(Solved)Log in

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
BoDill
Level 5
Level 5

(Solved)Log in

Post by BoDill »

When I try to log onto my desktop (a very old Dell), I get a couple lines across the top of a black page that say,
“Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa bo-OptiPlex-790 tty1
bo-OptiPlex-790 login: “

I have spent hours trying to “log in” using every password that I have ever used for anything, and nothing works. Obviously, I am not a computer whiz…..can any one help me?

ALSO, since I am not good at this, if this should have been posted somewhere else, please either do it for me, or let me know where else I should post it.

Thank you for your help,

BoDill
Last edited by LockBot on Fri Dec 01, 2023 11:00 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Desktop: OptiPlex-790 ; Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia Mate (Renew 2027)
Laptop: Dell Latitude E6420; Linux Mint 20.3 Una Mate (Renew April 2025)
Laptop 2: HP ProBook 440 G3, Linux Mint 20.3 Una Mate (Renew April 2025)
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17

Re: Log in

Post by mikeflan »

Is it really so old you have to use Linux Mint 19.1?

Please type this in a terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxmprz
Post the output to this forum in "Code" tags. The button that inserts these tags is marked </>, which is in the mini toolbar above the edit box where you type your reply.
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=364929
BoDill
Level 5
Level 5

Post by BoDill »