Can't copy/paste or create new folder on secondary hard drive

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
MDonovan
Level 1
Level 1

Can't copy/paste or create new folder on secondary hard drive

Post by MDonovan »

I'm completely new to this coming from Win7 which I have loved for years. I sincerely don't want to go to Win10 so giving Linux a try but so far it's been a totally frustrating and hair pulling experience.

Have Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.2 installed with all updates to an SSD. Set up as ext4 with gpt. It works and appears attractive. Installed a 1TB HDD to keep photos, videos, documents, etc. Set it up as gpt and ext4 as well. Everything shows as mounted (used the gnome disk utility) and all show up in the user interface under "Devices", with the proper labels given to each of the partitions.

I can create folders or do copy/paste anything within and between the "Home" set of folders, via right click mouse and use the pull down menu. If I copy a photo from "Home/ Pictures" for instance, then try to paste it into the "Photos" partition I created, the Paste on the pull down menu is greyed out. Also, if I open the "Photos" partition on the 1TB HDD (sdb5) then right click, the pull down menu has Create New Folder greyed out. If I try doing a mouse grab of the photo in the "Home" folder and dragging the photo over then there is a popup with "Error while copying ... .jpg, Error opening file..., and Permission denied".

I really do want to give Linux a chance and avoid Win10 but I am totally lost and confused so far. Help is greatly appreciated!!!
WharfRat
Level 21
Level 21