Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:13 am

I cloned Mint from a 500gb ssd to a 512gb nvme.

Everything seemed fine. I didn't notice any differences the first several boots.

I cloned using this method:

Code: Select all

pv < /dev/sdX > /dev/sdY
where sdX was my original ssd and sdY was my nvme.

Then I found two things were different: my backup ssd which was mounted to /media/Media X was no longer mounted and wouldn't mount. I had to manually set the mount point using the Disks gui.

After I mounted that disk, the other two disks that used to be mounted under media (but weren't mounting anymore) showed up in media on next boot.

Then I open deluge, which I have been using with a proxy (pia) for some time now, without a single issue. All my settings are the same as before. I verified the username and password for the proxy auth were correct. I'm trying to download the latest Mint Cinnamon torrent which has 1877 seeders. I am connected to 16 seeders, supposedly. But it says Downloading 0.00%. This holds true for all torrents.

What's more, when I first opened deluge, it was before I had mounted Media X (which is where my downloads are set to go). Three torrents which were seeding prior to cloning to the nvme now showed "error." After I mounted Media X again, I forced a recheck on those torrents. Ordinarily, they would find the files and quickly scan and see they are 100% completed (which they are). Instead, it just said Downloading 0.00%.

My firewall is currently set to allow incoming and outgoing.

I use Google wifi so I don't have a traditional router; however, this system is not connected to wifi. It is connected via ethernet to my switch, which is connected to my modem. So I'm not sure how to do port forwarding in this situation. But I want to stress: I never had to forward any ports before, so that shouldn't be the solution now. Nothing has changed here in my setup.

I'm only about a month in as a Linux user. Help would be appreciated.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxzd
System:
  Host: plexinux Kernel: 4.15.0-54-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: PRIME B450M-A v: Rev X.0x 
  serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1002 date: 03/07/2019 
CPU:
  Topology: 8-Core model: AMD Ryzen 7 2700 bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ 
  rev: 2 L2 cache: 4096 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 102202 
  Speed: 2794 MHz min/max: 1550/3200 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2471 2: 1268 
  3: 1265 4: 1264 5: 1636 6: 4092 7: 1636 8: 1817 9: 1270 10: 1270 11: 1644 
  12: 4090 13: 1635 14: 1819 15: 2776 16: 1269 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X] 
  vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 09:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu,ati 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,radeon,vesa tty: N/A 
  OpenGL: renderer: Radeon RX 580 Series (POLARIS10 DRM 3.23.0 
  4.15.0-54-generic LLVM 8.0.0) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 19.0.2 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD Ellesmere [Radeon RX 580] vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 09:00.1 
  Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 0b:00.3 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-54-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168NGW [Stone Peak] driver: iwlwifi 
  v: kernel bus ID: 07:00.0 
  IF: wlp7s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: ASUSTeK driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus ID: 08:00.0 
  IF: enp8s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 79.15 TiB used: 73.51 TiB (92.9%) 
  ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: Sabrent size: 476.94 GiB (this is mint)
  ID-3: /dev/sdb vendor: Samsung model: SSD 850 EVO 500GB size: 465.76 GiB (this is media x)
  ID-6: /dev/sde vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EZEX-08WN4A0 size: 931.51 GiB 
  ID-8: /dev/sdg vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EZEX-08WN4A0 size: 931.51 GiB 
  Message: No Optical or Floppy data was found. 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 467.96 GiB used: 198.56 GiB (42.4%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 42.2 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 29 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 gpu: amdgpu fan: 1267 
Info:
  Processes: 455 Uptime: 48m Memory: 31.41 GiB used: 4.34 GiB (13.8%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27
  

thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:17 am

Forgot to mention, I checked the Report tab in the Firewall Manager and Deluge didn't even appear as one of the applications in the report.

thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:41 am

Solved.

So I had mentioned that my Media X drive wasn't mounting and that I had to manually edit the mount options in the Disks utility. The tutorials I read on that said to add

Code: Select all

,ro
to

Code: Select all

nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show
... which obviously (in hindsight) means read-only. I changed it to

Code: Select all

rw
and rebooted. Torrents working again.

Although I'm not sure why they weren't downloading to my Downloads folder in my personal home directory when I tried that while troubleshooting.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by AndyMH » Sun Jul 14, 2019 9:52 am

Glad you got it working. That has to be one of the simplest commands I've seen to clone a drive, congratulations :) I haven't used pv but knew of its existence. If I'd been working at the command line I'd probably have used dd with pv to monitor progress.

The only thing I can think of as to why you had problems is that you copied from a drive that would have been say, sda, in the system to a drive that will probably now be nvme0n1 (or something very similar). I'd be interested to see what the new partition table looks like? Do a dump with

Code: Select all

sudo sfdisk --dump /dev/nvme0n1 > parttable.dump
replace nvme0n1 with whatever your nvme drive appears as in parted -l.

This is a partial dump of a standard sata ssd, have your partitions been properly renamed as nvme0n1p1, etc?

Code: Select all

label: gpt
label-id: 260FA001-FA3A-487C-8873-FAAB0A1988B7
device: /dev/sda
unit: sectors
first-lba: 34
last-lba: 468877278

/dev/sda1 : start=        2048, size=     1024000, type=C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B, uuid=925E7A77-1BD7-4C1C-A351-A7BC4A9F4E6F
I could, of course, be barking up completely the wrong tree!

With both drives in the system you will have two drives with identical UUIDs and partitions with identical UUIDs, but I've not done enough research on this to find out if it causes problems.

There are lots of cloning tools around, clonezilla probably being the most well known. Why did you go down this route?

Edit - BTW, as you seem quite happy playing around in a terminal, the disks utility is not the best way to make changes to your fstab. You are far better off doing it manually.
Last edited by AndyMH on Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:07 am

I read several forums on cloning linux and I saw several people say they had issues with Clonezilla, and several people say they had fstab issues after doing dd. Then I saw the pv method and the only responses to it from those who tried it were unreservedly positive, and it seemed simple enough, so I went with that.

So it worked well enough for me, though with my mounting issues, I may not have escaped the fstab aftermath I had hoped to avoid.

thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:11 am

I tried running

Code: Select all

sudo sfdisk --dump /dev/nvme0n1 > parttable.dump
multiple times but it just does nothing and immediately returns to the prompt.

thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:15 am

Yeah, originally my linux ssd was sda, and Media X was sdb. Now I have the original linux drive unplugged and linux is on nvme0n1; meanwhile, Media X is now sda. So probably something is unhappy with that somewhere. But I also had mounting issues with my two Windows drives which are hdd internal. I just reformatted the one that came with the build, to use for Timeshift backups. The other is my old windows plex server which I am preserving until I can get all the documents and stuff off of it. Anyway, I ended up having to mount those manually as well, which I hadn't had to do before. They used to go straight to media with no issue.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by AndyMH » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:24 am

multiple times but it just does nothing and immediately returns to the prompt
That's what it does, you need to search in your file manager to find out where it saved the file. It will be in the folder that the terminal was run from. It's a bog standard text file.

My bad, just do sudo sfdisk --dump /dev/nvme0n1 and it will appear in the terminal.

Starting point for me would be to look at your fstab, it lives in /etc and has to edited as root. Again a standard text file. You probably have horrible entries like dev-disk-by-uuid which is what disks does for you. You need to check the UUIDs in fstab against the UUIDs you get as the output from blkid in a terminal.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by AndyMH » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:27 am

You can find out a lot more about fstab in this recent post:
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=296577
Focus for this is towards getting your other drives, inc. your windows drives mounting as you want in mint.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

thomstark
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:47 pm

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by thomstark » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:41 am

Here's the output to that:

Code: Select all

label: gpt
label-id: B8B2104B-12EC-4640-A082-3C91EC8CDB6F
device: /dev/nvme0n1
unit: sectors
first-lba: 34
last-lba: 1000215182

/dev/nvme0n1p1 : start=        2048, size=     1048576, type=C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B, uuid=0F7D5142-1BBD-4B82-9DE4-97AFCE39EFDD, name="EFI System Partition"
/dev/nvme0n1p2 : start=     1050624, size=   999163904, type=0FC63DAF-8483-4772-8E79-3D69D8477DE4, uuid=42EBBDA8-5A23-4B05-8955-4AE2C0568C50

Thanks. I just got finished modifying my fstab and it looks like everything is working as I'd like again in that respect.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2163
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Deluge stopped working after cloning Mint to nvme

Post by AndyMH » Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:16 am

And the output from sfdisk looks okay
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”