How to make Nemo default?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Skalman
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:28 pm

How to make Nemo default?

Post by Skalman » Mon Jan 14, 2019 10:50 am

How to make Nemo default?
Want to change from Caja.
The menues don't give any choises.
Nemo is installed via the software Manger.
Thanks.

gm10
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8163
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by gm10 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:05 am

As long as you have installed it correctly it does show up in this dropdown in the Preferred Applications tool:
nemo-preferred.png
nemo-preferred.png (28.24 KiB) Viewed 254 times
Note that if you didn't rename the shortcuts in the menu they'll both be called "Files", so either distinguish via the icon or rename them first.

Further note that as far as I recall the default association is imperfect, many things will open with Caja regardless. I didn't try right now to confirm that's still the case though.

Skalman
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:28 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by Skalman » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:41 pm

Thank You gm10.
But.....tha's what not happens. I got only the Caja and a file browser called DoubleCommander. Then Nemo never comes up. That's why I'm asking.
Other suggestions?
Edit some file somewhere in terminal?

gm10
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8163
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by gm10 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:13 pm

Did you try logging out and back in?

Otherwise edit ~/.config/mimeapps.list and change references to caja to nemo.desktop.

Skalman
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:28 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by Skalman » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:31 am

Thank you gm10.
I edited the file as sudo xed --- saved and restarted the computer.
Listing the file says:
application/x-ms-dos-executable=wine.desktop
x-content/audio-cdda=xplayer.desktop
# inode/directory=caja-folder-handler.desktop
inode/directory=nemo.desktop
x-scheme-handler/mailto=thunderbird.desktop
application/x-extension-eml=thunderbird.desktop

Checking the menu Caja is still the default browser.
Never mind. I have an icon on the panel to start Nemo with.

gm10
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8163
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by gm10 » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:44 am

You mean the "Places" links on the menu? Yeah, for reasons incomprehensible to me the Mint team decided to hardcode them to Caja in mintMenu, unfortunately the actual association will be ignored. If you're feeling adventurous, here's a quick patch to that part of the menu that should make it respect the association you configure:

Code: Select all

sudo sed -i 's/caja/xdg-open/' /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/places.py
Right-click the menu icon and select to Reload plugins after that.

If there's even an update to mintMenu you'll need to re-apply that patch.

gm10
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8163
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by gm10 » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:44 am

gm10 wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:44 am
If there's even an update to mintMenu you'll need to re-apply that patch.
Update on that: Actually you won't need to, because the next update will include the proper fix for this that I submitted. ;)

Skalman
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:28 pm

Re: How to make Nemo default?

Post by Skalman » Tue Jan 22, 2019 3:12 pm

Thank You all.
You know what, I wait for the update.
In meentime I have installed the xfe file browser, happy with that. I also have functions I like, double windows and more.
:)

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”