How to use microsoft products well on Linux like Power BI

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
espanto28
Level 1
Level 1

How to use microsoft products well on Linux like Power BI

Post by espanto28 »

More of a rant but I do am forming this into a question to get people's opinion.

How to use Microsoft products on Linux?

Context:

I bought my first laptop for fully Linux setup in 2019 and minus the aches and pains of installing Linux I found it a great purchase. I paid $700 for similar specs I would have paid for my Macbook Pro in 2019. The complete control I had over my set up made it one of the best purchases of my life.

However in the last 2 years, I have gotten a lot of enterprise clients that use Microsoft Products. Power Bi, Excel and Teams. I work as a ML engineer building AI solutions for these clients. And usually conversations and business tasks are occurring in the Windows world. So I do what most people do I download the Linux version of the MS product. Yet I found a lot of bugs with MS Teams and Power BI is not a option. Most of my ML output and evaluation dashboards need to be reflected on Power BI.

So I decided to partition my drive to include Windows partition which is also quite useful for other things as well like updating BIOS. However I am finding that I need to jump on a daily basis. A meeting in Teams while I pop open my Tensorflow model in Linux. I like to use 1 laptop for everything so I am not carrying multiple laptops every day.

I am very anti windows but I find even Apple MS products work better than on Linux. I also tried cloud base versions of the MS apps but I also find them very limiting.

So wondering if anyone were if anyone has any advice?
Last edited by LockBot on Thu Oct 12, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.