No proprietary drivers in use

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
Jotabe309
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:49 pm

No proprietary drivers in use

Post by Jotabe309 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:49 am

Hello,

I have a new graphics card (integrated): AMD Ryzen 5 3400G with Radeon Vega Graphics × 4 and got the error message above from Driver Manager.

How could I get the right driver for that card?

And YES, I had to reinstall LM 19.2 again, because the installed LM got a lot of error messages and I couldn't use it.

Thank you in advance for helping.

Hoser Rob
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5682
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by Hoser Rob » Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:25 am

Driver Manager wasn't giving you an error message, not all cards have drivers that will show up.

More info is probably needed, post the text output of inxi -Fxz run in the terminal.

However, my guess is that you need the amdgpu-pro driver, which wouldn't show up in DM.

User avatar
Moem
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9753
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by Moem » Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:25 am

That's not an error message. Not all hardware needs proprietary drivers; many systems do just fine with the open source drivers that are built into the kernel.
Is your hardware performing well?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Jotabe309
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by Jotabe309 » Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:39 am

Hoser Rob wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 11:25 am
Driver Manager wasn't giving you an error message, not all cards have drivers that will show up.

More info is probably needed, post the text output of inxi -Fxz run in the terminal.

However, my guess is that you need the amdgpu-pro driver, which wouldn't show up in DM.
jrbustamante@jrbustamante-desktop:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:
Host: jrbustamante-desktop Kernel: 4.15.0-72-generic x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.4
Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic
Machine:
Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: B450M Steel Legend serial: <filter>
UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: P2.50 date: 07/18/2019
CPU:
Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3400G with Radeon Vega Graphics
bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen rev: 1 L2 cache: 2048 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm
bogomips: 59084
Speed: 1252 MHz min/max: 1400/3700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1252 2: 1252
3: 2306 4: 1256 5: 1252 6: 1252 7: 2290 8: 1248
Graphics:
Device-1: AMD Picasso driver: N/A bus ID: 06:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: ati,fbdev
unloaded: modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1680x1050~77Hz
OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 8.0 128 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 19.0.8
direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: AMD driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 06:00.1
Device-2: AMD vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel
bus ID: 06:00.6
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-72-generic
Network:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
vendor: ASRock driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus ID: 04:00.0
IF: enp4s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Device-2: Atheros AR9271 802.11n type: USB driver: ath9k_htc bus ID: 3-2:2
IF: wlx00c0ca980bbb state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 1.14 TiB used: 15.09 GiB (1.3%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EARX-32N0YB0
size: 931.51 GiB
ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Western Digital model: WD2500KS-00MJB0
size: 232.89 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 22.79 GiB used: 7.87 GiB (34.5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
ID-2: /home size: 438.48 GiB used: 602.4 MiB (0.1%) fs: ext4
dev: /dev/sda9
ID-3: /opt size: 214.60 GiB used: 707.1 MiB (0.3%) fs: ext4
dev: /dev/sda11
ID-4: /usr size: 24.58 GiB used: 4.01 GiB (16.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda12
ID-5: /var size: 3.87 GiB used: 1.94 GiB (50.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb7
ID-6: swap-1 size: 8.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda10
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 45.2 C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 227 Uptime: 16m Memory: 13.62 GiB used: 1015.1 MiB (7.3%)
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20
inxi: 3.0.32
jrbustamante@jrbustamante-desktop:~$

Looking for the amdgpu-pro driver I'm not sure if this driver could apply for my graphics card or if it may be incompatible, and in this case which driver may be applied

Hoser Rob
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5682
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by Hoser Rob » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:15 am

The first thing you need to do is go to update manager > view kernels and install the newest 5.0 series kernel. Then reboot.

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4019
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by trytip » Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:33 am

don't install a driver dammit :mrgreen: the driver is in the kernel. don't do anything stupid by trying to build a driver from the AMD driver site. if you do that then you should go to their forums and fix things there
with ryzen all you need is an updated bios and any kernel version 4.15 or 5.0 UPDATED
kernel 5.4 seems are removing a lot of amd hardware from their firmware
OH you will need new firmware https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/ke ... mware.git/ <<< download linux-firmware-20191022.tar.gz extract it then copy it over /lib/firmware/ after which run sudo update-initramfs -u -k all
Image

Jotabe309
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by Jotabe309 » Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:20 pm

trytip wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 10:33 am
don't install a driver dammit :mrgreen: the driver is in the kernel. don't do anything stupid by trying to build a driver from the AMD driver site. if you do that then you should go to their forums and fix things there
with ryzen all you need is an updated bios and any kernel version 4.15 or 5.0 UPDATED
kernel 5.4 seems are removing a lot of amd hardware from their firmware
OH you will need new firmware https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/ke ... mware.git/ <<< download linux-firmware-20191022.tar.gz extract it then copy it over /lib/firmware/ after which run sudo update-initramfs -u -k all
Well, I've updated the kernel to 5.3.0-24.
It seems I can't copy the linux-firmware-20191022 over /lib/firmware...?...

User avatar
trytip
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4019
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: No proprietary drivers in use

Post by trytip » Fri Dec 06, 2019 12:21 am

Jotabe309 wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 12:20 pm
It seems I can't copy the linux-firmware-20191022 over /lib/firmware...?...
you do realize that i have to take snapshots and upload them and then organize or delete old pictures right? i hope you study these snaps and download them

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Code: Select all

sudo update-initramfs -u -k all
Image
yes there are a lot of missing things, that's not the concern, the command at the top IS
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”