[SOLVED]need to mount sda drive

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

[SOLVED]need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

I used gparted to partition my sdd and hdd but missed mounting my sda and am not sure how to go about this. My present configurartion is:

Code: Select all

NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda      8:0    0 931.5G  0 disk 
└─sda1   8:1    0 931.5G  0 part 
sdb      8:16   0 232.9G  0 disk 
├─sdb1   8:17   0   512M  0 part /boot/efi
└─sdb2   8:18   0 232.4G  0 part /
In process of re-installing my back up home directory and will put it on sda.

Grateful for any assistance.
Last edited by LockBot on Fri Dec 01, 2023 11:00 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
all41
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9524
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by all41 »

Please post the terminal results of:

Code: Select all

lsblk
and

Code: Select all

blkid
Copy those entire results and paste them here using the code tag button </> below the subject field
Everything in life was difficult before it became easy.
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

Code: Select all

NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda      8:0    0 931.5G  0 disk 
└─sda1   8:1    0 931.5G  0 part 
sdb      8:16   0 232.9G  0 disk 
├─sdb1   8:17   0   512M  0 part /boot/efi
└─sdb2   8:18   0 232.4G  0 part /


/dev/sdb1: UUID="0458-CE14" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI System Partition" PARTUUID="29d7f1c3-8a22-4f1e-bdad-7ffd461f1a28"
/dev/sdb2: UUID="2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="0ea03819-190c-4809-9429-72ea0701bfad"
/dev/sda1: UUID="fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d83659" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="7e9309d3-9d67-4029-adb4-95d1f7ab1262"

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
all41
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9524
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: need to mount sda drive with EFI

Post by all41 »

I would like to defer to someone more experienced with EFI partitioning to
help you mount that sda.
Adding a label on that drive to something identifying will be helpful
example: data, music, backup etc
You can do this with Disks or Gparted
It will get mounted by that name instead of the by the meaningless uuid (fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d83659)
Everything in life was difficult before it became easy.
linux-rox
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by linux-rox »

billwillow wrote: Thu Jun 01, 2023 9:57 am ... not sure how to go about this.
How do you do backups? Personally, I prefer to keep backups off-line except when they're being updated.
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

all41 I'm wondering if I can use gparted to re-partition sda. I would use it for my home folder.

Currently my data is backed up to an external drive and I used "backup" to do this.
linux-rox
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by linux-rox »

The point of my question was, if you do backup manually there's no reason to worry about mounting the target automatically. Simply mount it manually (with Disks or File Manager) when you're ready to backup. As mentioned, this is what I do. FWIW, there are better options than the Mint backup tool.

As for your other question, sure, GParted can do that. You would edit /etc/fstab to mount the partition at boot. Are you familiar with the difference between a home vs. data partition? A data partition on sda might make more sense. Presumably you would continue to use the external drive for backup.
Wilop91
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2021 5:00 am
Location: France

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by Wilop91 »

Hello billwillow
If the purpose is to move your HOME folder from SDB to SDA then I think you can follow this post (it least its what I have done on my laptop):
https://www.howtogeek.com/442101/how-to ... ard-drive/

PS: but carefully pay attention to the drive letters....

W.O.
For my daily use a CLEVO laptop with LM20.1 booting Legacy
And for my testing a Dell laptop with W10, LM20.1 and Manjaro booting UEFI
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

Thanks guys for you responses.
My home directory is backed up on an external hard drive and once I get these partitions mounted I will use linuxmint backup command to restore the files.

Code: Select all

lsblk -e7

NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda      8:0    0 931.5G  0 disk 
└─sda1   8:1    0 931.5G  0 part 
sdb      8:16   0 232.9G  0 disk 
├─sdb1   8:17   0   512M  0 part /boot/efi
└─sdb2   8:18   0 232.4G  0 part /

UUID=2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3 /               ext4    errors=remount-ro 0       1
# /boot/efi was on /dev/sdb1 during installation
UUID=0458-CE14  /boot/efi       vfat    umask=0077      0       1
/swapfile                                 none            swap    sw              0       0
I want to restore my home folder and mount of sda1.

I have tried:

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sda1 ~/mountpoint
[sudo] password for bill:         
mount: /home/bill/mountpoint: mount point does not exist.
and

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/media
[sudo] password for bill:         
mount: /mnt/media: mount point does not exist.
bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ mount -t ext4
Not sure of my next step.
Last edited by karlchen on Fri Jun 02, 2023 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added [code] [/code] tags
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13759
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by AndyMH »

mount point does not exist.
You need to create the folder first, i.e. /mnt/media or /home/bill/mountpoint. If you choose to use /mnt you will need admin privileges to create the folder media. Then you will need to change ownership of the mountpoint to you sudo chown $USER:$USER /mnt/media if you want write access.
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
User avatar
all41
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9524
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by all41 »

mount: /mnt/media: mount point does not exist.
You can make the mountpoint manually

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /mnt/media
Then take ownership of that mountpoint:

Code: Select all

sudo chown -R bill:bill /mnt/media
Then

Code: Select all

sudo mount /dev/sdax /mnt/media
where sdax is the partition number

edit: What AndyMH said 8)
Last edited by all41 on Fri Jun 02, 2023 11:15 am, edited 2 times in total.
Everything in life was difficult before it became easy.
linux-rox
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by linux-rox »

billwillow wrote: Fri Jun 02, 2023 9:01 am I want to restore my home folder and mount of sda1.
You have now described three different things, all of which I think you think are the same thing. Before you do anything, would be good to clarify what you are trying to achieve. If the objective is to make sda1 a home partition, you don't need to create a mount point; it already exists (/home). What you need to do is boot a live session, delete the contents of /home (which you already have backed up), and edit /etc/fstab to mount sda1 to /home. You also would go ahead and copy the files and folders from home's backup into sda1.

Don't do any of that yet. Confirm it's the objective. Then we can talk about nitty-gritty details of getting it done correctly.
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

Not sure if this was done correctly:

bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/media

[sudo] password for bill:
bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ sudo chown -R bill:bill /mnt/media

bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ sudo mount /dev/=2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3 /mnt/media
mount: /mnt/media: special device /dev/=2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3 does not exist.

bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ lsblk -e7
NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda 8:0 0 931.5G 0 disk
└─sda1 8:1 0 931.5G 0 part /media/bill/fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d83659
sdb 8:16 0 232.9G 0 disk
├─sdb1 8:17 0 512M 0 part /boot/efi
└─sdb2 8:18 0 232.4G 0 part /
bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
# device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
# that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
# / was on /dev/sdb2 during installation
UUID=2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /boot/efi was on /dev/sdb1 during installation
UUID=0458-CE14 /boot/efi vfat umask=0077 0 1
/swapfile none swap sw
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 13759
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by AndyMH »

Instead of:

Code: Select all

bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ sudo mount /dev/=2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3 /mnt/media
This:

Code: Select all

bill@bill-Galago-Pro:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/media
2a75ad10-2e9a-4f81-95af-83b1dd63c2f3 is the UUID of your / partition as shown in fstab.

What I don't understand is that lsblk is showing sda1 already mounted at /media/bill/fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d83659 so should show up in the devices pane in your file manager as xxGB volume and clicking on it should show the contents?

This is back to linux-rox's question - is this your old home partition and do you want to re-instate it?
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

At one point in the past my home directory was located on the sda1 with /boot/efi and sda2 with /run/timeshift/backup. My home folder was in backup and the os was ubuntu.

I wanted linux mint but screwed it up during the instrallation from a live usb.

Just need to prepare sda to accept a tansfer of my home directory from an external drive (not connected at this time -- it's just plug in and play.) And, keep boot/efi on sdb.
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7155
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by mikeflan »

Open Nemo. Go to /media/bill
Double click on fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d83659
Your in, correct? If so you can put anything you want in there.
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

Mike, I see what you mean. All looks normal and I created a test file to store in Documents. What confuses me is when I type lsblk -e7 I get:

NAME MAJ:MIN RM SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda 8:0 0 931.5G 0 disk
└─sda1 8:1 0 931.5G 0 part /media/bill/fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d8365
sdb 8:16 0 232.9G 0 disk
├─sdb1 8:17 0 512M 0 part /boot/efi
└─sdb2 8:18 0 232.4G 0 part /

when I restore my home folder I want it to go into media/bill, not media/bill/fe8b2f81-e555-4b71-92a2-cd1902d8365

Thanks
linux-rox
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by linux-rox »

A home partition should be mounted at /home, not /media or any sub-folder thereof. And the job has to be done from a live session.
billwillow
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by billwillow »

Thanks for the clarification linux-rox . I will give this a go.

When I go into gparted i asssume I will only be working oin the sda and leave sba alone ?
linux-rox
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:17 pm

Re: need to mount sda drive

Post by linux-rox »

billwillow wrote: Sat Jun 03, 2023 11:57 am When I go into gparted i asssume I will only be working oin the sda and leave sba alone ?
That's correct insofar as GParted is concerned. OTOH, you will be making changes to sdb later. By the way, a correction to what I said in my last prior post. You can format sda while booted to the current system (you'll have to install GParted, though). You also can copy the contents of /home to the new partition. It's the next step, which I'm intentionally not describing yet, which has to be done from a live session.

Reviewing the thread, one thing isn't clear to me. Does sdb2 have a complete /home folder? If so, I'd copy the contents of that to sda1, rather than copy from backup. Notice I said contents, i.e., your user folder and your wife's (if she has one). Don't copy the /home folder itself. Once you've gotten this far, please report the output of two commands: lsblk -f and ls -l /home.

I realize this is a bit daunting the first time. Was for me also. On the bright side. so long as you have a good backup, you don't have to worry about getting it right the first time. Worst that happens is you end up doing it again.
Locked

Return to “Installation & Boot”