Adding conky to startup

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1879
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Adding conky to startup

Post by lagagnon »

Menu, Control Center, Personal, Startup Applications, if Conky is in the list enable it, if not add it.
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1879
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Adding conky to startup

Post by lagagnon »

Typing "whereis conky" in a terminal will show you its full pathname, which is /usr/bin/conky . Try that...
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1879
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Adding conky to startup

Post by lagagnon »

Then you have something amiss with the command line at the launcher screen. No other possibilities.
User avatar
mick55
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1485
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Adding conky to startup

Post by mick55 »

hi

Try this.Create an empty file in your home folder, let's call it .conky-startup.sh, make it executable and put this in it:

#!/bin/bash
sleep 30 && conky ;

Save the file and go to All Applications > Preferences > Startup Applications, click "Add" and add the path to the .conky-startup.sh file, for instance /home/yourname/.conky-startup.sh
or you can browse to it.
This starts conky after the desktop, so that conky appears on top.
After you add .conky-startup.sh to start up, uncheck the box next to conky
so you don't have a conflict.

This is how mine is setup.I also have a customized conky config stored in
a file named .conkyrc in my home directory.

Is your conky customized or is it vanilla?
Did you install it through Package Manager or a .deb file
What version are you running?
Run this in terminal to find out

Code: Select all

conky -v
hope this helps
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
User avatar
mick55
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1485
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Adding conky to startup

Post by mick55 »

You're welcome.

Next time somebody has a problem with conky,
you can be the "go to" man. :D

peace
mick
Things are more like they are now than they ever were before.

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890 - 1969)
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4406
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Adding conky to startup

Post by vrkalak »

Now, that you have your Conky and know how to make Conky start up when booting into LinuxMint; here is a link to the LinuxMint Conky Showoff thread:

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=30209

Now, it's time to Show off what you've done with the Conky App. in LinuxMint.
Doesn't matter how simple or Hard-Core a Conky it is ... we'd like to see it.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page
Post Reply

Return to “Compiz, Conky, Docks, & Widgets”