Joplin AppImage not responding

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
glocal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:45 am

Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by glocal » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:13 pm

Trying to install Joplin, I followed the instructions on https://joplinapp.org and executed this:

Code: Select all

 wget -O - https://raw.githubusercontent.com/laurent22/joplin/master/Joplin_install_and_update.sh | bash 
which should install an AppImage. When I double-click the installed AppImage file, nothing happens though. I checked and the file is indeed executable. What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by Flemur » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:49 pm

glocal wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:13 pm

Code: Select all

 wget -O - https://raw.githubusercontent.com/laurent22/joplin/master/Joplin_install_and_update.sh | bash 
which should install an AppImage. When I double-click the installed AppImage file, nothing happens though. I checked and the file is indeed executable. What am I doing wrong?
It worked for me - try it in a terminal to see error messages -

Code: Select all

~/.joplin/Joplin.AppImage
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

jglen490
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by jglen490 » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:42 pm

I've had occasional problems with appimages. It may just be a bad download. You could try it again.

Appimagaes are supposed to be self-contained, there could be a conflict wit something on your system. Not really fond of the whole concept of being self-contained, whether appimage, snap, or flatpak. Maybe someday it will all just work.
I feel more like I do than I did when I got here.
Toshiba A135-S2386, Intel T2080, ATI Radeon® Xpress 200M Chipset, 2GB RAM, 500GB

glocal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by glocal » Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:08 am

I started all over again, downloaded the file and there were no error messages. Then I executed it and I get:

Code: Select all

 bash: /home/username/.joplin/Joplin.Appimage: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error 

glocal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by glocal » Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:19 am

Flemur wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:49 pm
It worked for me - try it in a terminal to see error messages -
Before I contact the dev of Joplin, do you mean the AppImage file executed OK and Joplin ran on your system? If that is the case, there must be something wrong with my setup.

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by BenTrabetere » Wed Dec 04, 2019 9:49 pm

glocal wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 7:08 am
I started all over again, downloaded the file and there were no error messages. Then I executed it and I get:

Code: Select all

 bash: /home/username/.joplin/Joplin.Appimage: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error 
That command will not work for a few reasons, none of which are really important right now.

Earlier you posted that executed the install script from the website. I do not agree that this is the "recommended way" manage an AppImage. Go back to the website, https://github.com/laurent22/joplin, and click on the Get It On Linux icon/link. You will be prompted to save the file Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage. It does not matter where you save the file.

Open your file manager and navigate to the folder where you downloaded the Joplin AppImage. Next, right-click on the icon and open the properties - click on the Permissions tab and click the Allow executing as program box. Close the properties, and double-click the icon.

Joplin should launch. You will be prompted to integrate Joplin to your system - this will add icons to the Menu. Joplin will run just fine if you answer No, but you will receive the same prompt the next time you run Joplin.

If run into problems, you can launch the Joplin AppImage from the command line. Open a terminal and navigate to the directory where the Joplin AppImage resides, and enter

Code: Select all

./Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage

glocal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by glocal » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:31 am

Thanks for the detailed response. I had followed these steps already. I downloaded the file separately, set Permissions manually and executed the file both through the GUI and in a terminal. I always get 'cannot execute binary file: Exec format error'.

So, either the file is corrupt or, if it runs on other people's systems, my setup is different. That's why I asked if it ran successfully on someone else's system.

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by BenTrabetere » Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:15 pm

glocal wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:31 am
So, either the file is corrupt or, if it runs on other people's systems, my setup is different.
Okay. Open a terminal, run the following commands, and post the results. Be sure to enclose the results in Code tags - that is the </> icon on the menu bar. This will make the results easier to read.

Code: Select all

arch
This will indicate the machine architecture

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
This will give a more detailed report of the hardware

Finally, navigate to the directory where the Joplin AppImage is located and enter.

Code: Select all

file Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage
The results from this command should be similar to

Code: Select all

$ file Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage
Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib64/l, for GNU/Linux 2.6.18, BuildID[sha1]=79dcc4e55a61c293c5e19edbd8d65b202842579f, stripped

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by Flemur » Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:56 pm

deleted
Last edited by Flemur on Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by BenTrabetere » Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:07 pm

Flemur wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:56 pm
glocal wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:31 am
Thanks for the detailed response. I had followed these steps already. I downloaded the file separately, set Permissions manually and executed the file both through the GUI and in a terminal. I always get 'cannot execute binary file: Exec format error'.
Don't use 'bash' to start it - do what BenTrabetere and I described.
The "bash" command he provided is actually an error message. A common culprit is trying to run a 64-bit AppImage on a 32-bit OS.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7378
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by Flemur » Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:42 pm

BenTrabetere wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:07 pm
The "bash" command he provided is actually an error message. A common culprit is trying to run a 64-bit AppImage on a 32-bit OS.
I missed the ":" - deleting the other comment!
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?

glocal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by glocal » Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:59 pm

BenTrabetere wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 2:07 pm
A common culprit is trying to run a 64-bit AppImage on a 32-bit OS.
I think this is it. I followed the steps above and I got this:

Code: Select all

glocal@glocal-eee:~$ arch
i686
glocal@glocal-eee:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
  Host: glocal-eee Kernel: 4.15.0-65-generic i686 bits: 32 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: 1000H v: x.x serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: ASUSTeK model: 1000H v: x.xx serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: American Megatrends v: 1005 date: 08/01/2008 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 30.2 Wh condition: 31.2/55.3 Wh (57%) model: ASUS 1000H 
  status: Charging 
CPU:
  Topology: Single Core model: Intel Atom N270 bits: 32 type: MT 
  arch: Bonnell rev: 2 L2 cache: 512 KiB 
  flags: nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 bogomips: 6384 
  Speed: 798 MHz min/max: 800/1600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 916 2: 923 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics vendor: ASUSTeK 
  driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: intel 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1024x600~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2 v: 1.4 Mesa 19.0.8 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio vendor: ASUSTeK 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-65-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Ralink RT2790 Wireless 802.11n 1T/2R PCIe driver: rt2800pci 
  v: 2.3.0 port: ffa0 bus ID: 01:00.0 
  IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 Gigabit or Fast Ethernet 
  vendor: ASUSTeK driver: ATL1E v: N/A port: ec00 bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 149.05 GiB used: 134.16 GiB (90.0%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST9160827AS size: 149.05 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 143.04 GiB used: 133.48 GiB (93.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-1 
  ID-2: /boot size: 703.5 MiB used: 686.9 MiB (97.6%) fs: ext4 
  dev: /dev/sda1 
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 1.99 GiB used: 8.3 MiB (0.4%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 53.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 890 
Info:
  Processes: 173 Uptime: 10h 47m Memory: 1.89 GiB used: 1.29 GiB (68.1%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
glocal@glocal-eee:~/Desktop$ file Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage
Joplin-1.0.174-x86_64.AppImage: ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib, for GNU/Linux 2.6.18, BuildID[sha1]=79dcc4e55a61c293c5e19edbd8d65b202842579f, stripped
It's a very old and underpowered machine which won't take the 64 bit OS, if that's the problem.

User avatar
BenTrabetere
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:04 am
Location: Hattiesburg, MS USA

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by BenTrabetere » Fri Dec 06, 2019 1:43 am

glocal wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:59 pm
It's a very old and underpowered machine which won't take the 64 bit OS, if that's the problem.
That is the source of your problem. This is a 64-bit AppImage, and it will not run on a 32-bit OS. You might want to consider taking Tomboy and Zim for a test drive. They are not my favorite note-taking applications, but they are functional. I am pretty sure 32-bit versions are available for both, and I am pretty sure Tomboy is installed with Linux Mint and Zim can be installed via Software Manager.

Another option is Simplenote - both 32-bit and 64-bit AppImages are available. 32-bit and 64-bit debs are available, too. I have not used Simplenote because it requires you to set up an account and you cannot use the application without an account. I have seen positive reviews. https://simplenote.com/

glocal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Joplin AppImage not responding

Post by glocal » Fri Dec 06, 2019 9:06 am

I have been looking around for over a year and Joplin is the only one I found being open source, cross-platform, syncing across mobile and desktop devices with E2E encryption and zero-knowledge even through Dropbox. I am not sure how difficult it is for the dev to build a 32 bit version from the source, but I doubt he will be keen. I think they are working on a web interface. Otherwise, the Linux machine will have to live without syncing. One day I may find the time to set up Nextcloud to solve this and more once and for all.

Many thanks for the help.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”