Can't install LMDE6

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ru-vadik
Level 1
Level 1

Can't install LMDE6

Post by ru-vadik »

Hello.

1. Download lmde-6-cinnamon-64bit.iso from linuxmint.com
2. Check SHA256
3. Make live usb (Rufus 4.2 on Windows)
4. Load on live usb
5. Click install Linux Mint

I make video about this problem - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT_39Vz2PgY
Thank you.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Mar 27, 2024 10:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Jymm
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Can't install LMDE6

Post by Jymm »

I'm no expert and it has been a while since I did a manual partition, but from watching your video you seem to be missing the part where you place your boot-loader, usually at < / >. I do remember from doing manual partitions that the step was not always readily apparent. Usually the installer will ask you were to place the boot-loader if you miss the step, but I have not manual partitioned Mint so am not sure if it would.

UEFI and os-prober being disabled by default has led me to no longer dual boot, so I haven't manual partitioned in quite some time. With only one OS on a machine it is just easier to let the installer do the partitioning.

Maybe someone else has some ideas?
sv1grb
Level 1
Level 1

Post by sv1grb »

Try creating you installation USB with balenaecher.
I also faced problems with the installation when it was created with rufus.
Also the same in this thread viewtopic.php?t=404822
pepsiman
Level 1
Level 1

Post by pepsiman »