[SOLVED] Where is the print-queue applet?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

[SOLVED] Where is the print-queue applet?

Post by jollyjack » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:49 am

Before I did a clean install of 19.2, I had a little icon in one of my panels that took me (almost) directly to the print queue - very useful for cancelling unwanted jobs.

I don't have it now. A little research says it's the print-queue applet I need, and that certainly autostarts. But, I can't find how to add it to the panel.

Olease, can anyone help?

Thanks
Last edited by jollyjack on Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

gittiest personITW
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 929
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Where is the print-queue applet?

Post by gittiest personITW » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:26 pm

Hi,
Can you try clicking Menu,
type printers
right-click the option that comes up, and select 'add to panel'

User avatar
blueocean
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 927
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Where is the print-queue applet?

Post by blueocean » Sat Oct 12, 2019 7:25 pm

If this pertains to Cinnamon 19.2 you put it on the panel by right clicking the panel and select add applets to the panel. Then find it in the list and click the +
It should be on the right of your panel.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.

jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: Where is the print-queue applet?

Post by jollyjack » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:34 am

@ gittiestpersonITW
That option is where I add and configure printers. There's no mention of the print queue.

@ blueocean
I'm running XFCE. When I click and select "add items", it gives me a list of possibles (eg launcher, clock, date/time) but no print queue.

Thanks for the ideas, though.

dan_me
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:41 am

Re: Where is the print-queue applet?

Post by dan_me » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:08 am

jollyjack wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:34 am
@ gittiestpersonITW
That option is where I add and configure printers. There's no mention of the print queue.
In this window you can click on Printer/View Print Queue. Or just use ctrl+f (well that works on 18.3)

jollyjack
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 10:25 am

Re: Where is the print-queue applet?

Post by jollyjack » Sun Oct 13, 2019 7:52 am

Ah!

Thank you

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”