[SOLVED]PDF prints from Firefox pixelated / blurry

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
TriggerDingus
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED]PDF prints from Firefox pixelated / blurry

Post by TriggerDingus »

Firstly, I would like to state this problem isn't specifically with LMDE, Mint, etc. I had this same issue on Pop! and so I believe the issue to be related to Firefox. I've typically just worked around the issue and I switch to a Chromium browser when I need to print a PDF to file.

The issue I've always had, regardless of the distro I'm on, is that when printing PDFs to disk they end up rendered poorly. I was a programmer in the old days, but that was a long time ago and I don't dare speculate on the cause but I've localized the problem to Firefox and it's forks (Librewolf). I don't have this issue with Chromium (Brave) PDF prints.

To eliminate the potential it's a viewer thing, I tried other viewers and it seems GIGO - garbage in, garbage out. The Firefox PDFs are the issue and it doesn't matter the viewer I use to view them since the results are the same.

I've attached three examples of the PDFs generated from:
  • Librewolf (Firefox)
    Firefox
    Brave (Chromium)
Any knowledge or solutions would be appreciated.
Attachments
BRAVE version - Linux Mint Forums - Search.pdf
(114.56 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
FIREFOX version - Linux Mint Forums - Search.pdf
(169.61 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
LIBREWOLF version - Linux Mint Forums - Search.pdf
(169.61 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
Last edited by TriggerDingus on Mon Mar 04, 2024 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
axisofevil
Level 4
Level 4

Re: PDF prints from Firefox pixelated / blurry

Post by axisofevil »

But what are using to generate those PDF's?
I told Firefox to print to a file.
So the following isn't fantastic - but its OK.