Desktop sound isn't recorded [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Desktop sound isn't recorded [SOLVED]

Post by pascal111 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:14 am

I installed Kazam and OBS screen recorders but they failed to record desktop sounds, is there a problem in my sound driver, my computer is Lenovo ideapad 330. I used OBS in Windows and it worked fine, I tried Kazam but I found sound isn't recorded so I installed OBS and hoped that I'll finally will record my videos smoothly but suddenly I found same problem that was with Kazam.

Is there a problem for the "off" hardware in this image:
Image
Last edited by pascal111 on Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:56 am

Also Kazam can't run webcam, I needed to install Guvcview and thought it a driver for Linux, so, no sound or webcam with Kazam although before installing it I read that it's good reputation.

Image

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6604
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by Flemur » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:09 pm

Install "pavucontrol" and set the input as shown below (to "MONITOR OF...") :
https://manual.audacityteam.org/man/tut ... linux.html
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox/pulse-less
Lubuntu LXDE/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8362
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by phd21 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:02 pm

HI pascal111,

I just read your post and the good replies to it. Here are my thoughts on this as well.

If you want to record your desktop video and sound, I would highly recommend SimpleScreenRecorder (ssr).

If you just want to record sound from your desktop, then see this recent post.

Onscreen Audio Recorder - Linux Mint Forums
viewtopic.php?f=47&t=292244

"guvcview" is a superb webcam application that can record webcam and (V4L = video for Linux devices) video and or audio. The newer version of "webcamoid" is pretty cool too.

Depending upon your computer hardware setup, you may have to turn on various components like a microphone, and or to select which audio components you want to use and adjust their volumes. Installing "pulse audio volume control" and "qasmixer" can help with that.

"OBS" is supposed to be great but unfortunately for me and my ancient under-powered computer hardware, I cannot run it because it requires a video card capable of openGL v3.x or higher. Like with all applications regarding video and or audio, you may have to select the correct audio and or video sources for them to work properly.

If you just installed certain software, you may have to reboot or restart your computer before it will work properly.

Also, you may have conflicts when running similar applications like Kazam and guvcview at the same time.

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:12 pm

I'm in work now, there's no Linux system here, maybe I'll try to install Linux here in work once but first I've to be so good in Linux not to make someone to say if I failed do a job with Linux "hey, why you didn't use Windows, we told you Linux is complex", not to make Linux reputation comes low, I know that there's a solution for every problem with Linux but we still learning.

When I'll back to home I'll try Flemur and phd21 solutions.

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:32 am

I googled for "pavucontrol" and found this link that has "pavucontrol" install and "pulseaudio-equalizer" install, I've installed both but I saw no equalizer in my Mint menu but in "Sound & Video" I found "PulseAudio Volume Control" and I recorded this next short video that show you all what I've in this volume control and the audio still canno't recorded well.

https://www.everything-linux-101.com/ta ... inux-mint/

The video:
https://youtu.be/7pGAOvSJIu4

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8362
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by phd21 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:39 am

Hi pascal111,

First, is your sound working, can you hear music or audio and watch videos okay?

"PulseAudio Volume Control" (pavucontrol) is nice for adjusting which sound sources that are available and which are in use as primary default sound source or per application which the Linux Mint sound settings can also do.

Please bring up QasMixer and make it full screen and make sure the "mixers" are displayed (F6) in the upper right, click "sysdefault", and take a screenshot of that and post that for us to see.

Can you be more specific as to what you are trying to record, video and audio, or just audio, from a webcam, or anything playing through the speakers from browser, music apps, media player, etc...? Did you read the link on recording sound?

You can install and use SimpleScreenRecorder (ssr) and use its defaults to record your desktop video and audio. Afterward, if you want just an audio file from the video, you can use "soundKonverter" and other applications to convert (extract) the audio from the video into practically any audio file type (mp3, wav, flac, etc...).

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

Update: I watched your video. As I stated before I cannot use OBS, but you might consider increasing the OBS volume above 25%. As for the sound settings, I recommend using the built-in audio analog stereo, and all your profiles under the sound settings configuration tab show hdmi unplugged? It shows you are using a headset for output. Do you have anything connected as HDMI, if so what?

Hope this helps ...
Last edited by phd21 on Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6604
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by Flemur » Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:02 pm

pascal111 wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:32 am
I googled for "pavucontrol" and found this link that has "pavucontrol" install and "pulseaudio-equalizer" install, I've installed both
The P.A. equalizer is DOA, IIRC, replaced by a more generalized processor. At any rate it's not needed and might just cause problems before you get things sorted out.

As a first step, @phd21, does any audio work?

2nd step: try recording just the desktop audio using audacity (there are other audio recorders, but audacity has input controls which I've found can affect other programs even when it's not running). Play a video with sound, make sure you can hear it, then start audacity, get it to record - you can see the waveform and audio VU as audacity records (or doesn't record!).

If all else fails, you can run a patch-cord from your "line-out" to your "line-in" and record from line-in; sometimes you might get feedback, but that's fixable.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox/pulse-less
Lubuntu LXDE/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:27 pm

Okay, providing more details:

- In default state I hear the audio yes, but it can't be recorded.
- I connect speakers to the laptop not a headphone, but headphone appeared connected and speakers unavailable like these images:

Image

Image

The QasMixer view looks:

Image

The "inxi -Fxzd" and "lsusb" terminal reaction is:

Code: Select all

pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ sudo apt-get install qasmixer
[sudo] password for pascal:                  
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following additional packages will be installed:
  qastools-common
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  qasmixer qastools-common
0 upgraded, 2 newly installed, 0 to remove and 286 not upgraded.
Need to get 279 kB of archives.
After this operation, 1,114 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
Get:1 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic/universe amd64 qastools-common all 0.21.0-1.1 [17.6 kB]
Get:2 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic/universe amd64 qasmixer amd64 0.21.0-1.1 [262 kB]
Fetched 279 kB in 2s (167 kB/s)   
Selecting previously unselected package qastools-common.
(Reading database ... 291054 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../qastools-common_0.21.0-1.1_all.deb ...
Unpacking qastools-common (0.21.0-1.1) ...
Selecting previously unselected package qasmixer.
Preparing to unpack .../qasmixer_0.21.0-1.1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking qasmixer (0.21.0-1.1) ...
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.60ubuntu1) ...
Processing triggers for desktop-file-utils (0.23+linuxmint4) ...
Setting up qastools-common (0.21.0-1.1) ...
Processing triggers for man-db (2.8.3-2ubuntu0.1) ...
Setting up qasmixer (0.21.0-1.1) ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme (0.17-2) ...
pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ inxi -Fxzd
System:
  Host: pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 
  bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 
  Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 81D6 v: Lenovo ideapad 330-15AST 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: LENOVO model: LNVNB161216 v: No DPK serial: <filter> 
  UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO v: 8UCN06WW date: 04/10/2018 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 9.5 Wh condition: 29.5/30.6 Wh (96%) 
  model: CPT-COS L16C2PB2 status: Charging 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: AMD E2-9000 RADEON R2 4 COMPUTE CORES 2C+2G 
  bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Excavator L2 cache: 1024 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 7199 
  Speed: 1397 MHz min/max: 1200/1800 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1253 2: 1222 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD vendor: Lenovo driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 00:01.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu,ati 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: AMD STONEY (DRM 3.23.0 4.15.0-20-generic LLVM 7.0.0) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.2.8 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD vendor: Lenovo driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:01.1 
  Device-2: AMD vendor: Lenovo driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:09.2 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-20-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8821CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter 
  vendor: Lenovo driver: N/A port: 2000 bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Lenovo RTL810xE driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 1000 
  bus ID: 02:00.0 
  IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 931.51 GiB used: 18.95 GiB (2.0%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD10SPZX-24Z10T0 
  size: 931.51 GiB temp: 32 C 
  Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: HL-DT-ST model: DVDRAM GUE0N rev: T.02 
  dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw 
  Features: speed: 24 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes 
  rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 91.17 GiB used: 14.46 GiB (15.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6 
  ID-2: /home size: 182.34 GiB used: 4.49 GiB (2.5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8 
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 5.59 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7 
Sensors:
  Message: No sensors data was found. Is sensors configured? 
Info:
  Processes: 200 Uptime: 3h 50m Memory: 3.45 GiB used: 1.31 GiB (38.1%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 13d3:5a02 IMC Networks 
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0bda:c024 Realtek Semiconductor Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0000:3825  
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0438:7900 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 003: ID 2a7a:9a18  
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0a05:7211 Unknown Manufacturer hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ 


User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:37 pm

Also, I ran this command "alsamixer" and tried to unmute any parameter like source said in this link [url]file:///home/pascal/Documents/Audio/pulseaudio%20-%20Ubuntu%2016.04%20No%20Sound%20from%20Speakers,%20only%20headphones%20working%20-%20Ask%20Ubuntu.html[/url]

I found if I pressed F6 to choose sound card that I've two, one has no parameters and the other has the shown parameters in next images:

Image

Image

Image

Image

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8362
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by phd21 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:52 pm

Hi pascal111,

Now we know you are using a Lenova laptop ideapad 330-15AST with Linux Mint Mate 19.1 installed (64-bit) with appx. 4gb of system memory (ram).

Q?: Does it have one audio jack for headset/headphones or 2 audio jacks, one for microphone and another for speakers / headset? It looks to me like it has "Headphone/microphone combo jack" which means to use speakers or a separate standalone mic with standard 3.5mm plugs, you would need an audio splitter cable ("y" cable). Perhaps the laptop came with this adapter?

Amazon.com: Kingtop 3.5mm Combo Audio Adapter Cable for PS4,Xbox One S,Tablet,Mobile Phone,PC Gaming Headsets and New Version Laptop: Home Audio & Theater
https://www.amazon.com/Kingtop-Adapter- ... 5Y4GHCS74W


A.) Need a screenshot of QasMixer with the mixer "sysdefault" (upper right) selected (clicked). FYI: Your microphone is not enabled (not on)
qasmixer.jpg
Your QasMixer
B.) You did not answer whether you have your laptop connected to anything using HDMI?

Hope this helps ...
.
For comparison this my QasMixer on the sysdefault mixer, my default mixer looks exactly like yours.
I have 2 microphones a regular mic (mic input 0) as part of a headset and a USB webcam mic (mic input 1)
qasmixer-phd21.jpg
phd21 qasmixer
Last edited by phd21 on Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6604
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by Flemur » Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:01 pm

FWIW, your qasmixer shot looks incomplete. Mine looks like:
qasmixer.jpg
and had even more entries with a fancier audio card.

What does

Code: Select all

aplay -l 
return?
And

Code: Select all

aplay -L 
?
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Manjaro openbox/fluxbox/pulse-less
Lubuntu LXDE/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:13 pm

I've one jack port, it seems like been told it's for jack that has two branch, one for speakers and other for mic, but I've internal mic in Lenovo.

If hdmi like what is in next link, no I don't have something connected to my computer like that.
https://www.google.com/search?q=hdmi&so ... 66&bih=640

This QasMixer new image:
Image

I installed too the SSR, the same result:
https://youtu.be/F47ZBQ3SAzE

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8362
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by phd21 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:30 pm

HI pascal111

Your qasmixer does not look correct, select the other audio device as your default and try qasmixer again.

What does the laptop show for exact make and model (usually located on bottom)?

You still need an audio adapter cable to plug separate standalone speakers or standalone microphone using 3.5mm plugs into your laptop's single headset combo jack port or they will not sound or work correctly. Your laptop's audio jack was designed for headsets with a microphone using only one 3.5mm plug. I would be surprised if they did not provide you that adapter with your laptop. If you do not have that adapter, then I would unplug anything from that headset audio jack port, use the laptop's built-in speakers and mic.

You might also benefit by updating the Linux Kernel to the 4.18.xx series which you can do from the Mint update manager (reboot afterward)

What are the results when you run this command

Code: Select all

aplay -l
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture - ArchWiki
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad ... chitecture

Advanced Linux Sound Architecture - ArchWiki
set default sound card
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad ... sound_card

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:47 pm

I'm sure that Lenovo provide its modern computers with jack ports of "y" type as you mentioned, there's no problem to get a cable.

sysdefault is the same for both cards like previous image I showed you but they're not the same in this images:

Image

Image

Code: Select all

pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: Generic Analog [Generic Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ 

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 2:49 pm

This's what Flemur asked but I didn't get it, I thought he's talking about these commands :)

Code: Select all

pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ aplay -L 
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output
dmix:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3
    HDA ATI HDMI, HDMI 0
    Hardware device with all software conversions
sysdefault:CARD=Generic
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
dmix:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, Generic Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ 


User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8362
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by phd21 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:17 pm

Hi pascal111,

Are those your laptop's qasmixer screens? Why didn't we see the "cards" section on the right before, only visible with hw selected?

If it were me I would set and use "card 1" Realtek Generic as the default.

run this command and show us the results.

Code: Select all

pactl list short sinks
sound - How do you set a default audio output device in Ubuntu 18.04? - Ask Ubuntu
https://askubuntu.com/questions/1038490 ... 04/1038492

Because I do not have any computers with multiple sound cards or HDMI sound devices, I am not very familiar with what the best settings would be for your laptop computer.

How to Fix the No Sound Issue in Ubuntu - Make Tech Easier
https://www.maketecheasier.com/fix-no-s ... ue-ubuntu/

Setting Default Audio Device in Ubuntu 18.04 | rastating.github.io
https://rastating.github.io/setting-def ... ntu-18-04/

PulseAudio Default Output Won't Stay - Development Discussion - Ubuntu MATE Community
https://ubuntu-mate.community/t/pulseau ... ay/16452/9

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:27 pm

Yes, it show me two cards!!

"pactl list short sinks"

Code: Select all

pascal@pascal-Lenovo-ideapad-330-15AST:~$ pactl list short sinks
0	alsa_output.pci-0000_00_09.2.analog-stereo	module-alsa-card.c	s16le 2ch 44100Hz	SUSPENDED

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8362
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by phd21 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:37 pm

Hi pascal111,

There are others in this forum that could probably provide more help with audio settings on computers like yours with multiple audio cards.

If it were me, I would remove the current user pulse audio config which is safe to do and let it automatically recreate it after rebooting.

Code: Select all

sudo rm -r ~/.config/pulse
The recheck your sound settings and change the default to use Card1. If you see different screens, then post them.

I don't know why when you ran the command below it only shows one audio sink? Even on my system with only one audio card I get more.

Code: Select all

pactl list short sinks
You might also try creating another user account, logging into that user account and see if the audio is working.

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
pascal111
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2019 4:09 pm

Re: Desktop sound isn't recorded

Post by pascal111 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:51 pm

You won't believe me :D I removed it as you said and restarted Mint, it works 100% now except I don't understand what has happened to make it to work :D

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”