What was your favorite All Time Distro?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
danielcombs
Level 1
Level 1

What was your favorite All Time Distro?

Post by danielcombs »

I have been installing and using Linux Systems for almost 20 years.

I started with Mandriva because everything came up working, and that was a big deal to a newbie back then, still is I suppose (especially wifi)

OpenSuse, PCLinuxOS, Ubuntu, Debian, Fedora, and many of the spin offs from those distros......

Looking back, my favorite was PCLinuxOS Mini Me. Mini Me was a basic KDE system with nothing else. Once installed, you would go to the rerositories and add the apps you wanted. Once finished, you had a system with everything you wanted, and nothing you didn't.

I wish Mint would come out with a " Mini Me" option.
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20

Re: What was your favorite All Time Distro?

Post by Hoser Rob »

That's a great idea. The closest thing I can think of now is Ubuntu Minimal, which would be more work to set up. But if you want a minimal setup I think it's a lot better to start stripped down and add the things you need than to try and remove the things you don't need. Esp. since after more than a decade of using just Linux I still get updates for packages I've never heard of.
For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong - H. L. Mencken
TaterChip
Level 5
Level 5

Post by TaterChip »

Mint 21.1 finally allowed me to escape from Microsoft. So no matter what, that will always be my favorite
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Post by Pjotr »

Linux Mint 21.3. Best of the best. :wink:
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
danielcombs
Level 1
Level 1