There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
tuberken
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:55 am

There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by tuberken »

https://ibb.co/GxzYMVC
(desktop)

https://ibb.co/GxzYMVChttps://ibb.co/GxzYMVC
(opera)

Might be hard to see but i have this green line that changes colors when different windows are up.
This doesn't happen when booting (when the lenovo logo shows up on restart) or the boot menu
This doesn't happen when the mint logo is shown, but it is shown on the screen where i log in

The line changes when i move windows. When i have opera minimized the lines on the desktop
are a different color than the ones on the desktop.
https://ibb.co/GxzYMVChttps://ibb.co/Gx ... co/7SdcRRD
(theres a very gray line on the file manager)

There's nothing to update on the update manager and drive manager says that i don't need any drivers

System:
  • Kernel: 5.4.0-109-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.4.0
  • Desktop: Cinnamon 5.2.7 wm: muffin dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una
CPU:
  • Intel Core i5-8250U
Graphics:
  • Intel UHD Graphics 620
(lmk if any other specs are needed)
Last edited by SMG on Sat Apr 23, 2022 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved from Software & Applications to Graphics Cards & Monitors because this seems to be a graphics driver related issue.
deepakdeshp
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11256
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by deepakdeshp »

Pleasepost output of terminal command

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz
in code tags.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help.
Regards,
Deepak

Mint 20.3 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A6 / 8GB
Mint 20.3 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U/8gb
tuberken
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:55 am

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by tuberken »

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Apr 23, 2022 1:34 pm
Pleasepost output of terminal command

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz
in code tags.
sorry if the reply is late

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-109-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.4.0 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 5.2.7 Distro: Linux Mint 20.3 Una 
  base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 81BT v: Lenovo ideapad 320-15IKB 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: LENOVO model: LNVNB161216 v: SDK0J40679 WIN serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: LENOVO v: 6JCN33WW date: 06/30/2020 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 17.8 Wh condition: 17.8/30.0 Wh (59%) 
  model: SMP L16M2PB1 status: Full 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-8250U bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Kaby Lake rev: A L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx 
  bogomips: 28800 
  Speed: 3400 MHz min/max: 400/3400 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2825 2: 3275 
  3: 2642 4: 1692 5: 3012 6: 2772 7: 3400 8: 2468 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 vendor: Lenovo driver: i915 v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: amdgpu,ati,modesetting 
  unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel UHD Graphics 620 (KBL GT2) 
  v: 4.6 Mesa 22.2.0-devel (git-3d5ba0e 2022-04-23 focal-oibaf-ppa) 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio vendor: Lenovo 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-109-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Lenovo driver: r8169 v: kernel port: 3000 bus ID: 02:00.0 
  IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter 
  vendor: Lenovo driver: ath10k_pci v: kernel port: 3000 bus ID: 03:00.0 
  IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
  Device-3: Qualcomm Atheros type: USB driver: btusb bus ID: 1-7:3 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 447.13 GiB used: 86.07 GiB (19.2%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: SanDisk model: SSD PLUS 480GB size: 447.13 GiB 
RAID:
  Hardware-1: Intel 82801 Mobile SATA Controller [RAID mode] driver: ahci 
  v: 3.0 bus ID: 00:17.0 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 438.62 GiB used: 86.06 GiB (19.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 54.5 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 50 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 294 Uptime: 5m Memory: 7.56 GiB used: 2.63 GiB (34.8%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.4.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.17 
  inxi: 3.0.38
User avatar
SMG
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18707
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by SMG »

tuberken wrote:
Sat Apr 23, 2022 2:26 pm
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 vendor: Lenovo driver: i915 v: kernel
bus ID: 00:02.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.13 driver: amdgpu,ati,modesetting
unloaded: fbdev,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel UHD Graphics 620 (KBL GT2)
v: 4.6 Mesa 22.2.0-devel (git-3d5ba0e 2022-04-23 focal-oibaf-ppa)
direct render: Yes
Welcome to the forum, tuberken.

The information I found for your computer only shows it having Intel graphics. Is there an AMD card in your computer? Your system is showing that AMD display drivers are installed.

There is a bug in the version of inxi installed on your system and sometimes the AMD Graphics device does not show in inxi even when one is there. You would need to upgrade inxi to verify if that is the case. How to Update the inxi command to the latest version

If you do have an AMD card, I can give you instructions for using it which would probably help your graphics better than using the PPA you added.

The problem most likely causing the line is probably the oibaf PPA you added. They are known to cause graphics anomalies. I suggest seeing if you can remove it. Hopefully, you took a Timeshift snapshot before installing the PPA because it is known to not be the easiest thing to remove.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
tuberken
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:55 am

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by tuberken »

Thanks for the reply, I am new as you said so i should probably stop
downloading random stuff :lol:

I found the oibaf PPA here: https://ibb.co/CKs8kfR

I'm going to remove both oibaf ones to see if it fixes, I don't really
have any important files here so if anything happens it's fine.

About the amd, I'm not certain if I have it but I ran this:

Code: Select all

glxinfo | grep "OpenGL vendor string" | cut -f2 -d":" | xargs
and it returned "Intel" so I guess I don't?

I'm not very experienced with these drivers so thanks for the help

Update: after removing oibaf PPA it didn't work, I also updated the inxi command but i still have the line
User avatar
SMG
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18707
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by SMG »

tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 3:17 am
I found the oibaf PPA here: https://ibb.co/CKs8kfR

I'm going to remove both oibaf ones to see if it fixes, I don't really
have any important files here so if anything happens it's fine.
It does not show up there unless you add it. And the fact you have both oibaf and kisak simultaneously is not really good. They are similar packages which means there is the possibility they might over-write each other and you end up with a mix of packages from both.

I've helped people who installed both and the only way to get the system fixed was to back up personal files and re-install Linux Mint.
tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 3:17 am
About the amd, I'm not certain if I have it but I ran this:

Code: Select all

glxinfo | grep "OpenGL vendor string" | cut -f2 -d":" | xargs
and it returned "Intel" so I guess I don't?
Please open a terminal and provide the output of

Code: Select all

lspci | grep -i "VGA\|display"
Please also let us know the output (if there is any) of

Code: Select all

cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 3:17 am
Update: after removing oibaf PPA it didn't work, I also updated the inxi command but i still have the line
It is likely the oibaf already on your computer was not removed. I think the removal instructions only stop any future updates from happening.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
tuberken
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:55 am

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by tuberken »

Please open a terminal and provide the output of

Code: Select all

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation UHD Graphics 620 (rev 07)
01:00.0 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Topaz XT [Radeon R7 M260/M265 / M340/M360 / M440/M445 / 530/535 / 620/625 Mobile] (rev c3)
Please also let us know the output (if there is any) of

Code: Select all

cat: /etc/X11/xorg.conf: No such file or directory
So.. should I reinstall linux mint?
User avatar
SMG
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18707
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by SMG »

tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 2:23 pm

Code: Select all

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation UHD Graphics 620 (rev 07)
01:00.0 Display controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Topaz XT [Radeon R7 M260/M265 / M340/M360 / M440/M445 / 530/535 / 620/625 Mobile] (rev c3)
You do have both Intel and AMD.
Notice how the second line is very long? There is a bug in one of the underlying programs inxi uses to read that line and that bug is why AMD does not show up as a graphics device in inxi outpu. AMD is there.

Right now your system is using Intel as the primary renderer. I can explain how to use AMD as the primary renderer if that is what you would like to do. You need to do some steps in terminal, but you will probably want to use AMD for gaming rather than Intel. I would also recommend upgrading to the 5.13 kernel (which can be done in Update Manager.)
tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 2:23 pm

Code: Select all

cat: /etc/X11/xorg.conf: No such file or directory
So.. should I reinstall linux mint?
That file should not be there, so that output is expected.

As a quick test, you can boot to a live session of Linux Mint using your install usb/dvd and if that line is not there, then it is likely re-installing is the only way to clear the problem.

Based on how many problems people have had removing oibaf from a computer with AMD graphics, I would recommend re-installing.

Let us know how the live session goes.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
tuberken
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:55 am

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by tuberken »

As a quick test, you can boot to a live session of Linux Mint using your install usb/dvd and if that line is not there, then it is likely re-installing is the only way to clear the problem.
Booted with the USB and the line is still there.. (oh no)

Just restarted and apparently the line is still there on the lenovo logo..
I guess it's time to embrace the line, my bad for basically wasting time but thanks for your help

Should I reinstall anyway for the oibaf to go away?
User avatar
SMG
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18707
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by SMG »

tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 2:56 pm
Just restarted and apparently the line is still there on the lenovo logo..
That is usually what confirms a hardware issue. Sorry. :(
tuberken wrote:
Sun Apr 24, 2022 2:56 pm
Should I reinstall anyway for the oibaf to go away?
If you did not take a Timeshift snapshot before installing oibaf (and I personally recommend taking snapshots before installing PPAs), then, yes, I would recommend re-installing.

If you want a newer mesa, I recommend using just kisak.

Your computer has an 8th-gen Intel so I expect it would have better performance with a newer kernel. Instructions for upgrading to the 5.13 kernel:
  • Open Update Manager.
  • Select View > Linux Kernels and click Continue.
  • Make sure 5.13 is selected on the left panel and then click the top-most option on the right panel. An "Install" button will appear.
  • Install the kernel and then reboot for it to become active.
To switch to using the AMD GPU as the primary renderer, you would open a terminal and run DRI_PRIME=1 and that will last for the current session. The renderer will switch to Intel when you reboot. Your computer's battery will last longer and the computer will run cooler if you use Intel, so there is also the option to just run certain programs with AMD instead of running everything with AMD.

If you normally start a program by typing its executable in a terminal, for example game1, then to use the AMD graphics to render just that one program you would type DRI_PRIME=1 game1.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
tuberken
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2022 9:55 am

Re: There's a line on top of my monitor (not sure if this is the right forum)

Post by tuberken »

That is usually what confirms a hardware issue. Sorry. :(
I recently upgraded my HDD to an SSD and probably did
something wrong in the process.. atleast the line is mostly
hard to see (it changes color based on background im guessing)

many thanks for the help though.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”