architecture question

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
chazb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

architecture question

Post by chazb » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:24 pm

LM 18.3 Sylvia, Xfce
I have discovered that Linux Mint is not architecture dependent, like Microsoft is. But, Linux Mint still "thinks" so to speak, that it is still in the original computer. My question is; is there a way to (for the lack of a better term) tell the OS that it is in a different hardware enviorme3nt? Short of re-installing the OS..
Yo Newbees,,,,It is said, if you use root to make changes to your OS you could, damage your system. But I have discovered that you can do far more damage with sudo...... When in the slightest doubt, ask on the Forum first.

gm10
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7162
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: architecture question

Post by gm10 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:32 pm

The Linux kernel detects your current hardware each time during boot, that's why you can generally just place an installed system into another device. That's also why you need to provide some details about what you "think" is not working correctly in your new device. ;)
Tune up your LM 19.x: ppa:gm10/linuxmint-tools

User avatar
MrEen
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3799
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: architecture question

Post by MrEen » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:36 pm

Hi chazb,

When you boot up, everything that has changed should be detected (not necessarily properly configured) so I think it might be best to describe what you're having an issue with.

User avatar
chazb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: architecture question

Post by chazb » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:49 pm

MrEen wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:36 pm
Hi chazb,

When you boot up, everything that has changed should be detected (not necessarily properly configured) so I think it might be best to describe what you're having an issue with.
No particular issue at the moment. As I am running with old hardware Dell Inspiron 1525, and the budget doesn't allow me to go out and buy a new laptop. I was wondering if there where standard way to update the OS, in a different box, say an HP Pavilion dv2000, as an example.
Yo Newbees,,,,It is said, if you use root to make changes to your OS you could, damage your system. But I have discovered that you can do far more damage with sudo...... When in the slightest doubt, ask on the Forum first.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3799
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: architecture question

Post by MrEen » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:52 pm

Chances are decent that if you pulled the hard drive out of your Dell Inspiron 1525 and plugged it into a new (or used) HP Pavilion dv2000, everything would just work. There might be a few configuration changes necessary, but it shouldn't be difficult to get it all working.

gm10
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7162
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: architecture question

Post by gm10 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:00 pm

chazb wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:49 pm
No particular issue at the moment.
And there probably won't be one, so I'm still trying to figure out why you created this thread. There has to be something you think is not as it should be?
Tune up your LM 19.x: ppa:gm10/linuxmint-tools

User avatar
chazb
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: architecture question

Post by chazb » Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:09 pm

gm10 wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:00 pm
chazb wrote:
Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:49 pm
No particular issue at the moment.
And there probably won't be one, so I'm still trying to figure out why you created this thread. There has to be something you think is not as it should be?
There is currently no issue. Beyond curiosity and seeking wisdom
Yo Newbees,,,,It is said, if you use root to make changes to your OS you could, damage your system. But I have discovered that you can do far more damage with sudo...... When in the slightest doubt, ask on the Forum first.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”