No audio on a fresh install (ASUS E200H) [SOLVED]

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
noob_dynasty
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:55 pm

No audio on a fresh install (ASUS E200H) [SOLVED]

Post by noob_dynasty » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:11 am

I'm new to Linux, having just switched from Win 10 to Linux Mint on my ASUS E200H Netbook PC.
Since I made the switch, I've had no audio output at all. I went around trying to figure things out and none of the existing solutions seem to work for me.

1. Alsa mixer says "This sound device does not have any controls". I pressed F6 to change the sound card but there doesn't seem to be an alternative to the "Intel HDMI / DP LP Audio" that's already selected.

2. I tried the default audio GUI settings, but no matter what options I change, there is no sound.

Does anyone have any ideas? Thank you in advance.
Last edited by noob_dynasty on Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2835
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by MrEen » Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:34 am

Hi noob_dynasty, and welcome to the forum.

Your model E200H has a special fix to get sound working that is found here: https://github.com/heikomat/linux/tree/ ... and_manual

The simple fix is running the following command in the terminal:

Code: Select all

wget -qO- https://gist.github.com/heikomat/3fe272431b44b580c933bfb901a92257/raw | bash
I have seen or helped a few users with this and it has worked every time, so I'm betting it will work just fine for you. If you want to be sure you're a match for this fix, the output of running aplay -l in the terminal will show cx2072x (the last x will be different, maybe cx20725, or cx20728.)

Good luck.

noob_dynasty
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:55 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by noob_dynasty » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:11 pm

Hi,

I'm very grateful for your response. I did try the command and unfortunately that did not help.

I realized you mentioned aplay and I tried that and this is the output I got:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Audio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio], device 0: HdmiLpeAudio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Audio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio], device 1: HdmiLpeAudio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Audio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio], device 2: HdmiLpeAudio [Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Anything else I might try?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2835
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by MrEen » Tue Jan 15, 2019 8:47 pm

Well, that's unfortunate. The aplay isn't detecting the built-in card that isn't HDMI.

Let's get the output of inxi -Fxz and cat /proc/asound/cards and see where we go from there.

noob_dynasty
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:55 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by noob_dynasty » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:38 pm

inxi -Fxz returns

Code: Select all

  Host: SHAKABE-ASUS-E200HA Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.8 
  Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: E200HA v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: ASUSTeK model: E200HA v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: E200HA.303 date: 12/21/2016 
Battery:
  ID-1: BATC charge: 14.6 Wh condition: 15.0/19.0 Wh (79%) 
  model: Intel SR 1 SR Real Battery status: Charging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Atom x5-Z8350 bits: 64 type: MCP 
  arch: Airmont rev: 4 L2 cache: 1024 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 11520 
  Speed: 1776 MHz min/max: 480/1920 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1702 2: 1881 
  3: 1306 4: 992 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series 
  PCI Configuration Registers 
  vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics (Cherrytrail) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio driver: HdmiLpeAudio 
  message: bus/chip ids unavailable 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-20-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter 
  vendor: AzureWave driver: ath10k_pci v: kernel port: f000 bus ID: 01:00.0 
  IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 29.12 GiB used: 7.36 GiB (25.3%) 
  ID-1: /dev/mmcblk0 model: BJNB4R size: 29.12 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 28.04 GiB used: 7.36 GiB (26.2%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/mmcblk0p2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 6280.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 
Info:
  Processes: 207 Uptime: 1h 35m Memory: 3.75 GiB used: 1.20 GiB (31.9%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
and the other command returns

Code: Select all

 0 [Audio          ]: HdmiLpeAudio - Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio
                      Intel HDMI/DP LPE Audio

User avatar
MrEen
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2835
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by MrEen » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:52 pm

Do you remember if there were any messages when you ran the first command I gave you? Or did it just appear to complete successfully and still no sound? And have you rebooted since?

noob_dynasty
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:55 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by noob_dynasty » Tue Jan 15, 2019 10:03 pm

It did throw up some kind of error- but that was fixed by doing the following

sudo apt install wget

and then I ran the code you provided but removed -q0- for it to work.

I have a file called raw stored on my system now.

And I did reboot. Right now, I am updating via Update Manager and going to restart again to see if that helps.

Sorry I didn't make proper note of the error. Do you want me to run that code again and see what happens?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2835
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by MrEen » Tue Jan 15, 2019 10:20 pm

I'm not sure what's all in there, so I'm not sure about trying again. I'm guessing the flags being left off (-q0) might be why it didn't work the way it should. Trying to find out more info...

Here's one of a few posts were there weren't any issues: viewtopic.php?f=48&t=277959&p=1528918&h ... A#p1531692

I suggest deleting the raw file(folder?) and trying it again when you're ready.

noob_dynasty
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:55 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install.

Post by noob_dynasty » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:40 pm

Hey it worked! Thanks a lot for sticking with me and helping me out. My best guess is that when I last ran the command, I didn't have pulseaudio installed - perhaps that's why it didn't work. Ran it again and I have sound. Thank you! :D

User avatar
MrEen
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2835
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No audio on a fresh install (ASUS E200H) [SOLVED]

Post by MrEen » Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:24 pm

Fantastic! Glad I could help, noob_dynasty!

Have fun! :D

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”