Grub Dual Boot Error: "no such device" and "disk not found"

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Feredir
Level 1
Level 1

Grub Dual Boot Error: "no such device" and "disk not found"

Post by Feredir »

Hello, I am quite new to Linux so forgive me if I don't provide all the information required to fix it (and if my own... DIY attempts of fixing it have messed everything up more).

For some context, my laptop has two hard drives: a 256 GB SSD (sdb is what Linux calls it I believe), and a 1 TB HDD (which is called sda). The SSD is where Windows is installed and where, at first, I had Linux. Back then everything worked fine but I realized that Linux didn't have access to my HDD drive and... kinda messed things up. I decided to uninstall Mint and reinstall it on the HDD, anyway after much... much effort I got Linux all working again (idk if I removed the old one perfectly but it seems to be fine now) and now we get to the error I don't know how to fix.

As I said, Linux Mint runs fine there's a bunch of errors when I first start it but it all starts up fine and I don't know what any of them mean and I'm ignoring them for now. However, whenever I try to boot up Windows from the Grub boot loader I get these error messages:
error: no such device: 603E-1974.
error: disk 'hd1.gpt' not found.
Now, looking in my Disks app on linux shows that 603E-1974 is the UUID for the EFI System partition on my SSD which... after some research I've heard is the one with my Windows OS on it? I'm not sure what to do about that, I tried mounting it, it didn't do anything, maybe that made it worse I don't know.

The disk part doesn't make sense to me but google says it's a common naming convention for disks and stuff so I'm hoping you guys will understand.