mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
SALVE
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Supper Pradesh

mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError [SOLVED]

Post by SALVE »

I had MintMenu broken after some update in Felicia, I got rid of that and thought that after upgrading to Gloria it would be OK. But I have the same message in 'Applications' section:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py", line 249, in PopulatePlugins
    MyPlugin = X.pluginclass( self, self.toggle )

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 253, in __init__
    mymenu = Menu( mainitems )

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 80, in __init__
    self.directory = xdg.Menu.parse( menu )

  File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 65, in xdgParsePatched
    xdg.Menu.__genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(xdg.Menu.tmp["Root"])

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 856, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
    __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated(submenu)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 859, in __genmenuNotOnlyAllocated
    tmp["cache"].addMenuEntries(menu.AppDirs)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 1022, in addMenuEntries
    self.__addFiles(dir, "", prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 1036, in __addFiles
    self.__addFiles(dir, os.path.join(subdir,item), prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 1036, in __addFiles
    self.__addFiles(dir, os.path.join(subdir,item), prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 1036, in __addFiles
    self.__addFiles(dir, os.path.join(subdir,item), prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 1036, in __addFiles
    self.__addFiles(dir, os.path.join(subdir,item), prefix, legacy)

  File "/var/lib/python-support/python2.6/xdg/Menu.py", line 1028, in __addFiles
    menuentry = MenuEntry(os.path.join(subdir,item), dir, prefix)

  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/posixpath.py", line 70, in join
    path += '/' + b

UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode bytes in position 13-14: invalid data
I thought that the issue is shown in the last line, i.e.

Code: Select all

UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode bytes in position 13-14: invalid data
The situation with locations:

locale -a

Code: Select all

bn_BD
bn_IN
C
el_CY.utf8
el_GR.utf8
en_AU.utf8
en_BW.utf8
en_CA.utf8
en_DK.utf8
en_GB.utf8
en_HK.utf8
en_IE.utf8
en_IN
en_NG
en_NZ.utf8
en_PH.utf8
en_SG.utf8
en_US.utf8
en_ZA.utf8
en_ZW.utf8
ja_JP.utf8
ko_KR.utf8
POSIX
ru_RU.utf8
ru_UA.utf8
xh_ZA.utf8
zh_CN.utf8
zh_HK.utf8
zh_SG.utf8
zh_TW.utf8
apt reinstall mintmenu didn't help.

What can be done here?
Last edited by SALVE on Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by Husse »

Have you tried right click > Reload plugins
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
SALVE
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Supper Pradesh

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by SALVE »

Husse wrote:Have you tried right click > Reload plugins
Yes, I have. No result. :(
Image

User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7525
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by DrHu »


User avatar
SALVE
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Supper Pradesh

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by SALVE »

Thanks for the link, but I found no suggestion for my case. :roll:
Image

User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7525
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by DrHu »

  • Comment by: ryooichi on Fri, 08 May 2009 02:19:29 +0000
    4.7-3 simplifies choosing between using gtkpacman (the default) and disabling both "package manager" and "software manager" options that are present on the default mintmenu. To disable both, simply uncomment lines 16 and 32 and comment lines 15 and 31 in the PKGBUILD.
None of those suggestions..

--and you might PM Glem as he replied in that link
  • Comment by: ryooichi on Thu, 21 May 2009 13:44:19 +0000
    From the changelog:
    mintmenu (4.7.6) gloria; urgency=low
    * Updated translations
    -- Clement Lefebvre <root@linuxmint.com> Tue, 19 May 2009 18:16:00 +0000
    mintmenu (4.7.5) gloria; urgency=low

User avatar
SALVE
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Supper Pradesh

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by SALVE »

DrHu wrote:Comment by: ryooichi on Fri, 08 May 2009 02:19:29 +0000 4.7-3 simplifies choosing between using gtkpacman (the default) and disabling both "package manager" and "software manager" options that are present on the default mintmenu. To disable both, simply uncomment lines 16 and 32 and comment lines 15 and 31 in the PKGBUILD.
Sorry, but I still don't understand. I don't use Arch, I don't want to build a package with special options... How this information can help me? I just want to make that applet working as it should be by default.
Image

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by Husse »

MintMenu is ported to Arch
In all honesty I don't get it either
When I saw that DrHu answered I dropped this - he mostly provides good answers although sometimes a bit cryptic (as here :))
Delete the hidden .linuxmint/mintMenu folder in home and reinstall mintMenu
Think it does it, but of course you loose non default menu entries
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
SALVE
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Supper Pradesh

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by SALVE »

Husse wrote:Delete the hidden .linuxmint/mintMenu folder in home and reinstall mintMenu
Hmm... Well, the fact is, I don't have mintMenu folder there. :shock: It's very strange for me, because 'Resent documents' are shown pretty well ('Places' and 'System' plug-ins too) and can be deleted normally. Lost config indeed... :| I tried to purge 'gnome-main-menu' package along with .config/gnome-main-menu folder and reinstalled mintMenu afterwards. No effect. :cry:
Image

User avatar
SALVE
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 9:46 am
Location: Supper Pradesh

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by SALVE »

SOLVED!

That mysterious config folder, that should be deleted was ~/.config/menus
That's all. Everything is working fine now. I think, if I deleted it first, it wouldn't be necessary to reinstall the package.

Yeah, now I can touch the new Gloria's mintMenu. It's very nice indeed! :wink: Thank you!
Image

User avatar
Acid_1
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError

Post by Acid_1 »

SALVE wrote:SOLVED!

That mysterious config folder, that should be deleted was ~/.config/menus
That's all. Everything is working fine now. I think, if I deleted it first, it wouldn't be necessary to reinstall the package.

Yeah, now I can touch the new Gloria's mintMenu. It's very nice indeed! :wink: Thank you!
Splendid. Worked for me too.

ravenkwill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:15 pm

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError [NOT SOLVED]

Post by ravenkwill »

Not solved.

I deleted the .config/menus folder and restarted, same message as before. Need other ideas???

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu.py", line 249, in PopulatePlugins
MyPlugin = X.pluginclass( self, self.toggle )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 255, in __init__
self.menuFileMonitors.append( filemonitor.addMonitor(f, self.onMenuChanged, mymenu.directory.Filename ) )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/filemonitor.py", line 27, in addMonitor
mask = pyinotify.EventsCodes.IN_DELETE | pyinotify.EventsCodes.IN_CREATE | pyinotify.EventsCodes.IN_MODIFY

AttributeError: type object 'EventsCodes' has no attribute 'IN_DELETE'
Last edited by ravenkwill on Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

ravenkwill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:15 pm

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError [NOT SOLVED]

Post by ravenkwill »

Tried reinstalling mintmenu as well. Same error message. From earlier posts, I uninstalled Wine, which I never used anyway. None of that has worked. For me, this all happened directly after the last Mint Update today. Is there a way to roll back an update, see if it works then?

dmpeters63
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:45 am

Re: mintMenu & UnicodeDecodeError [SOLVED]

Post by dmpeters63 »

I'm with ravenkwill - my menu is busted since the last update. Tried to reload, remove, autoremove, install - and nothing.
Does anyone have any ideas?

Hey found some more info and SOLVED the issue.
Go here for what is broken and how to fix - http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 49#p230949

But a long story short its the new release of pyinotify 0.8.
I have ubuntuone on my computer and it updated to the newest version which I guess causes a problem.

I am no expert - just a newb.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”