Sound Problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
igorzwx

Re: Sound Problem

Post by igorzwx »

Your sound card:
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)

This is the case with the same soundcard:
Pulseaudio = no sound in Songbird, flash crashes Amarok
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=32173
User avatar
Stealing_Lillies
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 1:29 pm

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Stealing_Lillies »

You could give this a shot ---> In Menu under system. Select: Terminal. Type in alsamixer, Use the arrow keys to navigate the mixer. Use the Arrow up to turn up the master volume.
Image
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Husse »

You have
Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
Perhaps the standard solution for Intel HDA works
You find it in my standard answer for sound problems
-----------------------
This topic contains links to all (?) the really good solutions for sound in Mint
If you have Intel HDA sound take a look here first
If you want more help please include lspci and which Mint you use
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Husse »

Did you try this?
If you have Intel HDA sound take a look here first
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Husse »

Then we may have to check if it is Pulse audio

Code: Select all

sudo killall pulseaudio
now try - you should set sound to Alsa first
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Husse »

I have to add this to my list and come back to you
I can't really understand why some people get sound only in their speakers or only in their headphones or always in both
This is a fairly common problem and it makes no sense to me, I have never seen a pattern in it
And as far as I can see you only have got one sound card....
However external speakers could take their signal from the headphone plug
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Husse »

Open the menu and type pul
Go through the various Pulse Audio settings you find
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Sound Problem

Post by Husse »

Rhytmbox seems to be muted - there's a red cross over a speaker....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”