580mm x 320mm
   1360x768      60.02*+
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   1920x1080i    60.00    60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x576i      50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x480i      60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Last edited by AbuDhabi on Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3306
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by roblm » Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:30 pm

The TV is overscanning. In the TV's on-screen display (OSD) menu, turn off overscan mode by changing the input mode. Some TVs call it "Just Scan", "Full Pixel", "True Pixel", "Screen Fit", "1:1 Mode", "Native Mode", "Dot by Dot" or possibly something else.

What is the brand and model number of the monitor and TV?

Use this command and post the output: xrandr --prop

AbuDhabi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by AbuDhabi » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:00 pm

TV: Thomson 26E90NH22.
Monitor: Hanns-G HSG1093.

The TV does not have any such mode you speak of. All I can set is contrast, brightness, colour temperature and aspect ratio. There is an "adjust picture" option but it is greyed out, unselectable.

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2384 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-1 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
	non-desktop: 0 
		range: (0, 1)
	link-status: Good 
		supported: Good, Bad
   1024x768      60.00* 
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   848x480       60.00  
   640x480       59.94  
HDMI-1 connected 1360x768+1024+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 580mm x 320mm
	EDID: 
		00ffffffffffff00ffff000001010101
		17120103803a20780a0dc9a057479827
		12484c21080001010101010101010101
		010101010101662150b051001b304070
		3600444021000018011d007251d01e20
		6e28550044402100001e000000fc004c
		4344204d5433350a20202020000000fd
		00303e0e4610000a202020202020014a
		02032770521413121116150504030207
		06011f10202122230907078301000067
		030c001000b82d011d80d0721c162010
		2c258044402100009e011d8018711c16
		20582c2500444021000098011d00bc52
		d01e20b828554044402100001e011d00
		7251d01e206e28550044402100001e00
		00000000000000000000000000000002
	aspect ratio: Automatic 
		supported: Automatic, 4:3, 16:9
	Broadcast RGB: Automatic 
		supported: Automatic, Full, Limited 16:235
	audio: auto 
		supported: force-dvi, off, auto, on
	non-desktop: 0 
		range: (0, 1)
	link-status: Good 
		supported: Good, Bad
   1360x768      60.02*+
   1920x1080     60.00    50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   1920x1080i    60.00    60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x576i      50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x480i      60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	Broadcast RGB: Automatic 
		supported: Automatic, Full, Limited 16:235
	audio: auto 
		supported: force-dvi, off, auto, on
	non-desktop: 0 
		range: (0, 1)
	link-status: Good 
		supported: Good, Bad

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3306
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by roblm » Mon Jan 14, 2019 9:04 pm

First try to get a higher resolution for the monitor. Use these two commands:

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1680x1050R"  119.00  1680 1728 1760 1840  1050 1053 1059 1080 +hsync -vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-1 1680x1050R
Then open the Display program and check if there is a 1680x1050 resolution available for the monitor.

AbuDhabi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by AbuDhabi » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:41 pm

That worked! Now my monitor displays 1650x1050.

Any fixes for the TV?

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3306
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by roblm » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:43 pm

AbuDhabi wrote:The highest resolution for the TV that doesn't cut off at the edges is 1360x768; 1960x1080 does cut off at the edges, and looks all blurry.
Would you set the TV’s resolution to 1920x1080 and then post the output of xrandr and xvidtune -show. I want see if an interlaced mode is being used. If the menu is not visible, you can right click on the desktop and select Open in Terminal.


To make the monitor’s 1680x1050 resolution persist after a restart, add those two xrandr commands to the /home/your-user-name/.profiles file, at the bottom. Another way is to create a custom xorg.conf file.

AbuDhabi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by AbuDhabi » Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:01 pm

The bottom panel is just barely visible, partly. Side panel is completely hidden.

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3600 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-1 connected primary 1680x1050+0+30 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   848x480       60.00  
   640x480       59.94  
   1680x1050R    59.88* 
HDMI-1 connected 1920x1080+1680+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 580mm x 320mm
   1360x768      60.02 +
   1920x1080     60.00*   50.00    59.94    30.00    25.00    24.00    29.97    23.98  
   1920x1080i    60.00    60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1280x720      60.00    50.00    59.94  
   1024x768      60.00  
   800x600       60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x576i      50.00  
   720x480       60.00    59.94  
   720x480i      60.00    59.94  
   640x480       60.00    59.94  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Code: Select all

"1024x768"     65.00   1024 1048 1184 1344    768  771  777  806 -hsync -vsync

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3306
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by roblm » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:23 pm

Use these commands and see if the picture is less blurry. This has to be obtained before the overscan is corrected:

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1920x1080R"  138.50  1920 1968 2000 2080  1080 1083 1088 1111 +hsync -vsync

xrandr --addmode HDMI-1 1920x1080R

xrandr --output HDMI-1 --mode 1920x1080R
The xvidtune -show output was for the monitor. You would have to connect only the TV to get it’s output.

Also, do you have another Linux or Windows PC that the TV can be connected to and will give the higher resolution without being blurry?

User avatar
GELvdH
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:10 am
Location: Havelock, NC USA

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by GELvdH » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:35 pm

I have a similar problem, my display is a Vizio 22" which I use both as TV and computer monitor. I am running dual boot Win 10 Pro / linuxmint 19.1. In linux I show only 3 resolutions, 1920x1080 (16x9), 1020x768 (4x3) and 800x600 (4x3). In windows mode I show several other resolutions including 1360x768 (16x9), I would like this resolution but it is not available in linux. Anyway I can add this resolution to my linuxmint boot system?

AbuDhabi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by AbuDhabi » Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:37 pm

Current output for only the TV:

Code: Select all

"1920x1080"   148.50   1920 2008 2052 2200   1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
I tried connecting my laptop, and it detected a bunch of modes, but all of them with slightly blurry, just like the TV is now. It displays the whole screen correctly, but it just seems the resolution is ill-suited to it.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3306
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by roblm » Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:12 pm

The info from these web pages shows the TV’s preferred resolution is only 1366x768 for the 26 inch screen, so any other resolution will be more blurry:
https://www.lcd-compare.com/televiseur- ... 90NH22.htm

https://translate.google.com/translate? ... rev=search

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/13974 ... e=6#manual

You don’t have a Windows PC to connect the TV to?

AbuDhabi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by AbuDhabi » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:31 am

I do, but it doesn't detect the TV, just the monitor.

Thanks for the help and the info. I'll just swap the monitor and the TV, so the monitor is my primary display. This way I can get around the issues. Don't need super-high resolution on the screen I run IRC on.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3306
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Monitor resolutions

Post by roblm » Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:35 pm

GELvdH wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:35 pm
I have a similar problem, my display is a Vizio 22" which I use both as TV and computer monitor. I am running dual boot Win 10 Pro / linuxmint 19.1. In linux I show only 3 resolutions, 1920x1080 (16x9), 1020x768 (4x3) and 800x600 (4x3). In windows mode I show several other resolutions including 1360x768 (16x9), I would like this resolution but it is not available in linux. Anyway I can add this resolution to my linuxmint boot system?
Would you start your own topic. The forum moderators won’t be happy if you use this topic to solve your display problem. You need to post some additional info.

Open the Terminal, use the commands inxi -SMCGx and xrandr --prop and post the outputs.

User avatar
GELvdH
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:10 am
Location: Havelock, NC USA

Re: [SOLVED] Monitor resolutions

Post by GELvdH » Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:07 pm

I understand, sorry about that , I am leaving to start another topic.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”