Boot recovery on a MacBook

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
alankeck
Level 1
Level 1

Boot recovery on a MacBook

Post by alankeck »

Newbie here. Running LM 21.1 Xfce on a late 2007 MacBook, white plastic. Got an endless loop going on from login screen to black every 6 seconds. Right before this happened, I was using the login configuration window to get an auto login after 6 seconds.
My immediate problem: How to get this MacBook to open in recovery mode. Startup and pushing the Shift key does not work. Is there something different about the mac keyboard?
Just installed LM a few days ago. I have been customizing it, and it's been running great until this difficulty.
Last edited by LockBot on Sun Sep 24, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Reddog1
Level 7
Level 7

Re: Boot recovery on a MacBook

Post by Reddog1 »

YES! The mac keyboard WILL NOT BRING UP THE GRUB MENU. This is a problem with linux distributions that hide the grub menu by default, if linux is the only operating system installed. There is actually a bug report on the issue filed with Ubuntu--it hasn't been fixed. It is also a serious issue with dual-boot with OSx, if the Apple is using the APFS file system, because grub does not recognize APFS. Dual-boot with APFS results in grub being hidden as if linux is installed single-boot.