[SOLVED] Low disk space error at boot (Linux Mint installation)

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Kenneth
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Low disk space error at boot (Linux Mint installation)

Post by Kenneth »

Hi everyone. I am still pretty new to everything Linux related although I've done about a dozen of Linux installations by now.
Further more, as a Servicedesk engineer at a school, I posses decent knowledge of computer issues regarding booting, installations, hardware problems etc... That being said, I haven't found this problem anywhere else on forums and I will try to provide as much information as possible on this issue.

I have issues installing Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon on my HP laptop (more hardware information at the bottom of this post).
I'm able to boot Linux Mint via a bootable USB stick and access anything (e.g. browser, tools, menu's, ...).
After a few minutes, an error appears on the top right of the screen, stating "Low disk space - This computer has only 0 bytes disk space remaining". From this point on, I can't do anything anymore (for example opening Firefox or going to the keyboard setting), the computer freezes or crashes entirely (I can still move my mouse around when it freezes). From now on when I boot Mint again, I immediately open the "disk space analyzer" to get more information. I notice that the available disk space goes down quickly, starting from 8GB and after a few minutes being 0 bytes, after which I get the disk space error again and can't do anything. Needless to say, It's also impossible to install Mint in this limited time period. It crashes after a few installwizard screens.