[SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

[SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:39 pm

While restoring Clonezilla there was no restore option, only option was backup.
The answer was that I had kept the backup directory not in the uppermost root folder but in a sub directory. After moving it in the root, the restore option was visible.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by MrEen » Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:43 pm

Thanks for that.

I haven't used Clonezilla yet, but if I had, I would probably use dated sub directories, and would end up in the same boat you were in. Good to know!

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:53 pm

MrEen wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:43 pm
Thanks for that.

I haven't used Clonezilla yet, but if I had, I would probably use dated sub directories, and would end up in the same boat you were in. Good to know!
You are welcome.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9521
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:35 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:39 pm
After moving it in the root...
That is absolutely unnecessary. Clonezilla allows you to traverse up and down the directory tree. My images are down six levels. It's a PEBCAK error.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:47 pm

catweazel wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:35 pm
deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:39 pm
After moving it in the root...
That is absolutely unnecessary. Clonezilla allows you to traverse up and down the directory tree. My images are down six levels. It's a PEBCAK error.
May be my old version may have that problem, but I confirm it exists. I will try a latest version.
https://superuser.com/questions/785524/ ... clonezilla. That post is 5 year old.
Last edited by deepakdeshp on Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9521
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:50 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:47 pm
May be my old version ...
The thought crossed my mind. It may be worth updating, but create several live media. The newer versions will make images that the old versions cannot read.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

gittiest personITW
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by gittiest personITW » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:00 pm

catweazel wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:35 pm
deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:39 pm
After moving it in the root...
That is absolutely unnecessary. Clonezilla allows you to traverse up and down the directory tree. My images are down six levels. It's a PEBCAK error.
I do believe that error started very early on in computing. One can only blame the developers. I thought it went away with the new updates but I do find it occassionally happens on my system also.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9521
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:02 pm

gittiest personITW wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:00 pm
I do believe that error started very early on in computing. One can only blame the developers. I thought it went away with the new updates but I do find it occassionally happens on my system also.
Both of you must be doing something wrong. In all the years I've used czilla I've never seen it.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:05 pm

catweazel wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:50 pm
deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 4:47 pm
May be my old version ...
The thought crossed my mind. It may be worth updating, but create several live media. The newer versions will make images that the old versions cannot read.
Hope the backups with older media can be handled by the new CZ. I have all the backups with old CZ. I remember such problems 10 years ago, exact problem escapes me.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9521
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:14 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:05 pm
Hope the backups with older media can be handled by the new CZ.
It's worth testing.
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:25 pm

catweazel wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:14 pm
deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:05 pm
Hope the backups with older media can be handled by the new CZ.
It's worth testing.
Not worth testing as I don't have a spare machine, have only one laptop which is for daily use. Can't take the chance and let it go down. Strange things are known to happen which defy logic or thought.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9521
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by catweazel » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:26 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:25 pm
Not worth testing as I don't have a spare machine, have only one laptop which is for daily use. Can't take the chance and let it go down.
That's fair.
deepakdeshp wrote:Strange things are known to happen which defy logic or thought.
That's why I became a physicist :)
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

gittiest personITW
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 619
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by gittiest personITW » Sat Oct 12, 2019 5:36 pm

I do believe that error started very early on in computing. One can only blame the developers. I thought it went away with the new updates but I do find it occassionally happens on my system also.
I've never had to restore a Clonezilla image in anger yet.
I was talking specifically about the PEBCAK error. :wink:

bjmh46
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by bjmh46 » Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:59 am

FWIW, I use two versions of Clonezilla (for various reasons). Older version is 2.3.1.18 and "newer" version (which allows drilling down into directories) is 2.5.6.22. My favorite is the older version for its simplicity. I can confirm that images created in either, are restorable with the other. I gave the exact version numbers in order to be very specific--ie I am not stating that all versions will behave this way, but for these particular versions interchangeability is not an issue. Also for the record, I find the logic of picking the image repository in later versions to be a bit confusing, after using the older versions for many years. I have a tentendency for "muscle memory" to take over, and I will click thru screens without looking--bad!

Bob

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5847
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Clonezilla no restore option

Post by deepakdeshp » Sun Oct 13, 2019 6:40 am

bjmh46 wrote:
Sun Oct 13, 2019 5:59 am
FWIW, I use two versions of Clonezilla (for various reasons). Older version is 2.3.1.18 and "newer" version (which allows drilling down into directories) is 2.5.6.22. My favorite is the older version for its simplicity. I can confirm that images created in either, are restorable with the other. I gave the exact version numbers in order to be very specific--ie I am not stating that all versions will behave this way, but for these particular versions interchangeability is not an issue. Also for the record, I find the logic of picking the image repository in later versions to be a bit confusing, after using the older versions for many years. I have a tentendency for "muscle memory" to take over, and I will click thru screens without looking--bad!

Bob
Great thanks for the explanation. I will stick to the older version too as I have used it often. The hitch was no restore option. I know it's answer.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”